We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for BBQ and more”

Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Angel Fire
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The posole was as delicious as it looked! Definantly hit the spot and the guys enjoyed some very tasty BBQ. Great home dining with wonderful Christian people! Yes we'll go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TXFaithRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlerNM, Owner at Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for the review, we really appreciate it!
Some people may read this and think POSOLE??? In a BBQ restaurant? Our name is BBQ and MORE...the daily specials with the Mexican flair, is the MORE part...Wendy, being raised in New Mexico, loves to cook the specials.
We are Christians, and we see the restaurant as our ministry...it is HIS restaurant, we just run it for Him!
We look forward to visiting with you again, on your next trip to Angel Fire,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 156 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We enjoyed delicious BBQ in Angel Fire, NM. The brisket was tender, juicy, and smokey. We also enjoyed our conversation with the friendly owners.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlerNM, Owner at Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful words.
We love visiting with our customers, and getting to know them.
We have a sign that hangs in the dining area that says, Enter as Strangers Leave as Friends...that is how we feel about our guests!
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Angel Fire!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great little place to enjoy mondo size BBQ lunches. We sampled the "Bubba" which is BBQ pork or brisket wrapped in a jalapeño cheese tortilla. Should have shared one because of the generous size plus excellent potato salad sides, but what with the fresh mountain air and all, we were able to demolish all of it. Chose to sit outside to eat which was a nice option on a beautiful day. The owners checked on us frequently and were very personable. Make this a stop on your Enchanted Circle drive. You'll be glad you did.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Subeallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlerNM, Owner at Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

So glad you visited us this summer!
Our portions are huge because we believe you should get what you pay for!
We are always happy to meet new people and we try to make sure your dining experience is always a good one!
Thank you for the great review!
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had lunch there yesterday and were very pleased with the food & the service!! They even treated me to a sample of the squash rice casserole & jalapeno cornbread. It is nice to see a good restaurant flourish in Angel Fire and bonus they are proud Christians. We wish them great success and will definitely be back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlerNM, Owner at Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for the great review!
We are so glad that you had an enjoyable experience, one of our goals is that everyone who comes into our restaurant leave completely satisfied, which is one of the reasons we are so quick to offer samples of any of our foods.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Angel Fire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I've been here twice during or visit to Angel and will go back. The good is solid. Our favorites are the meatloaf special and Cowboy beans. While it may be a little more expensive than you would pay back home, the prices are inline with a ski town. It's one of the few places in town where you can get in and out quickly, which we like. The owners may be the best we've encountered in town. They are friendly and really work to serve customers. Can't wait to try the green chili brisket burrito.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CaptDefeated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlerNM, Owner at Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

First of all, thank you for taking the time to give us a review! Sorry it has taken so long to give a response, we were not even aware that it was possible :-) .
We are happy that you had a good experience on your visit. John and Wendy (the owners) pride our selves on great customer service and making sure that the customers are treated like we want to be treated when we dine out.
We also try to make sure everyone gets their food fast (the fasted food in Angel Fire),. After all you are on vacation and have more things to do, that sit and wait for 30min. to an hour to get your food (like other places in town). We try to have your food out in 2 minutes (our goal), so you can get on with your day! And yes, we have people time us lol.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Angel Fire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More also viewed

 

Been to Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing