We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location nice clean rooms food and drinks have limited options”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sawai Madhopur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Jhoomar Baori
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“best location nice clean rooms food and drinks have limited options”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

the best thing about this hotel is Location, Location Location.Placed inside the forest sanctuary on a hill top .the views from the hotel terrace are beautiful.the place is serene and no noise or air pollution is there.The rooms are very clean and well kept.The staff is very well behaved and well trained in the hospitality uioque to rajasthan. However the options for food are limited as one has to have the buffet breakfast ,lunch and dinner which is served in the common area(which may be suitable for certain travellers as the room price includes the food ).However if one wants to try out the local cuisine and all then the kitchen falls short of expectations as the tourists want to have local cuisine.Overall a great exprerience staying at hotel

Room Tip: for elderly people climbing up the stairs may be difficult as the same are very steep.ask for ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    70
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
72
26
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

After getting fed-up with trip agents I found Castle Jhoomar Baori (CJB) on net and after seeing reviews and photos, without wasting any time I booked it online.

After visiting the place, I can say I made a great decision. CJB is the best place to stay at SWM for excellent food and fantastic location.

Pros

1) Only hotel within Tiger Reserve's buffer zone.
2) Excellent service and hospitality.
3) Best food in town, I mean it, they cook and serve you food just like HOME.
4) Different than other typical hotels, old castle gives better experience all together.
5) Exclusive Recreation area and terrace on each floor.

Cons ( There are none, but still ...)

1) Little far from town, needs extra expenses (Rs 300 - 400/- per trip) on commuting to town or pickup/drop.
2) Nothing near CJB, No shops, no walks outside castle area in evening/night (terrace is enough though).
3) Average toiletries.
4) Window A/c makes ample sound. (I hope if you inform them they will address this issue).
------

Cons are manageable,

After styaing at CJB, I will not even think of Taj or Oberoi , but always would like to stay at CJB for its food, hospitality, location and excellent staff.

Room Tip: Top floors are better to have good view from terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PriyankBh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Don't expect a 3 or 4 or 5 star hotel. The rooms are very basic, with a nice common area shared between rooms. Window AC's rooms were sufficient even in 47`C.
Food was good, again very simple and basic. The only reason I would visit again is because of its location. It is inside the Ranthambore national forest. Whilke driving up and down the road we saw a wolf (very rare), several neelguys, deers, peafowls, several birds and some forest rangers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rave_AFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The place to be in Ranthambore.

LOCATION:
To start with, the location of this hotel is amazing which makes up for everything else. All the hotels in Ranthambore are just next to the main road which is quite boring, except for Fort Nahargadh and Castle Jhoomar Baori. Nahargadh is a five starer where as CJB suits the pocket as well. Being a Rajasthan Tourism hotel, it seems that they have got the best possible location for a hotel. It is 1.5 km inside the jungle from the main road. Its located on a hill and You can see Jungle on one side of the terrace and entire city of Sawai Madhopur on the other.

ROOMS:
This hotel was supposed to be a palace of maharaja's and queens used to put up here while kings were out hunting. Rooms are big enough and very clean. Only thing is that renovation is needed. Tiles in bathrooms are very old types, so is the furniture, ac, etc.

FOOD:
Food is decent, exactly what you should expect in and RTDC, MTDC, GTDC, etc.
Breakfasts were the best, Lot of fruits, eggs, poha, upma, etc.
Lunch I cant comment much as I used to skip those due to heavy breakfast after the safari.

SERVICE:
We were located on 3rd floor without a lift and it was tiresome to climb those ancient big steps. But whatever we ordered, we got it within 15 mins in the room. Thanks to the little aged but enthusiastic staff. Don't forget to pass on a small tip every time he climbs 3 floors for you and he will be more than happy to serve you.

Value for money:
We booked this hotel during off season and paid 4400 per room for 2 people including all meals which is very decent deal. The only thing was the tax amount of 3k that I had to pay during the checkout. I guess other hotels in Ranthambore include it in the rate they display hence we dn't feel the pinch.

If you are visiting Ranthambore, this is the place to put up atleast for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanmayWagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in end Feb-13 for 3D/2N. We chose this hotel going by reviews on Tripadvisor and must say wasn't disappointed. USP for this hotel is its location, surrounded by forest area. After entering the main gate and even before we could reach the hotel lobby we could spot peacocks, chitals and sambar deers. Good omen for things to come :-) … Also spotted later near the hotel were langurs, neelgais and chinkara. Terrace area gives you a good view of the Ranthambore village and forest area. You’ll also spot hordes of small birds such as rufus treepie, jungle babbler, parrots on terrace itself. This place is not for those looking for luxury but if wildlife is what excites you then look no further. Considering it’s a Govt. owned property, don't keep your expectations too high and you will not be disappointed. Rooms were clean, food was good but don’t expect luxury. It’s an old structure but fairly maintained. Room rates are on higher side for the amenities offered but worth paying that extra for the location which is unparalleled.

Staff is courteous and helpful. Hotel arranges for the gate pass for the safari which has to be taken in advance. Admittedly, they charge a bomb, Rs 350 per safari but then you have no other option unless you have your own vehicle (which we didn’t) and care to go to the booking counter.

Area surrounding the hotel is also territory for resident male tiger T-24 and is sometimes spotted near the hotel. This one has a history of attacking of 3 people but he is NOT a man-eater. He’ll not hunt down humans unless someone is foolhardy enough to bother him in his territory. So don’t venture out on foot in his territory and he won’t bother anyone.

Safari was too good and online booking process is fairly organized. Didn’t spot any tigers in first two safaris (Zone 1 and Zone 5) but could see many chitals, sambar deers, langurs and peacocks that you almost get bored of seeing them. Spotted mongoose and wild boar in Zone 1 but Zone 5 had better diversity with crocodiles, kingfisher, eagles, etc. Fortune turned for good in third safari in Zone 4. Towards the end of the safari finally spotted the big cat.. not one but TWO tigers together. Male T-28 and legendary female T-16 Machali also know as Queen of Ranthambore… at just 5-6 feet distance from our gypsy. Fourth and final safari was in Zone 3…easily the most beautiful of all the zones with lake and view of Ranthambore fort. Crocs, storks, turtles, black ibis, kingfishers in plenty and best of all, spotted third tiger on the tour.. tigress T-19. For the safari always advisable to take a gypsy rather than a canter since it’s more agile and you can avoid noisy and irritating co-passengers on the canter. We were lucky to spot tigers in Feb as on an average tiger was spotted in one zone (out of 9 zones) in each safari timeslot while we were there. Best time is April-May where spotting a tiger is almost guaranteed … Doesn’t matter which zone you go to, chances of spotting a tiger is almost equal in each zone but if you want to explore more than tigers then Zone 3 has to be the best.

Room Tip: Choose from rooms on the third floor for better view from the room balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandarPawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I would agree with most people here on tripadvisor that this hotel is based in a very nice location. But it is not worth the money spent, you will be better off staying at RTDC Vinayak, at less than half the price.

It is an old property with old features which I personally admire but the basic amenities need to be in decent condition,eg, the chairs are broken and dated. Besides this the food was just ok.

Worse of all, the staff tried to extort money (and also managed to get some) from us in various ways. Upon checkin they told us that we need to pay the price difference since the prices have increased since April for which we had no argument but I still found it unfair.

Then they tried to convince me that we have paid for only 4 people when the email confirmation clearly stated that we have booked for 6 people. The staff seems friendly but they are just sweet talk and they were so good in distracting and convincing us that we have booked for less people even though it was black and white. So they were going to charge us extra Rs4000 for under booking and at the time of checkout it was not charged, why???? because their trick didn't work. They charged just only the price hike. All NRI's and foreigners, please be aware of this.... since this has happened to us few times, maybe its written on our forehead WE ARE FOOLS!!

Then we told them that we have booked our safari and paid for the forest entrance fees and now need to pay the rest of the money, and how should we arrange this. They offered to get it done with an agency at a cost of Rs300 per booking. We found the price very high and asked them to give us the name of the agency and show us their tariff card but like I mentioned before, sweet talk and good at distracting...... They took the extra cash for booking the safari for which no receipt was given.. one should wonder why..... No one knows which agency they were talking about and how much they charge. Finally I had to give in because I did not have my own transport and they said the forest office is near the railway station and I would had to hire a jeep from the hotel and it would had cost me more there and back and it was not safe to walk there. So it was their win win situation.

Wouldn't mind paying for the extra cost if they are fair and can be justified. On the way back from Sawai Madhopur, we happened to meet a local lawyer on the train and shared our experience and even he confirmed that the booking charges were way too high and infact there is no such agency in Sawai Madhopur.....................

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days. The hotel is situated quiet far from the city so u pay for the location. The place and the ambiance is good but FOOD is the worst part. Horrible food. Do make arrangements for food if u are to choose this place.
The rooms were clean but there were problems with air conditions. Hotel is short of staff but the staff present is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PratikAdroja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
3.5 mi away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#4 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Raj Palace Resort, Ranthambhore
Raj Palace Resort, Ranthambhore
#14 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regenta Resort Vanya Mahal
Regenta Resort Vanya Mahal
#7 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
132 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Oberoi Vanyavilas
The Oberoi Vanyavilas
#1 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Jhoomar Baori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Jhoomar Baori

Property: Castle Jhoomar Baori
Address: Ranthambhore Road, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing