We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheesh Mahaal”
Review of Singhvi's Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Singhvi's Haveli
Ranked #1 of 193 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in March. It was a great place to stay. The room was clean and the service friendly and efficient. Great view of the fort and the blue city from the roof, where you can enjoy a sundowner Kingfisher or 2. The Sheesh Mahal suite is unique and quite an experience staying in a room that old. Good times in an amazing city. Jodphur is worth the visit for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank off_to_Patong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
There are newer reviews for Singhvi's Haveli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 618 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

I hated this place! this was by far the most disappointing place I stayed in in India, thankfully only for one night. i got there rather late and i got the room right in the entrance courtyard, so no view, and really no option to even open the windows. so basically this room is a dark box that can also be loud as everyone passes by it.
When i arrived, the room and the bathroom were full of mosquitos. when i told the management they sprayed, but it was a terrible sight at first. also, the next morning there were cockroaches in the bathroom.
The upstairs restaurant is nice, but at least when i was there there was a rather big group. i think this place has gotten so many (from my perspective undeserved) good reviews that it does not have to try anymore and all these groups are booking there now. i was alone, so that is not very much fun for me.
All is all i think this is a hugely overrated place and there are much cheaper places that offer the same or even better service.
The only good thing about the place is its location: it is hard to find but it is in a great little street in the heart of old town near the palace and far from the busy market roads.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

my niece and i stayed here for three days in aprill 2012,my second visit,it is a great place to stay,clean and in a brilliant location with fantastic views over the blue city.the staff friendly and helpfull especially shiva who took us on a visit to the bishnoi village that was realy interesting.i would recomend this hotel to anyone and cant wait to go back. rachel and alice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelTunbridgewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

There have been lots of great reviews on here but I have to say I found it quite disappointing. Very much on the backpacker route and catered to that market, though guidebooks describe it as a boutique hotel in an old haveli. Unlike other places we stayed in a similar price bracket, this was less boutique hotel and more backpacker central.

The menu was depressingly European and the Indian food had no description next to it so few people were eating Indian food.

As others have said their pricing is disingenuous to say the least. They offered to help us with our onward travel plans - and then charged a 60% commission. Outrageous. No other hotel (we stayed at 8 in total) charged anything like that. Three charged no commission at all and others charged between 20 and 40%.

Also, for the price they charged for the luxury rooms we would have expected a loo that flushed, a shower that worked without having to have a hand free to hold the hose upright to stop it kinking and sheets that weren't stained. None were particularly big problems but enough to be a bit offputting. As was the staff all sleeping on the mats that people sit and eat from in the dining room - I'd suggest sitting at a table.

It's a shame that this didn't live up to the information we had seen about the hotel and such a shame to feel scammed for the taxi commission, especially as most indians we came across were lovely and genuinely helpful - though these people appear genuine and helpful, their 'help' will come at a hefty price - which left a sour taste in our mouths.

All in all, I'd look elsewhere. The short walk to the fort doesn't justify the price/scamming service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jack007jodhpur, Owner at Singhvi's Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thanks for the review posted by the guest...and sorry that u were not fully satisfied of the stay here...But we will also like clear a few thing for the future guests..Firstly we never advertise ourself as a boutique hotel anywhere whether its our website or anywhere else..this is just a normal family run guest house..so kindly plz don,t expect all the modern ammenities..as its more then 500 years old house so we have to adjust wid the available space and its not possible to have a proper shower in all the rooms coz of the pressure problem so some of our rooms are with hand showers.we thing the guest writing the review had some very different expectations and thought this is a 2 or 3 star hotel rather then a guest house.which is not fair on both sides..about the staff sleeping on the matts firstly there are changed everyday and we r always been appreciated for our cleanliness by the guest..but again as we said its not a hotel so we also don,t have servant quarters..and staff are also human beings.and not untouchables.so the guest writes that just avoid sitting on the floor..This is INDIA and these things are very common unless u r only supporting the star hotels.and not getting used to of real INDIA..
About the car taxi booking this is very shocking as the guest say that they were charged 60%
above the actual price this is impossible in this generation as every information and prices are so easily available through internet and guide books and everything.we think only a deff or a blind person will book a taxi on a price over 60% than the actual meaning for a example a car drop to udaipur is uaually 3000 and the guest mean to say they paid over 6000 this is just hopeless..we hope the guest reads this review back again and understand what we mean to say..its been over 10 years we have been running this place very proffesstionally , honestly and successfully.... and .wish to continue the same..in future..and provide are best services to the guests....
sincerely
ARPAN SINGHVI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and really loved it! It is located perfectly, because its a 5 minutes walk to the quiet back entrance of the fort. The haveli has a nice lounge area with pillows on the ground. our room was at the ground floor and felt sometimes molty because it had only one window, neverless the staff and food was excellent and the free wifi a big plus!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

You can capture a bit of living history by staying here - the haveli has been in the owner's family for over 400 years - the rooms are beautiful, if somewhat dark (we stayed in a first floor suite with gorgeous mosaics and coloured glass). The cafe serves decent vegetarian food at reasonable prices, and the old fort is practically right behind you. However what really stood out about Singhvi's Haveli was the service. The owner/manager Arpan was extremely patient and unfailingly helpful - from assisting us in booking train tickets, to hunting down my mobile phone which I lost in a tuk tuk (no small task, and he really did avert a minor disaster as all my trip photos and travel info had been saved on my phone, not to mention contacts etc), to recommending good places to eat, to ensuring that his guests did not get ripped off... the rest of the staff were always friendly and obliging, and all in all we had a great experience. Many thanks Arpan and team!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLee987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Singvi's Haveli is definitely a cross between a mini boutique hotel and family owned haveli; the most ornately decorated room I have ever stayed in!! And parts of it actually matched some of the decor at the Mehrangarth Fort. The fort can be seen from the roof along with a panoramic view of the blue city! We spent a few nights here while checking out Jodhpur, and were pleasantly surprised by the calming lounge area and hot water! The attendants at the lounge/restaurant were either there or not... sometimes we had to wait ten minutes or more for someone to come back to take or order; but why stress with that amazing view and fast wifi! Spending Diwali here was amazing as we were able to wander around through the streets of the blue city mingling with local families and then sit on the roof top and enjoy everyones individual firework displays! Diwali in India is a must and the location and views from Singhvi's made it so much more unique!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoatLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.5 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,005 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,239 reviews
2.7 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mandore Guest House.
Mandore Guest House.
#8 of 95 in Jodhpur
431 reviews
2.4 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#4 of 95 in Jodhpur
988 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kothi Heritage
The Kothi Heritage
#3 of 193 in Jodhpur
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singhvi's Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singhvi's Haveli

Address: Navchokiya, Ramdeo Ji ka chowk, | Ramdeo Ji ka chowk, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: $13 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Singhvi's Haveli 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Singhvi's Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singhvi`s Haveli Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing