We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great location near the National Park”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sawai Madhopur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Jhoomar Baori
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a great location near the National Park”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Such a lovely hotel with great views! Staff were nice and attentive. Food was decent. They have a nice quaint shop for authentic Rajasthani stoles, bed sheets and stuff. We loved the walk on the path that leads to the main road and we could sight lot of birds. Every morning we used to go up to the terrace and watch the sun rise and listen to the lovely parakeets and peacocks making sounds. On the whole, a very enjoyable experience. The front desk staff helped us book safaris and car transfers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srividya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    70
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
71
26
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

If you can get the booking of this Hotel, Needless to say, Best in Category Hotel.
Its hard to believe its a Government run Property.
The Best part of this Hotel is its location, which makes it unique. Its the only place which comes inside the sanctuary and if you are lucky like us, you might see the tiger in morning in parking Area or behind the hotel (as this comes in the territory of one of the tigers here)
The food is excellent, specially if you are chicken lovers. The Veg lunch also is very homely and delicious.
We were there for a day, reached without booking Safaris and we are really thankful to the Manager, Mr. K P Singh who arranged Gypsy Safaris, both the time (evening and morning)
Dont excpect the 5 star frills, just say what you want, it will be done.
You do miss the swimmimg pool and
The entire property has the feel of the heritage, and you feel like kings when called hukum every time. The joggers will love this place for the track (from sanctuary gate to hotel is fab)
Overall.. the best place to stay in Ranthabore.

Room Tip: dont take the top floor if you are travelling in summers, as the AC takes time to cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vdrathore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

It’s the best location in the whole of the Ranthambore Forest as it is situated within the forest. Surrounded on all sides by trees, it is situated on a small hill. It’s a heritage property, which used to be the hunting pavilion for the Maharaja of Jaipur. However, the accommodation is basic with A/C provided in some rooms. We stayed in the adjacent rooms 201 and 202 on the 2nd floor. In the middle there is a common room which is a great place for chatting sessions. There is also a large open terrace on each floor, where there is provision for sitting with a nice views. It’s a nice place to watch the sunset. There is a small souvenir shop in the property.
Room: attached bathroom and a small living room (although not of much use). Beds and sheets were clean and changed daily. A/C works and is comfortable. Price for the A/C suite is Rs5000. Which is a bargain is the area and fair value for money.
Food: is a mix of traditional and Indian with continental choice. Break fast was Indian ( chhole bhaturey, pulao, upma) along with bread toast, omlette. Lunch and dinner is mostly traditional Indian food mostly vegetarian and one non veg dish (which was chicken).
Staff: are very cordial and helpful. Hot water is available all the times. Although there is no tea and coffee making facility in the room, these can be ordered nearly anytime through the staff.
Sight seeing: advisable to book the jungle safari in advance. Try to book in the zone 2,3, or4 as the locals say these are the areas mostly frequented by the tigers. Price for each person is Rs570 in the open top truck.

Room Tip: second floor gives you easy access to large open terrace. smaller terrace on other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandipchak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed three nights, the location is fantastic, it is the only hotel situated in the forest. So much more could be done with the hotel,it is government managed RTDC and no one seems to be bothered with improving it, it has so much potential. We had the Tiger Suite, it was simply huge, it is old fashioned,in terms of furniture but it was clean and the bed was very comfortable.The food was really good, the staff were all very helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a plush 5 star experience this is not for you. This is a piece of history, I am a really fussy and I would highly recommend staying here, it is clean and comfortable and it is the nature you are visiting, we did not see a tiger but plenty of other wild life.

Room Tip: The Tiger Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharonlinda01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore (MP)
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I travelled to Ranthambore with family between March 8 to March 11, 2012. I stayed at Castle Jhoomar Baori. The location is nice on the hill top and you can find deer family nears your hotel. The service is actually bad, if you order anything as room service you’ll be LUCKY to get it in your room. The hygiene of the place is pathetic; cockroaches were found meal table on daily basis. The place is not suitable for elderly people as dose not have any room on ground floor and has not lifts to go on other floors.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We went on a family outing during the extended weekend of 3 days in Feb 2012. Had booked an AC room through internet, for 2 nights. This is the only hotel in Ranthambore which is located inside the forest. You have to drive 1.5 km from the main road and climb up 350 metres (by road) to reach the hotel. On the way you can see deer, peacock and monkeys. Leopards prowl in the area during night and early morning as you can clearly hear their calls. We were excited and scared too, as the doors in the room had no proper locking system.
Food is excellent. You get buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can order hot beverage and pakora during the evening and have it sitting in the lawn outside the hotel. The amenities in the hotel are good and the staff are ever helpful. Advise you to book the safari in advance through internet and the hotel will get the confirmations done. This way you will save the trip to the forest office for the boarding card. The hotel will ensure that the canter / gypsy will arrive in the hotel to pick you for the safari. The hotel staff also try to arrange for safari booking if you have not made it in advance but it depends on the availability on that day. At least 2 safaris are required to spot a tiger.
When you stay in the hotel, try to take a room which faces the hills so that you can soak in the beauty of the jungle scenery. We stayed in room 304. It had a small balcony overlooking the hills and we had winged visitors for tit-bits of biscuits.
We drove from Delhi via Dharuhera, Alwar, Sikandra, Dausa, Lalsot, Sawai Madhopur. The roads are excellent (except for a 20Km stretch from Lalsot towards Sawai Madhopur which is being laid). The hotel staff arranged to even wash my car as it was full of dust after the drive.
We will always want to go back to this place.

Room Tip: Try to take a room which faces the hills so that you can soak in the beauty of the jungle scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

the only hotel in the middle of forest..managed by RTDC. Do not go there and expect high end service. The staff is warm, friendly and helpful. Food is homely..non-spicy. Rooms are clean...beds are confortable after you go through park safari. We got good hot water through out the stay during peak winter.

If you dare, take a walk from Forest Office located on main road to the hotel. The walk is through the forest. You can see and picture chital (spotted deer), sambar, nilgai, langurs, various type of birds, peacocks and if lucky a sloth bear (I did see around 6.00 pm evening). This section is in middle of forest at territory of a male tiger (I think T-24), panther and sloth bears. So be careful not to wander before 11.00 am and after 5.00 pm on this road. early morning you can have a visitor to hotel porch - few samber deers - as we had on first day of our stay!

Keep windows of your room open durin night if you are in forest facing room. You can hear a chital call or a panther grunts..!

It's truly a remarkable experience if you really enjoy forest and do away with some luxuries on service.

Room Tip: Room No 302, 303 facing forest side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pushkar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
3.5 mi away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#4 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#9 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regenta Resort Vanya Mahal
Regenta Resort Vanya Mahal
#7 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
128 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Pugmark
The Pugmark
#8 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Jhoomar Baori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Jhoomar Baori

Property: Castle Jhoomar Baori
Address: Ranthambhore Road, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing