We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peeved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angel Fire
Reviewed August 25, 2013

A 4:00 pm check-in is late enough, especially when coming to a remote mountain community, but when at 3:55 on a Sunday afternoon my room wasn't going to be ready for another 15 minutes, I was a bit peeved to say the least. The matter-of-fact/business-as-usual front desk receptionist wasn't at all apologetic and didn't offer any compensation, like a complimentary drink in the bar while having to wait. If the facility's management were to praise her professionalism in this instance, they'd need a hospitality refresher. This wasn't a "get over it" moment for an unjustly irritated picky traveler; rather, it was plain poor service. I won't be back again for this kind of attitude. I'll go a few miles beyond to the Econo Lodge in Eagle Nest, where at least my expectations will be met.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philoctetes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,,

Sorry to be reading this on-line. I will make sure and share this feedback with the departments mentioned and talk through the points you made. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss this further. My number is 575-377-4253.

Thanks,
Joe Kendall
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 299 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you go to Angel fire to ride the “Zip line” there are some things you need to know. First off what to bring: if it is warm weather wear shorts, tee shirt or long sleeve shirt. The zip line folks will NOT allow you to have anything attached to your belt or waist or in your pockets. They will especially stop you from having a camera. The zippers will say you can carry your stuff in cargo pockets with ZIPPER-- I would not test this theory because the photo co. wants their money and will stop you from taking any pictures.
The zipper folks will have you take everything out of your pockets: wallet, knifes, keys etc. and then will place your precious items in a Tupperware box and store it heaven knows where. I brought nothing knowing this and it felt very unsecure the way they stored everyone’s stuff, anyone could have access to your stuff while you are supposed to be having fun.
If you wear a hat bring a cap at best, they will fit under the yellow helmets the zippers will order you to wear at all times. You will be harnessed; gloved, helmeted and hanging from the center of your chest is a five pound trolley that will smack everything you have. My advice is to stuff the triangle trolley between your chest and the suspender strap. The trolley stayed tight while I was walking, everyone else was suffering with this torture devise.
Forget about water or snacks or any sustenance you would like to bring. Leave it in your room you will not need it unless it is a medical reason then who know what they will tell you. There is some walking but they have vehicles as well to take you to the next zip line. Tuck the trolley so it does not swing and hit you. You can hang it over your shoulder or between chest straps or try bringing an extra D-ring to use to hook the trolley.
When I went to the “Zip Line” there was a snag and they closed down one of the longest zip lines. We received a small refund so call to find out what is going on you may have to talk to at least 3 people. Communication between the resort camp and the mountain top appears to be very loose. The two seem to operate separate with what appeared to be NO overlap. So some of the info they tell you at the resort camp will be off or exaggerated or lack of any knowledge. Be warned that the Zip Line assistants are young and cocky—it’s all about them. If you get a cocky kid request a different crew. It may cause you a delay but you will have a safer and more pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Few Parking spaces. If you find a good one and then leave to the store it will be gone when you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsailer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

This is the first time I am hearing of these concerns from a ZIP Line guest. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your visit, 575-377-4365.

Take care and Happy Travels,
Joseph Kendall
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights the first week of July. It was okay, nothing too very special. The room was huge, which was great. However, it was very, very dated and there was not nearly enough light. Taking a shower in the dark is interesting. The staff was very friendly. I don't think we would choose to stay here again, there are nicer hotels for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate constructive feedback, which helps us achieve our goals.

Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your visit, 575-377-4365.

Sincerely,
Joe Kendall
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The staff was very courteous, helpful, and kind.
The decor made our mountain experience complete.
The restaurants were very well priced and the food was great.
Lots of outlets for media. Could use more lighting in bathroom.
Angel Fire Resort Rocks!!
I can not say the same for Hertz Car Rental in Denver. The car was dirty on the inside and out. The brakes vibrated when you applied them on a down hill incline. The bus operator did not offer to assist us in any matter loading our 6 bags onto the bus!!! They gave us charges that we have no idea what they were for, even after going on their website that was to explain everything. I think this is my first and last time to rent from Hertz!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with the on-line community. It is always a pleasure to receive positive, with constructive, feedback. I am happy that you visited us during the summer season and we hope that you return in the Winter.

Take care and Happy Travels,
Joseph Kendall
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

we stayed at the lodge as a part of a zip line package--after reading some of the reviews, I have to say that I wasn't expecting too much--wrong! check in was fast and friendly--room was fine, other than lighting (particularly in the bathroom)--bed and pillows were wonderful--there is no air conditioning, but at that altitude, the room was comfortable--there was a fan provided for our use, but we didn't need it--
we had dinner in one of the eateries on the 2nd floor--large selection of beers on draft--dinner servings were more than we could eat--our waitress, darla, was super--clued us in on a dessert that wasn't on the menu--key lime pie, one of our favorites, made there at the lodge--very good!!
this was a surprise for my wife, who had wanted to do a zip line--she had no idea where we were going, or what we were going to do--I hit a home run on this one!! (will do a review of the zip line, also) the package was a great value--we will do it again!

Room Tip: I made reservations a few weeks in advance, and scored a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldfart59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the on-line community!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the lodge and the Zip Line.

Congratulations on the success of the surprise and I am happy to hear that you plan to return.

Happy and Safe Travels,
Sincerely,
Joe Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a nice mountain lodge located conveniently at the base of the slopes of Angel Fire resort. I stayed there in the summer and had close, easy access to the lift for the mountain bike park. In the winter it's just as easy to access the slopes for skiing - just walk out the door and you're there. They even let me keep my bike in my room, which was extremely convenient. The room itself is comfortable and friendly - I was in room 214. Not particularly modern, but also not in desperate need of updating. And there was a gas fireplace in the room, which could be nice. But since it was summer, I found the balcony to be a nice place to sit, and the screened sliding door allowed me to let in fresh mountain air, which was great. The room was also quite large, with lots of storage space. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the coffee shop in the lobby was convenient and served some really good breakfast options like breakfast burritos, BLTs, etc. And if you're there to mountain bike, the bike park is excellent and a lot of fun - I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the on-line community. I look forward to sharing this feedback with the other venues you mentioned.

Happy and Safe Travels!
Joe Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Old and tired is the best ways to described the Angel Fire Resort Lodge. Room 436 faces an indoor pool with hardly any natural light . The lighting in the room is awful. Cabinets, decor and furniture in room is tacky . The term "resort" is a an oxymoron ...feels like a motel from the 60s. Will give kudos for the mattress. Also, nice service staff in bar. Common areas and hall ways are in need of refreshing. This resort need to improve to even measure up to solid chain like Hampton Inn. I was attend a meeting so I had no choice but staff . Would not come back Angle Fire Resort Lodge for pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stavros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards,
Joe Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angel Fire
17.4 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
129 reviews
16.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 14 in Taos
1,247 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
97 reviews
11.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Eagle Nest
60 reviews
18.1 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort

Address: 10 Miller Lane, Angel Fire, NM 87710
Location: United States > New Mexico > Angel Fire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angel Fire
Price Range: $150 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers your choice of spacious rooms and suites, just steps from the Chile Express chairlift at the hub of Angel Fire, New Mexico. Each room features two queen beds-perfect for your family (or friends). Take a plunge in the indoor pool, enjoy a relaxing soak in our hot tub, sweat it out in the fitness center or just enjoy our free WiFi Internet access after a fun day of skiing and snowboarding. Dine in both our on-site restaurants, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Fire Hotel Angel Fire
Angel Fire Ski Resort
Angel Fire Resort Hotel
The Lodge At Angel Fire Resort New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing