We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-night stay 10/12/11”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sher Vilas Ranthambhore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Don't be put off by the slightly rough drive into the property. It's a beautiful setting, with a productive farm providing lots of fresh supplies for the kitchen. We were greeted by the manager with tea and biscuts. He then produced an excellent meal for us.
After dinner he suggested a night stroll through the surrounding bush. He pointed out the home of a family of jackles and we saw Indian hare and owls. In the morning after breakfast we did a bit of bird watching by th local stream.

Room Tip: Email manager in advance
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Sher Vilas Ranthambhore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 273 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2011

We ( four ladies 50s and 60s)have just had a very pleasant two night stay at the Farm Villa. The staff and owner were very helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. The food served to us was delicious. The location is very pretty but it is off the main road, however we enjoyed the country atmosphere. The only complaint was that we would have preferred hotter shower water at times.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We had a nice stay at the farm villa. We had an excellent reception when we arrived and got a nice, clean room. We were served fresh Indian food ( some vegetables were straight from the land! ). The owner's wife even prepared a traditional Rajasthani meal for us, and we were made to feel welcome.

You can see people working on the fields every day, and we got a nice tour in the garden. They made us a lemon soda with fresh lemons we picked from their trees. As the farm is away from the other hotels, it's quiet and you can really relax.

Satish, the owner of the place is also a National Park guide and helped us arranging our trip. He made sure that our stay in Ranthambhore is one that we will always remember.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brecht H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was put up at the Farm Villa without choice due to a booking problem by makemytrip. The place is in the middle of fields without proper approach road. There is no reception. There were hardly any staff. The manager doubles up as the cook. The owner rushes to buy grocery if you order anything. Food is non existent during lunch time unless you announce well in advance. Even soft drinks, juices, water is not available readily. There is no other restaurant or shop in a 1 km radius. Their idea of a buffet is 3 dishes kept on your table. No generator back up.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anil070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shervilas, Owner at Sher Vilas Ranthambhore, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Thank You So much for for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.
We are Really Sorry For Worst Experience AT Farmvilla.

But This is to Inform All Travelers that From 1st August 2013, This Hotel is Overtaken and Managed By SHER VILAS"Wilderness Tented Resort". And Resort Management has been changed, and All Rooms Renovated and we have Added Luxury Maharaja Tents and Swimming Pool with Lots Of Other Facilities like, Evening Documentry Of Ranthambore, Rajasthani Cultaral, Folk Music.
So Travelers Please Don't Gets Confused and Please Note That This Review Doesn't Belongs To Sher Vilas "Wilderness Tented Resort" .



Kind regards,
Vikalp Singh/ Suresh Parihar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

good place to stay. good rooms and food. the owner of the hotel was very kind with us and share his pc with us. the only problem is about small insects that entered in rooms in the night. maybe in next travel we found and view the tiger.........

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maurydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We chose the Farm Villas on the basis of three very positive reviews on Tripadvisor & Expedia (albeit almost a year old, which should have rung alarm bells). Our experience was markedly different from that of the other reviewers; unfortunately ours was worse, not better. The stay was memorable, but for all the wrong reasons. The image and story presented on the hotel website is idyllic. Unfortunately it is an ideal, an image; not one that is rooted in reality. There was no warm welcome, or villagers tilling the fields. We certainly weren't choosing ingredients for our dinner. In our room, there was no hot water and the building experienced frequent power cuts. The food was of dubious quality and definitely overpriced - 350 rupees for lunch and dinner. The hotel talks about a buffet service; in reality you get what you are served. One evening we had sag aloo, cabbage, rice and bread; the food was cold. The second evening the menu was the remarkably similar. We should have learned our lesson but the hotel is so far from the main hotels and restaurants that we had little choice. There were wires hanging out of some of the walls. The bathroom fittings were rudimentary at best. The deluxe description felt misleading. The beautifully lit welcoming night-time photo on the website is definitely not what we experienced - on both nights we returned to find the property in complete darkness at the end of an unlit, unmarked dirt track. The hotel itself is actually still a building site (October 2011) with workers manning their tools at 7.30am making sleep impossible thereafter. The photos posted of the main building are correct, but off to the left they are building some more hotel rooms. Too much smoke and mirrors for our liking leaving us with a sour taste and a feeling that we had been miss-sold and out of pocket.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wycombewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shervilas, Owner at Sher Vilas Ranthambhore, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Thank You So much for for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.
We are Really Sorry For Worst Experience AT Farmvilla.

But This is to Inform All Travelers that From 1st August 2013, This Hotel is Overtaken and Managed By SHER VILAS"Wilderness Tented Resort". And Resort Management has been changed, and All Rooms Renovated and we have Added Luxury Maharaja Tents and Swimming Pool with Lots Of Other Facilities like, Evening Documentry Of Ranthambore, Rajasthani Cultaral, Folk Music.
So Travelers Please Don't Gets Confused and Please Note That This Review Doesn't Belongs To Sher Vilas "Wilderness Tented Resort" .



Kind regards,
Vikalp Singh/ Suresh Parihar
+91-9971839828/+91-8010089260

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Nice cool place tugged away from the usual lot of other hotels in ranthambore. Value for money.The villagers working here were very enthusiastic and and were prompt. Simple food. Kind of liked the " nothing artificial attitude of the staff"

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dvenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
1.6 mi away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
4.6 mi away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#3 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
640 reviews
2.9 mi away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#17 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Raj Palace Resort, Ranthambhore
Raj Palace Resort, Ranthambhore
#14 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
347 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
#6 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
183 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#4 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sher Vilas Ranthambhore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sher Vilas Ranthambhore

Address: Housing Board Road | Near New Jungle Safari Booking Office Imli Wala Turn, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India (Formerly The Farm Villa Ranthambhore)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: $50 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sher Vilas Ranthambhore 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHER VILAS RANTHAMBORE is One Of The Finest Wilderness Resort In Ranthambhore and a Perfect Choice for Travelers who Love Wildlife. Ranthambhore National Park IS Just 5 kms , 11 e Maharaja Tents are Facing To Swimming Pool and 4 facing to Garden, Resort Also Have Other Amenities Like, Horse Riding, Indoor, Outdoors Games, Spa , Massage, Evening Rajasthani Cultural Programs and Documentary OF Ranthambhore National Park, Sunrise Sunset Point,Amlido Forest,Live Barbeque,Third Que Cafe. SHER VILAS RANTHAMBORE offers, 15 Maharaja A/C Tents, The Maharaja/Swiss tents have been beautifully designed by our in-house designers who have taken care of the minutest details. Aesthetically done furniture with beautiful Sanganeri Block Printing interiors are waiting to greet you at Wilderness Destination Ranthambhore. Last but not the least our Maharaja Tents are all Eco-friendly, fully secured, Fire resistant, water proof, and Lockable. . Each Tents Is Equipped With The Modern Amenities and Surrounded by Beautiful Landscape and Mountain And Jungle Facing , That Gives Peaceful and Wilderness Experience Throughout The Stay. And Inhouse Activities Keeps Guests All The Time Engaged. Sher Vilas Ranthambhore have beautifully and elegantly decorated tents covering 20x10 centre room with wooden furniture 10x5 veranda with Chairs Facing To Swimming Pool, Telephone Extension, 10x5 attached bathroom equipped with modern amenities.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sher Vilas Ranthambhore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing