We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Customer Service, but” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More

Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Angel Fire
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Kerens
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service, but”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

From the minute we walked in the door the owner made us feel at home, great people, I really liked them. Maybe I just caught them on a bad day but the ribs were way over cooked, I mean WAY over cooked. The kind of over cooked that makes you think they would have said “Hey, the ribs are on the burnt side” or just not served them at all. The brisket and pork were also a little over cooked (very dry) but not as bad as the ribs. The flavor was ok and the sauce was great but I had to use too much of it to overcome the dry meat. I love BBQ and especially ribs so I will probably skip Hail’s when in Angel Fire.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlerNM, Owner at Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of our restaurant.
We do pride ourselves on our customer service, as well as our quality of food, which is why we check on our customers to make sure everything is ok, and that their experience is a good one.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this visit. We would like to invite you back on your next trip to Angel Fire, to give us a 2nd chance. Your opinion really does matter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    17
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
1 review
“Really Good BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food was very good and all tasted fresh. Had the Bubba Burrito (brisket and green chilies - awesome), sausage, ribs and brisket and they were all really good. Be sure to also try the Cowboy Beans...yummy. The owners were very nice and friendly. The service was great. One of the best places we ate at during our trip...only wish we would have found them earlier in our trip because we definitely would have gone back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlerNM, Owner at Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to give us a review!
So glad it was a good experience for you when you visited Holy Smoked!
We take great pride in our customer satisfaction, as well as the quality of food we serve at a price that is affordable.
We hope to see you on your next visit to the mountain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good BBQ. Incredibly Friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Took the family here on our last night in Angel Fire. The husband and wife who own the place are incredibly friendly, and the service was awesome.

The food was delicious as well. We had the Bubba Burrito and smoked turkey sandwich.

If you're in Angel Fire and looking for a good place to eat, this is it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Surge_of_Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlerNM, Owner at Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
Our customer satisfaction is very important to us, as it should be. We also take great pride in the quality of food that we serve. We thank you for the compliments, it means a lot!
It is important to us that you feel welcome and are treated like we would like to be treated when we dine out!
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Angel Fire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The BEST BBQ!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The food was absolutely wonderful!! Had the 2 meat plate and the portions were plentiful!! The potato salad was so delicious!! And you HAVE to try one of Wendy's homemade brownies!! They are Heavenly!! :0) will absolutely recommend this restaurant!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debchavez7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlerNM, Owner at Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal and service!
We take great pride on everything that we serve, and yes, the brownies are a favorite.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place is great...highly recommend. And the owners are great people who give great service. Will go there every time we come back to Angel Fire.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlerNM, Owner at Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
We try to treat everyone who walks through the door like we would want to be treated when we go out.
We have a sign hanging in the restaurant that says "Enter as strangers, leave as friends" and that is exactly our goal!
We look forward to visiting with you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More also viewed

 

Been to Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing