We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El Dorado Steakhouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Dorado Steakhouse
Price range: $17 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy 434
Description: We have the best Mesquite Grilled Steaks in Angel Fire! You'll feel at home while savoring a great meal in our casual and relaxed dining room. In the summer you can enjoy the gorgeous sunsets on our patio! Come experience our Mesquite Grilled flavors, attentive service and our friendly, rustic atmosphere!
Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OK Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Dined here on Friday after July 4th. Tried to call and make suggested reservations but no one returned my call so we took a chance and just showed up. No problem to have no reservation. My bottled beer was warm- had to put in my ice water to chill it, the house salad was just some iceberg salad with one cherry tomato, and they don't serve any type of bread. My husband's steak was just average with some gristle but cooked just as ordered. My grilled salmon was an unusual color but the seasoning was excellent. Would probably not go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KathrynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    6
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Angel Fire, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Food was good, service was good, the only time I have eaten at a high end steak house and they didn't serve any kind of bread. I asked for some bread and was told they didn't serve bread or roll or any type of bread. Paid $34.00 for a steak got salad and potato.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

We loved the decor. Service and food were wonderful. A little on the pricey side, but portions were huge. There was no kid's menu when we were there - they had to print more, but sort of told us what they had to offer and tried to come up with kid friendly options. We'll be back!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank LakebumsInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cozy spot with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We dined here on Christmas eve. The food was quite good (we all had steaks and potatoes) and service was fairly prompt. I do have to say that the restaurant was very cold and I think they had just turned their heater on at 5pm and we arrived at 6ish. It was unusually cold while we were there (in the teens) so maybe they are not used to the chilly extreme temps. The service was friendly, food was yummy and the decor was very nice. Slightly upscale and stylish atmosphere.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank reauxdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene
Level Contributor
107 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Less-Expensive option to the Roasted Clove”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

I thought the house red wine was good. The salad was a little sparse, but good blue-cheese dressing. The 10 oz. sirloin I ordered was the least expensive steak on the menu (I think it was $18) and was cooked to order. I was there early in the evening, so the baked potato was just barely done. Most diners will go later than I did, so that shouldn't be a problem. I hope this steakhouse makes it. Since I was there early, I couldn't judge how well it has been received. The steak was mesquite-grilled, but not exceptional in flavor. Wait staff was very friendly and helpful and attentive.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreywolfAbilene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Dorado Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing