We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Vanyavilas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oberoi Vanyavilas
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Certificate of Excellence
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
196 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellence is the right word may be to explain The Oberoi Vanyavilas. From the moment you enter the place till you leave The Gereral Manager and her team is personally involved to deliver the best. Everything is just perfect here and it well deserves the title of the best resort in the world.

Room Tip: You may choose any all are so perfect here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ssamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanyavilasOberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Vanyavilas, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your beautiful review on the Trip Advisor.

I am glad that our product, facilities and service met your expectations and made your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

I have personally conveyed your very kind compliments to the entire team.

My Team and I personally look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Thank you and best regards

Ratna Malhotra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    26
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
220
325
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wow what a place! Genuinely the ultimate in hotel experience. The staff are simply wonderful; attentive and sincere when they need to be, helpful when you want them to be and always with a smile. From the first minute they knew our names and this continued through our stay. There is a family feel among the staff and the head of the family is a wonderful General Manager who could not have done more to make us feel welcome.
The food was spectacular, the best I had in india.
If they could have guaranteed I would see a tiger that is the only way it could have been improved! I can not wait to go back, I don't think I have ever felt that relaxed!

Room Tip: Doesn't matter they are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brown1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanyavilasOberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Vanyavilas, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review on the Trip Advisor.

Relaxing ambiance paired with personalized yet unobtrusive service is what we have always aimed to offer to all our guests. I am glad that our product, facilities and service met your expectations.

I have personally conveyed your compliments to the Chef and her team. They are extremely delighted to hear your feedback.

We are however really sorry that you could not sight a tiger.

We all look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you the best of the Oberoi hospitality and probably tigers too!!

Thank you and best regards,

Ratna Malhotra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Wow for the service, Superb for the room and amenities, Great for the food
Only thing lacking is more kids activities and a nice bar for the evening.
Overall a Superb experience.
It was my wife's birthday and they did up the room and organised a special dinner for all of us

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanyavilasOberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Vanyavilas, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on the Trip Advisor.

We are glad to know that our facilities, activities and services met your expectations and made your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We have noted your feedback with respect to incorporating more kid’s activities and a better bar for the evening. Your suggestions are very valid and we will work towards improving these facilities.

I am glad that Ma’am and you loved the experience of our special dinning venue and that we were able to make the evening special for both of you.

My Team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Thank you

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhilai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here from 24th may for 2 Nights. The hotel is quite near the national park. The property is beautifully maintained & is the best of the Vilas properties. The tents are spacious & is well maintained.

Even though i was disappointed with front office staff & the dining room staff but this all fell through after meeting the gracious General Manager Ratna. In my opininion she is the soul of the property. Only grudge is that this property is being treated as a training ground for the Oberoi junior staff which doesn't make justice. Almost all the staff except the GM are lower level staff who try to over impress the guests which becomes quite intrusive.

Overall a wonderful property with a nice ambience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shashi1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanyavilasOberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Vanyavilas, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on the Trip Advisor.

A stay in a luxury tent at The Oberoi Vanyavilas is definitely unique - it brings you close to the nature without compromising on luxury and comfort. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed the property.

I have personally shared your feedback with my food and beverage and front office team. Sir, it is always been our endeavor to get our team trained to deliver the service that is expected of us and to be personalized yet unobtrusive. We are very particular about ensuring that our team respects and understands this very important service aspect. Please accept our very sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced.

I remember you missed seeing the tigers. My Team and I really look forward to welcoming you back again and assure you the best of the Oberoi hospitality

Thank you

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I travel frequently and although it is difficult to answer the "where is the best place you've ever stayed?" question, one place that will always come to mind is this property. I rarely bother to write reviews, but this was such an unparalleled experience that I feel compelled to do so. The service is outstanding -- we were greeted on arrival and throughout the stay by the general manager and were called by name throughout the stay. When we had problems with a camera memory card, one of the employees had one for us in less than half an hour (and they don't sell them on site). The "elephant bath" is an amazing experience and highly recommended. Even if you don't see a tiger in the park, Vanyavilas is absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanyavilasOberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Vanyavilas, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable time and writing the wonderful review on the Trip Advisor.

We are glad to know that our facilities, activities and services met your expectations and made your stay comfortable and enjoyable. I am also glad that you enjoyed your time spent with our pet Elephants, Mala and Laxmi.

Thank you for your very kind comments for the team. I have personally conveyed your compliments to the team, and they are extremely delighted to hear that their efforts have been so well appreciated.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon again for another memorable experience.

Thank you

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

You can stay at any Oberoi property and you are truly assured of an amazing stay. the service is Excellent...Excellent!!....we are regulars at Oberoi properties and huge fans of their hospitality. we were so smitten with their Wildflower Hall property near Shimla.....but the Vanyavilas was even better and we have come back with such great memories and my kids want to go back again.
to begin with ..we were staying elsewhere. we had done the safaris, seen tigers and were heading back home next day. Only thing is that other than safaris and doing nothing in our hotel....it felt like such a bland, incomplete holiday.on a whim... on the last night we decided to check out the Vanyavilas for our next visit. we were greeted so warmly and met the manager Ratna..who is an absolute Gem.....she organised a quick tour of the property, room, activities etc and i knew that our kids would just love it. this would be a perfect end to our holiday in Ranthambore. i got a good off season rate and next morning after checking out of our hotel we checked right into the Oberoi Vanyavilas. i had called the Manager Ratna and informed her of the time of our arrival. the moment we drove into the property...it was a Royal treatment for us ...till the time we checked out. we were greeted by their two resident elephants...which was so sweet, my kids were instantly charmed....as soon as we steeped in their courtyard...a shower of rose petals welcomed us. wow!! we were smoothly taken to our rooms.....no hanging around filling forms, signing stuff. the guy who took us to our luxury tent, he had a file sorts along and we signed in the comfort of our room.the tent is super..luxury personified. they had letters addressed to my kids, welcoming them, telling them of activities to do and they have a huge , huge list of stuff to do. they had a jar full of delicious cookies in the room for our kids. and everytime we would return to the room there would be some surprise for the kids, like a plate of cookies with their names on it, decorated with chocolate and welcoming them. the kids would walk all over the place alone and its very safe. they went to the pool and were looked after so well and pampered with Iced Teas, sunscreens etc. they loved the washing of the elephants, and the nature walk with their naturalists who introduced us to the local birds and trees, plants etc. in the evening they had organised an intimate dinner for us in one of their cosy courtyard gardens. the Chefs were amazing and had made such a wonderful delicious spread of Rajasthani and Bengali thalis. thanks Chef Vidhu for the bengali spread... and also thanks to Chef Ankush...the best Sorbet i have ever had...Earl grey and mint Sorbet..was mind blowing. chef Ankush..hope i remembered your name right...but Hats off to the Chef for his mind blowing Sorbet...we still miss it. Chef Vidhu...thank you for such personal attention and going above and beyond to please us.
when we returned to the room the Turndown service was another special one. a special tiger mug and stuufed toy were sitting on the kids bed.
Ratna...you are such an amazing person...you have made Vanyavilas special for children and also for adults. we loved the intimate dinner with lovely music in the background and service was AMAZING!!....it felt like we were sitting for our anniversary dinner. we would always go to Wildflower Hall for our Anniversaries etc...for a special holiday. but you beat them hands down. they could learn a thing or two from you Ratna on how to have special turndowns, how to make guests feel super special. Best Oberoi property for Service, special warmth which is usually missing in 5 star hotels. we loved every minute of our stay. when we were checking out, Ratna personally saw us off. since we were driving back, they packed us some sandwiches, fruit, juices, chips for our journey at no extra cost. they also put chilled bottles of mineral water in our car. Ratna...the attention to detail is just Excellent!. we have stayed in a lot of Exotic, expensive rsorts, hotels, but you are the best Manager we have ever seen. you run a magical place. Ranthambore is just not about Tigers...you have to stay here once at least.
thank you Ratna..big thanks to your Housekeeping staff...everything was so clean, spotless and special thanks to your team for the wonderful Turndown service before bedtime.also many thanks for the special service at the poolside for my kids. your staff really looked after them. thanks for the special dinner...and best sorbet. we got lots of privacy, wonderful, warm memories all thanks to you all. we will be back for sure......THANK YOU Vanya vilas staff....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sailor04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanyavilasOberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Vanyavilas, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your beautiful and detailed review on the Trip Advisor.

A stay in a luxury tent at The Oberoi Vanyavilas is definitely unique - it brings you close to the nature without compromising on luxury and comfort. Relaxing ambiance paired with personalized yet unobtrusive service is what we have always aimed to offer to all our guests.

We are very happy to know that our facilities, activities and services met your expectations and made your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Thank you for your very kind comments for the team. I have personally conveyed your compliments to the team and specially Ankush and Vidhu. Please do let us know in case you would need any recipes, Vidhu would be delighted to send it to you.

We are all very happy to know that the children too enjoyed their time with us, specially with our pet Elephants Mala and Laxshmi and our in house naturalist.

The Food and Beverage Team is delighted to know that you enjoyed the dining experience. You have to come back for a longer period next time!

We all look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you the best of the Oberoi hospitality forever!

Thank you

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Vanyavillas are everything you expect of an Oberoi hotel and more. The garden is amazing and supports a large and diverse birdlife - spend time walking around with the naturalist. The rooms are wonderful - the bathrooms are larger than most hotel rooms I have stayed in!! And then there are the staff - the are really friendly, knowledgeable and anticipate your every need. They really do go out of the way to exceed you expectations. Mala and Lakshmi are also gorgeous and if you have the chance join them for a bath.......

A word of warning on jungle drives - these are run by the Indian government and not the Oberoi. Make sure you book your drives early - spaces are limited and fill up quickly. Also the later you book the more likely it is that you will be allocated to a vehicle that does multiple hotel stops - all of which cost you valuable time in the park - drives are strictly limited to 3 hours and drivers have to be out by a specified time. The more time you waste at the beginning the less time you have with the tigers!! If you have booked a few and get a good guide try and get him again - they are very hit and miss. We were told for a fee this would be possible. Late May / early June is the best time to see the tigers.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but spread out over quite a large area - if you don't want to walk to fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanyavilasOberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Vanyavilas, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review on the Trip Advisor.

A stay in a luxury tent at The Oberoi Vanyavilas is definitely unique - it brings you close to the nature without compromising on luxury and comfort.

I have personally conveyed your beautiful words of appreciation to Pranad (naturalist). We are happy to note that you enjoyed your time with our pet elephants Mala and Laxmi.

We are sorry to note that the Jungle drives did not meet your expectations. We have conveyed your valuable feedback to the Forest Department who handle the jungle drives at Ranthambhore.

We all look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you the best of the Oberoi hospitality.

Thank you

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
1.8 mi away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#3 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
4.2 mi away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#2 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
5.6 mi away
Sultan Bagh Resort
Sultan Bagh Resort
#6 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#16 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Vanyavilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Vanyavilas

Property: The Oberoi Vanyavilas
Address: Ranthambhore Road | Rajasthan, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#1 Family Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#1 Spa Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#3 Business Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Vanyavilas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Vanyavilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Vanyavilas Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Oberoi Vanyavilas Ranthambore
Oberoi Sawai Madhopur
Sawai Madhopur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing