We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be renamed, "Deer Park"”

Ranthambore National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Private Wildlife Safari Tour in Ranthambore from Jaipur
More Info
$54.00*
and up
Mansarovar Dam Half-Day Excursion from Sawai Madhopur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This wildlife sanctuary is famous for its population of tigers, a 1000-year-old fort and a rich diversity of flora and fauna.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Should be renamed, "Deer Park"”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

It is a nice park but we didn't see any cats, just lots of deer, some monkeys and a couple of crocs. We were in Zone 2 in the morning then Zone 6 in the afternoon.
The booking system for safaris is a joke and you can see this if you sit around the check-in office for long enough like we did.
We booked our morning safari online and ended up paying an extra 1000rp on top of this fee at our hotel for guide fees and for an agent to check-in for us at 5.45am (45 min before the safari started).
After our first safari we got dropped at the booking office and paid an agent a total of 1000rp each for a jeep booking. Watching the agents push each other in the lines and hustle for business for hours in between the morning and afternoon safaris is entertaining but just goes to show how bad the park's booking system is. It is extremely difficult to book a safari as a normal tourist - the lines are so violent that the agents are controlled by the police and the agents get paid 400rp each for lining up for the customers which should be completely unnecessary if the online system was improved.

Helpful?
1 Thank SarahF29429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,847
    973
    396
    185
    101
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brighton, UK
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Tigers are not easy to find!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Had two trips to the park but no tigers in our allotted zones. Very disappointing, but the deer were interesting!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank anniefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindau, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ranthambore National Park with Oasis Travel”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We also recommend Mr Shushil´s agency Oasis Travel for organizing tours in Rajasthan, but also to other parts of India. This November/December we used his service for the third time and we never regret. We were picked up punctual on the minute at Nagpur Airport, just a short flight away from Mumbai. Our first stop was Kanha Wildlife Reserve, one of the famous Tiger reserves in India. From Kanha our driver took us to Bandhavgarh, another place, where we saw tigers and all kind of wonderful wildlife. Then our driver brought us to Jabalpur Airport, from where we were flying to Delhi. Mr Sushil came personally to the airport for pickup and introduced us to our new driver for the tour to Ranthambore Tiger Reserve. Our driver Vishnu was a very safe, friendly and professional driver. He also was a perfect tourguide, who always showed us some unexpected attractions along the way. As this was our third trip with Oasis Travel, I really can say: It´s not a coincidence, that everything went well and with perfection. Mr Sushil takes very good care for his customers, he is flexible, if changes have to be made, he can be reached by phone or e-mail without any hassle and he is reliable with all negotiations you probably will make. We will not hesitate to book with him again another trip, most probably next year.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We went to the park for a safari but that was not a good experiance. In two days - almost nothing. In case you are serching for a good safari, Africa (for example Kruger park) is much better destination. So, on your India trip I raccomand to avoid this and save your time for plenty other activities there.

Helpful?
Thank SeyoRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good place, but beware of the fraudsters”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

A good park, with loads of birds (spotted in the fort), which meant that I didn't feel sorry about not having spotted the big cat. Since we got to the park at the last minute I accepted an "officer"'s offer of jeep safari at Rs 4800, only to realise later that he and our driver (from Panicker Travels, a terrible chap called Madan Lal) must have laughed at us behind our backs and made a huge profit out of it. We were sent to zone 7, which we later learnt was an extension, not the forest itself. There were no proper roads, only bumpy mountains paths. No trees where the leopards or other big birds could stay. The next day, when we went for a visit to the fort, we were in zone 3, and we could see the difference. But again, road-building works mean a LOT of noise, which in turn means no animals in sight except the rare ones. So conclusion: great potential, could be a lot better.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sug_fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranthambore National Park also viewed

Sawai Madhopur, Sawai Madhopur District
Sawai Madhopur, Sawai Madhopur District
 
Sawai Madhopur, Sawai Madhopur District
Sawai Madhopur, Sawai Madhopur District
 

Been to Ranthambore National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing