We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of RAAS Devigarh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
RAAS Devigarh
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rajsamand
Certificate of Excellence
midlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“superb location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The fort stands proud (as one would expect ) and more !!
We had 4 night spa & romance package which was an excellent experience, although some parts of the Spa programme were badly managed ! Shekhar the manager for Spa needs to do a lot better.
The staff were all very helpful and caring . They tried and succeeded in making our stay a very comfortable one.Bharati from front desk and an all rounder was excellent ..Kuldeep in the restaurant made everything very pleasant and enjoyable for us...Food cooked by chef Hemwant was perfect as we requested our favourite dishes each day....our venue dinners in Sheesh Mahal and roof top have left us with very sweet memories esp. with jal tarang & flute being played for our pleasure....very very enjoyable!
The views of the Aravali mountain range are fantastic as was our trip to the village of Delwara.Superb Jain temples in such a hidden location. Ofcourse the camel rides & kite flying etc are such good ideas which we really enjoyed .
I do hope they will pull their socks up in maintaining the whole place and get busier..All the best to the Manish ji & all his team.

Room Tip: we had the palace suite with the Aravali mountains views & we found it better then the Aravali s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deeeeMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    99
    32
    12
    12
See reviews for
157
271
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location with great views over the countryside of Rajasthan. This was a pleasant change for us after spending some time in Udaipur city and before moving on to other more urban centres in India later in the trip. The property is in a heavily-restored old fort and certainly has a great atmosphere, although you always seem to be outside the buildings looking at them; the building was such a ruin before restoration that there is little or nothing left of the interior. The pool is nice, if unheated (we were there in December) and the restaurant and bar gave good service and decent food (in too-large portions, btw - do they assume Western guests need to eat a horse for each meal?). It would be possible to stay here and never leave the premises, but that would miss the opportunity to visit the village which is at the base of the fort; we borrowed bicycles from the hotel and toured round the fields and through the village, where the locals were friendly and welcoming; we also took a hotel car - with a very good driver - to visit a couple of nearby temples which were interesting. On the downside, we stayed in "garden suites" which were perhaps a little bit cold-feeling (too much marble), weren't really suites in the usual sense of the word, and because they opened directly onto the outside I found it hard not to imagine I was in some sort of high-class motel... I would come back to Devi Garh but would try to be in a room in the palace itself rather than the garden, at least at this time of year. Staff at all levels were attentive, helpful and welcoming. This isn't a cheap hotel by the standards of India or indeed anywhere in the world (at least when booked independently) but is probably unique. One final thing: this hotel might come up in searches for "hotels in Udaipur"; you need to know that it's quite a long way from the city and isn't going to be too convenient if you want to see the sights of Udaipur itself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had our Family reunion at Devi Garh hotel and had 29 people from 4 years to 78 years old visiting from Canada, US, Dubai, HK and Ahmedabad in India. We took 13 rooms of Garden Suite and this worked out very well as we had pretty much the whole garden area to ourself. Manish Upadhyay, the General Manager and his team went out of their way to make the stay fabulous. Catering to every need of the family as we indulged in Kite flying, fireworks, cricket, camel and horse riding. Special dinner for the party were well arranged with beautiful decoration and we had fabulous party for Christmas eve which began with performance by Rajasthani folk singers and dancers, great food and ending with music played by excellent DJ. Thank you for a memorable trip and will definitely visit again on our next trip to India.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arif M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel looks very nice from the outside, the rooms ( we had garden suites) are not great but ok, however the appliances etc. need a refurbishment.
A nice place to stay and rest, very quiet and calm. The spa is ok, but I have seen better trained people for massages and other treatments.
The food is good, the service nice, they really make an effort. We spent New Year's Eve here, it was very good, they put a lot of effort in.
One negative point, the reception called us at 10 pm to inform us that next days check out is at 10 am. First I don't think 10 pm is a good time to phone guests in the room (the children were sleeping) second 10 am check out time seems a bit unusual.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katamete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Devi Garh is heavily marketed as a heritage five star property. It is neither heritage (almost every bit of the building is new , there are very few remnants of the older fort) nor five star (the suites are below average and appliances didn't work). The only positive thing about this hotel is it's location and view.

The hotel had a convention group staying there when we arrived , it was an all male crowd filling the small palace atrium with cigarette smoke and cellphone conversations whenever there was a break. Not a very good setting for a family stay. Experience would have been better if the convention had not been there but the hotel management relies heavily on these events to bolster revenue , seems to have a low occupancy otherwise.

Service is good although the hyped "exclusive tour of the palace" turned out to be a dud. We found many more interesting locations the next day by walking around the building on our own.

A very average hotel not worth the sticker price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SridharCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Travelling from Ahmedabad, we (me and my wife) decided to start off our Rajasthan journey of 10 days from the town of Rajsamand using it as a stopover for a couple of days before moving on to Udaipur. Antilog vacations booked our entire stay in Rajasthan and it started with the stay at the Devi Garh Resort in Rajsamand. We were travelling by a cab and reached Devi Garh at around noon with the sun at its peak. The air conditioned reception area and the rooms came to our aid giving us pleasant respite from the heat.

The hotel is stretched out in a beautiful property over a large sprawling area. The room we got depicted the typical Rajasthani flavor through its décor, design and interiors. It was around 400 sq ft in area and the bed was positioned opposite to the entry of the room. The mattress was quite comfortable too and looked like it had been replaced recently. The curtains and the windows were nicely cushioned and matched to amplify the effect of the air conditioner. The bathroom was excellent too with the shaving mirror and the hair dryers being noteworthy mentions.

We ordered lunch at the room itself. The room service was quick and prompt. The menu had a wide assortment of dishes – Indian, Chinese and Western. We ordered for the channch too, which was a Rajasthani special containing the choicest mixture of curd water and spices. On the consequent day we ate at the restaurant which too was excellent and the buffet in particular had a lot of choices.

We checked out the lawns, courtyards and the terraces in the evening. Beautifully decked and well maintained, Devi Garh really provided a total package. We would definitely like to return here in the future and would recommend others the same.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrinal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We went to Devi Garh for a wedding on 1st Dec.,2012 and stayed for one night. The rooms, food, staff . ambiance, cleanliness was great. Staff was very polite and always helpful. The wedding was perfectly organized. Wonderful place and great experience.

Room Tip: Every suite that we all the relatives had were excellent .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SATINDER_1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rajsamand
14.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
14.4 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
7.4 mi away
TatSaraasa Resort & Spa
TatSaraasa Resort & Spa
#9 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RAAS Devigarh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RAAS Devigarh

Property: RAAS Devigarh
Address: National Highway 8 | near Eklingji Udaipur, Rajsamand 313333, India (Formerly Devi Garh by Lebua)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Rajsamand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rajsamand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RAAS Devigarh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RAAS Devigarh was conceived as a place where the past meets present. Nestled in the Aravali hills 28 kilometers away from the bustle of Udaipur, this all suite luxury resort assumes the look of modern India with an emphasis on design and detail. The interiors of 18th century fort palace of Delwara were transformed in a minimalist manner while conserving 250 year old exterior. The tranquil ambiance makes this Fort Palace an ideal wellness destination. The La Terre Spa by L'Occitane at RAAS Devigarh is a meditative place for rejuvenation. It offers an extensive selection of therapies that are a fusion of Indian and Mediterranean wellness concepts. The renowned French beauty brand offers its signature treatments alongside bespoke treatments for clients, using local flowers and herbs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your RAAS Devigarh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devi Garh Hotel Rajsamand
Devi Garh Fort Palace Rajsamand
Devi Garh Fort Palace Hotel
RAAS Devigarh Rajsamand, India - Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing