We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home!!!”
Review of Jee Ri Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jee Ri Haveli
Ranked #18 of 196 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I booked this hotel after going through various reviews on trip advisor. The booking was confirmed by paying some advance in the bank account. The booking was done 4 months ago and the owner Mr Himanshu Tak was cooperative in terms of arranging a detailed itenary for us,however we planned on our own. We flew from Mumbai on 4th Novenber 2013 and reached Jodhpur in the afternoon. We were called by Mr L Tak(Himashus Father) before we flew from Mumbai and on reaching Jodhpur.We took a prepaid rickshaw and reached Gulabsagar lake where the hotel is located. (Not hotel but home away from home as Mr L Tak says and i second it).As many of the earlier reviewers the property is located in a area which is very dirty. However please note all the properties in the heart of the city have the same conditions and the hotel owners have no role to play here. However after checking in the hotel we notice that the property, rooms etc are spic and span,cleanliness is thoroughly taken care by the Tak family.The rooms are freshly painted, air conditioned and great suprise when when one compares this with the dirty location. The property is very near to the Mehrangarh Fort, Jaswant Thada and even the Umaid Bhavan Fort. Mr L Tak is very active and did help in arranging rickshaw for us and used to communicate atleast 3-4 times in the day about the fact whether we were comfortable. He even arranged for Bishnoi village safari which is highly recommended where we visited Bishnoi family, weaver, potters and hand printing family and could understand the various ways and habits of these people, We were even lucky to see Siberian cranes,Black buck(famous for Salman Khan shooting incidence) and even some peacock and a Neelgai. My wife even managed to get into a Bishnoi family attire.However i strongly recommend to skip the Marwari lunch which does not meet up the expectation.Also please ensure not to purchase any stuff at the places and instead visit the National Handloom for every need. I recommend Shahi Samosa(Near clock Tower) for tasty mirchwada and other great stuff.and also try the Omlette shop near the Clock Tower for great stuff(Recommended on Lonely Planet). Now regarding the food arrangements at the proprety. The breakfast has limited options though Aloo Paratha is great. However the lunch/dinner needs greater attention by the Taks. On the last day of our departure (we had to take the train at 7.55am) Mr Tak arranged from the breakfast at sharp 6 am , piping hot water(the toilets are spic and span) and a rickshaw at sharp 7 am. Thus all in all i would say this is truly a Home away from Home experiance!!!. Please note that a family of 3 one can book a Deluxe Room which is a bit compact however all the comforts are available here. One last recommendation is a dinner at Indique roof top hotel(located at Pal Haveli-Gulabsagar lake) which is decent evening outing and one can enjoy a candle light dinner with good dining option and great views,however the same is available at even Jee Ri Haveli terrace restaurant which offer great views of the Fort, Jaswant Thada and Umaid Bhavan Place and the entire city.

Room Tip: For a family of 2+1 family choose a Deluxe room which will cost just Rs1800/- inclusive of taxes and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paresh_Mahale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 268 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very bad rooms, food quality bad.sleep is not at all peacefull. No amenities. Very bad location. Only the staff and owner are good but better not to stay. The place where the hotel situated is too noisy and rooms are smelling as if long time not in use.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Amal Kumar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This a no star hotel or a dump , we got there place is so dirty and smelly . Bedrooms under a cotton or wool mill . Can't stop coughing and covered in white fluff . Bedroom was dirty plus pillows @ blanket never been washed and we complaint and the manager just laughed at us . So we got on Internet and called Hotel.Com cause Cleartrip never answer are call, who we booked through . Hotel . com got us out of this dump and arranged a taxi to pick us up as well . We are staying hotel Indana jodhpur very nice and clean staff are great , I have not got the words to explain wonderful they have to us and made us for get the 1 day misery we had. Again thank you Hotel.com and Indana jodhpur .
The remakes below is for Hotel JEE RI HAVELI JODHPUR

Room Tip: Go to Indana Hotel Jodhpur
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joemac52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeerihaveli, General Manager at Jee Ri Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

First of all We are sorry to disappoint you, But it is very unfair to compare A FAMILY RUN GUEST HOUSE (Jee Ri Haveli) with FIVE STAR HOTEL (Indana Hotel).For the Cheapest Room in the Indana Hotel Rs 15000 Per night. In Jee Ri Haveli you never pay more than Rs 2200 per Night.

Guest gave a false statement about cleanness. But the old city is simply not as clean as the new city, where the Indana Hotel is located.

Though the advantages are that Jee Ri Haveli has a short stroll from bustling city market around the clock tower and the Meherangarh fort. Also Jee Ri Haveli has the advantage of being right next to the Gulab Sagar reservoir. Which Offer us breath-taking view of the Meherangarh Fort with Gulab Sagar reservoir. As a Small hotel we are able to assure the Rajasthani Hospitality you do not get in big hotels.

In Few words you can’t expect the same luxury in a taxi as in a much more expensive limousine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with car parking,Jee Ri Haveli is far from your consideration.The hotel is in a very congested area and there is a space crunch.Once you enter the hotel lobby you can expect a very hospitable manager to greet you and service is good too.The rooms have excellent view of the Meharangarjh Fort and Rao Bikaji's statue.You can pardon the view of the 'not-so-clean'Gulab Sagar lake.All in all value for money in terms of budget stay!!

Room Tip: Avoid it if you are looking for a very luxurios stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arunima b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My daughter and I shared 3 wonderful evenings (21st 22nd and 23rd Aug) at the Haveli and from the first moment felt part of the family. Himanshu and his sister went out of their way to offer any assistance when we needed it.
Our room was clean and tidy with a view over the lake and fort. We both slept very well.

The real drama of this hotel is experiencing a wonderful meal and prehaps a beer on the roof top restaurant after dark. It seems the fort, which is charmingly lit, is in touchable distance and its lovely to be high above the busy streets. You have to savour moments like that as I am sure that most visitors high streets are not quite the same !

The whole 3 night stay with dinner bed and breakfast, lightish bar bill, extensive laundry service and a £20 overseas telephone call all came in at around £100.

I felt it was good value.

Room Tip: Try visiting in late Monsoon time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were very warmly welcomed to Jee Ri Haveli by the constantly smiling Himanshu. We arrived late at night, but the rooftop restaurant was kept open for us, which served good food. Both the rooftop and our room balcony had amazing views of the fort, which is so spectacular when lit up at night. The room itself was simple but spacious. The best part was the bathroom, which looked like it had been newly fitted.

Himanshu was helpful in suggesting what order to see the sights in and also suggested (without any pressure) a village safari, which we opted to do – it was interesting to see wildlife and the village way of life (and just how deeply rooted both the caste system and opium are!).

The only problem that I encountered was that their credit card machine was not working and since it was a public holiday the day we left, it wasn’t possible to get it fixed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed here in Jan. 2013, and have had a hard time trying to describe why the experience was not so good. I just found this review that says well what my experience was too http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g297668-d946647-r52738976-Jee_Ri_Haveli-Jodhpur_Rajasthan.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

I will add that I was very happy with the location and the "filth" of the neighbourhood that so many others complain about. I chose this hotel because of the location, and because I thought it would be a great mid range hotel.

As it turned out, it was a very expensive home stay, and not even a good one. The room was dirty, the bedding stained, the pillows hard as rock, and blankets dirty and unbearably rough. The food was poor, and was cooked by the same "boys" (as the owners called them) that cleaned the bathrooms. I have absolutely not problem with any of this, except I would expect to pay 6 or 700 rupees for such a place. Instead, I paid 2000.

Of course there is the amazing view of the fort, but the balconies were covered in pigeon droppings, and there were no chairs, so totally unusable.

I really hate to complain, because the owners really do try hard to please, and they went out of their way to help me with various things. But there are much better, and cheaper places in the city, so if you are looking for the view, go and dine in the multiple restaurants around the town that have a view, and save your money on a better hotel.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely not.

Room Tip: Stay as high up as possible - the roadside can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photo_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeerihaveli, General Manager at Jee Ri Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Many thanks for your post. All comments are gratefully received. We here at Jee Ri Haveli feel that our guests have one of the best views of the number one attraction here at Jodhpur. Many have commented on the wonderful view from our rooms and roof top restaurant.

As for the local environment we feel that Jodhpur city center is in keeping with many large cities here in India. Unfortunately a little litter is unavoidable.

We strive to keep the hotel in the best of order and pride ourselves in giving the best service possible including serving good quality home cooked food . As you point out will go the extra mile to help out with any problems that may arise.

We are sorry that you felt the room may not have been up to standard. We will definitely take what has been said on board: We are always looking to improve.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
3.9 mi away
Bijolai Palace-A Treehouse Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Heritage Kuchaman
Heritage Kuchaman
#40 of 104 in Jodhpur
304 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marvel Umed Hotel
Marvel Umed Hotel
#47 of 104 in Jodhpur
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mandore Guest House - a leafy resort.
0.3 mi away
King's Retreat Jodhpur
King's Retreat Jodhpur
#7 of 196 in Jodhpur
286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 196 in Jodhpur
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jee Ri Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jee Ri Haveli

Address: Near Rajmahal Senior Higher Secondary School | Gulab Sagar, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: $29 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jee Ri Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many people have dream of staying in a huge, royal palace on the seashore or on the banks of river or if not both at least a place facing the water reservoir. There is such a place at Gulab Sagar in Jodhpur. The 19th Century sandstone place built on a hillock facing Gulab Sagar is one of such places that are definitely going to win your heart. The bedrooms are air-conditioned, spacious, well appointed and exquisitely decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jee Ri Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jee Ri Haveli Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing