We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dera Kumbhalgarh - Not A Family Resort”
Review of Dera Kumbhalgarh

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kumbhalgarh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dera Kumbhalgarh
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Kumbhalgarh
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dera Kumbhalgarh - Not A Family Resort”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Yes, Dera Kumbhalgarh is not recommended for family. No services, Facility and hospitality they have mentioned in site. Tent are highly not recommended for personal life. :( and again normally they have parties at night for drinkers. so you can not visit outside with family.. They are some prostitute also present for drinkers.. Please do not dream this place for family

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank hetalshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    14
    0
    8
See reviews for
32
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ahmedabad
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed here in diwali time. The location is excellent, and great breath taking view of sunrise. There are 17 well furnished tents. Also, in next 15 days they are going to start swimming pool.

The Food tastes great. The cook prepares homely and delicious food in lovely outdoor restaurant.

Its very nice place to stay in Kumbhalgarh with great view of mountains.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vishalkamdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

If you are natural lovers then this is the perfect place to stay, Best time to visit in rainy season, what a greenery Kumbhalgarh have !!!!

We did not face any major difficulty during the stay at dera, service is good and staff is very helpful, Dera is located in forest valley, so we can enjoy the nature/climate from the dera, also its located near to Kumbhalgarh fort.....

If you are visiting the Kumbhalgarh, see the climate from the top of the fort what a scene it have......awesome....also don't forget to see light show at night time.....!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SamirGami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2011

- Very good place, amazing location, very near by KumbhalGadh Fort.

- Tents are good, but can be more maintained. More like, facilities of proper lights, Fans etc... May be Refrigerator can do great job !

- Service is really nice, People are nice.

- Food is really good, but somewhat spicy. (The rajsthani spice taste)

- Swimming Pool/Smaller pond/Lake can do much better attraction to people and we can spent more good time.

- May be some games/rides/garden for children will be also good.

Room Tip: - Take Advance booking before going, choose AC rooms as it would be hard to stay in. - Keep raincoa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParthAsDeveloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

This is a place one has to really experience.....the tented accommodation is far superior trhat the one seen in the pics. Location Great....Food Great...People Great.
Almost all the stadd from bearer to cook are localites...they have no hanky pankies about the attitude. Extremely warm and courteous. They will cook you a very simple but delectable food. The tents make you \experience a real primitive dwelling. On one request they organised a nice Rajasthani Folk Dance (inspite of the low occupancy). The folk music...camp fire....and chilling winter was a perfect combo.
This is a place one has to visit. Kudos to the entire Dera Team.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satyajit_Kotwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Hotel Dera, Kumbhalgarh
18th July 2010

Basic:
If you are a nature lover then this is the place.. and more specifically the hotel to be.. The view from Hotel Dera is sooo nice that it can't get any more better.. Well the hotel has only 11 Tents (5 A/C and 6 Non A/C) and no rooms. And the best time to visit is in MONSOON Season. The rains just adds the pleasure..

Tariff:
The best part is the TARIFF.. we had a stay of approx. Rs. 2500 per person for 2 nights which incl. stay + BF + Lunch + Dinner.. Food is also good.. not excellent but nice.. And do have Dal Bati over there as it was the best in their whole menu. Also if possible then try to get Tent No. 108 and 109 as they are best located tents..

Suggestion:
The main problem we faced was of flies since we had gone in monsoon.. They have disturbed us a lot.. So I suggest you to carry with you Coils in large Quantity + All Out or something like that.. Also as you will have nothing to do full day do take some card board or ludo games.. as in some indoor and movable games.. you can also carry badminton rackets.. no cricket.. Do carry some music with you like IDock or something.. Do take some dry snacks.. And if you would like to have hard drinks do take it from Udaipur or some place early because it won't be available easily up there. If you require chilled served drinks then just buy it from any where and ask the hotel staff to keep it in the refrigerator..

The Tent Contains -
A/C
Bed for 2
An Extra Bed can be easily fit in
14 inch TV + DTH Connection
Attached Bathroom (with Water Heater)

Kumbhalgarh Place:
This place is for only those who want to relax and have fun with their friends.. Don't misunderstand me as this place is just for old agers.. but youngsters would also enjoy it.. But do make a note that there is no place to go.. no spots to visit during full day other than the Kumbhalgarh Fort.. Fort is OK.. the view from top is simply amazing.. the 36 KM long wall.. i.e. the second largest wall of Asia.. after the Great Wall of China.. If you are not interested in viewing the wall then also you should go right to top just for the amazing view.. At night the Fort ignites its LIGHTS just for half hour which is super awesome. Don't at all miss the lighting of the fort. They also have a jungle safari.. which is not all worth or needed..

Road:
From Udaipur to Khelwara (which come prior to Kumbhalgarh) the roads are pretty bad.. It took us around 2 hours for a journey of 85 KMS. Rest all roads are very nice.

Return :
While returning I would suggest you to visit Ranakpur which is around 52 KMS from Kumbhalgarh, it has a very famous JAIN TEMPLE there which is worth watching.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParinBhimani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We decided to stay here, having been mesmerized by the photos we saw in their website. The location met our expectations and was really fabulous.

The tents were in a beautiful setting, right next to a forested valley in Kumbhalgarh. The bathrrom were aestically designed. the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Nearby attractions are the awesome Kumbhalgarh fort and the Ranakpur wildlife sanctuary.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangaloreAdmiralty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumbhalgarh
0.8 mi away
Royal Kumbhalgarh Villas
Royal Kumbhalgarh Villas
#4 of 8 in Kumbhalgarh
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aodhi Hotel
Aodhi Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kumbhalgarh
306 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Kumbha Bagh
The Kumbha Bagh
#1 of 8 in Kumbhalgarh
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Ghanerao Royal Castle
Ghanerao Royal Castle
#1 of 1 in Ghanerao
133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kumbhalgarh Safari Camp
Kumbhalgarh Safari Camp
#3 of 11 in Kumbhalgarh
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Kumbhalgarh
Ramada Resort Kumbhalgarh
#2 of 11 in Kumbhalgarh
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dera Kumbhalgarh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dera Kumbhalgarh

Property: Dera Kumbhalgarh
Address: National Highway 8, Kumbhalgarh 313325, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Rajsamand District > Kumbhalgarh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Kumbhalgarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tent Hotel ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing