We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maharaja for a day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Early 1900"s colonial hunting lodge, so close to the Ranthambore Safari park. The resort has a cricket ground, pool, badminton courts all on a large beautifully kept property. The rooms are located away from the main lodge.They have a large bathroom with the walls covered in granite in the shower and around the bathtub. Fridge door was broken, so hard to keep supplies cold. After going on a safari (no tiger sightings) we enjoyed a few hours around the pool. Paint peeling by the showers. We had food and drinks served to us by the pool. We asked to eat outside for breakfast. Everything was served graciously whenever we required anything. Do not count on the free wi-fi--even though we could get online the signal was very weak. Food was adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stonewashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 621 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel was not able to get tickets for the national tiger park. They have no power in the local ticket office all Indian people came out with tickets we were one of the first and went out with none ticket very same full. Normal the hotels have a runner to get tickets from the local ticket mafia. This hotel ask us to go with them personal fighting in the ticket office. The hotel staff was not interested to get a ticket so it was not even worth to go here to this expensive hotel.
The none interest was already up on arrival no welcome words nothing just sit down and yes we did get a welcome drink ....but we did not feel welcome .

Room Tip: Rooms are all ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A great place, located 20mins from the jungle and originally the hunting lodge of a Maharaja, this is a truly a great start to your Safari. The rooms are located around a courtyard and the hotel has a ‘golf buggy’ to transport guest from their rooms if required. Great if you are travelling with children or elderly.
A very pleasant stay and the food here is very good. The catering staff very willing to cook any special dish –which is always good if you don’t like what is being served on that particular day.

The front desk / reception need to work on their hospitality / greeting skills but I wouldn't let this put me off a second visit. Nothing is too much trouble for the housekeeping & catering staff- and done with such willingness.

Room Tip: They have 4 new suites with a private garden area -worth a stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raine932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

One of the most beautiful resorts I stayed in recent times.

The room was beautiful.... especially the bathroom, I have not seen anywhere such big bathrooms, staff was very warm and helpful....

The only sad part about my entire trip was that I could not see any tiger :( other wise could not find a better place to stay in ranthambore

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharmamanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The property is huge, you get the glimpse of the Taj hospitality at the entrance. They know how to pamper their customers. We went in July 2012, which was an off season because the Ranthambore Park was closed. But you lot of activities in the property that won't keep you idle. The staff is extremely courteous and will keep pampering you all of the time with small things like it was a mango season so they get you fresh mangoes from their very own bagh. We took a Suite and it was awesome, it was big, clean and tidy.

The food was good and freshly made and was delightful but there was not much in the menu. They had very small buffet with 4 Indian dishes and a Pasta. So second day we thought of eating out but we could not find anything so ordered a cheese sandwich for dinner in the room, which was wonderfully fresh!!. The swimming pool is a open pool and was in the garden with huge trees on its sides. There were 5-6 people for the maintenance of the gardens but hardly anyone to clean the pool. The pool was clean on the first day of arrival but later we would find ants and dry leaves in the pool. Overall it was an exhilarating experience and you will find no faults with Taj hospitality

Any the experience was awesome and recommend anyone for a stay and experience the elegant Taj Hospitality.

Room Tip: If you are going as a couple you should take the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abhinash J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The property is beautiful. Its well laid out, nice neat and clean lawns. Good recreation in the form of badminton court, table tennis and play area for the kids.
It feels like a proper forest lodge animal heads in the dining rooms.
The rooms are differently sized. We were in a group so we could see the big rooms vs the normal size ones. Found both to be good. The bathrooms are huge though. Both spotlessly clean.
The huge TV in the room adds to the luxury. You can use bicycles to get around the area since it is a 5 min walk to the some of the rooms.
The food was overall avg. Nothing great in particular.Service was great as at all Taj properties, the staff are well trained and attentive to your smallest needs.
Overall really happy with the visit and would recommend this place. We visited in the heat during June so was uncomfortable but from Oct onwards this place would have wonderful weather and would strongly recommend for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vkarnavat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed at SML about 3 years ago in the month of october. Then the property had really average roooms, but the service as usual was of Taj Standards. The Place has sprwaling lawns and is very very close to safari booking center which is a big plus considering that you may have stand in line for 2-3 hours to book a safari.
The food is not to write home about but its not bad either its just basic.
Staff is very helpful and courteous.
Whole ambience is nice but rooms definately need an upgrade. I was tempted to give a 4 rating but withdrew back just coz of rooms and furnishings provided.

The ranthambore safri business is really messed up, its run by incompetent staff, for some inexplicable reason the online booking would not work and standing in line is the only option. You can however pay double the rate and ask a tout to help you. If they have restarted the online booking then i am sure the experience would have improved else its just a big big mess.

Tigers are tough to site but the jungle is beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arj_ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
3.3 mi away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#3 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
5.7 mi away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#4 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#17 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
217 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#11 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
72 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
#6 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge

Address: Ranthambore National Park Road, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#3 Family Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: $256 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for the famous Tiger reserve Ranthambore National Park, Sawai Madhopur is the perfect wildlife destination. Vivanta by Taj – Sawai Madhopur Lodge is only 3 kilometres from the Sawai Madhopur railway station and 20 minutes from the Ranthambore National Park. Built in 1930, the former hunting lodge of the Maharaja of Rajasthan is spread over 12 acres of forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Sawai Madhopur Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Sawai Madhopur Hotel
Sawai Madhopur Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing