We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Indrashan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rawat Vatika(Jodhpur)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
176
20
6
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
20
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestshome away from homehome stayindian cookingbreakfasts were greattheir beautiful homewelcoming hostscomfortable homestayfamily portraitsfood cookedtook care of all our needsbed and breakfastcentral courtyardvillage toursmall guest housetuk tukvisiting jodhpur
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 205 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is by far the best place to stay in Jodhpur. The house is big and peaceful, the rooms are super comfortable and the family is very friendly. I would absolutely recommend having at least dinner at the house since is very tasty and plentiful. The downside was that we wanted to take a cooking class and we didn´t ask how much it would cost (Chandra, the owner, wasn´t very clear about it either) and ended up being more expensive that the room rate. But that was our fault for being too trusting.
An important tip: the house is quite far from the old tower, which is great because you are in a very clean, quiet area, but keep in mind that you should not stay until very late in the clock tower area because it won´t be easy to get a tuk tuk to take you back to the house. At around 9.00 pm the city becomes deserted.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memilandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We unfortunately only spent one night here, but were not disappointed. Firstly it is the family home, you walk into their living room with all their memorabilia and family portraits and photos.
Secondly our hosts actually sit down with you over drinks and snacks to get to know you and you can really get to know more about India and Jodhpur.. Thirdly, dinner is superb, undoubtedly the best I have had in India so far, nothing competes with home cooking and that personal touch.
The rooms are small but beautifully furnished, showers hot and bathrooms spotless.
There were a few long term residents, and I can see why - the only problem would be putting one a lot of extra kilos with the delicious food served every day.

Room Tip: Any rooms seem to have been fine - all were quirkily furnished and personalised with small touches. Some lead off the courtyard where meals are served and could be noisy if you want to sleep in.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brysc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed at this splendid place a couple of years ago, finding it so apealing I felt I could not go back to India without a visit to Indrashan. Bhavna and Chandrashekar, my hosts, welcomed me so warmly; like a long lost friend! Their hospitality is stupendous in every way.
Indrashan is near the main part of Jodhpur and also convenient for sightseeing of various nearby towns, forts and palaces. Chandrashekar is a mine of information regarding the many places one can visit and organises transport if required.
Having travelled around India extensively, I do feel, without a doubt, that this is one homestay I would come back to again and again. Not only are the rooms impecably clean and comfortable, the food is oustanding. Freshly cooked daily, special care is given to the delicious curries which are judiciously spiced to suit all guests' palates.
It is a friendly place, guests gather in the courtyard for a "Sundowner" every evening and exchange hints and suggestions about their sightseeing experiences.
The garden is well kept, having much greenery and a superb collection of different coloured bougainvilleas adorning the front of the house.
I feel I must come back "home" again before too long and enjoy the comfort and warm friendship extended by such lovely people.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, Indrashan being in a quiet location. Hot showers are available at any time.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatajiReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I first discovered Indrashan in 1999 and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. It is simply the best homestay I have ever stayed in. When I walk through the bougainvillea framed front gate I instantly feel at home. Chandra and Bhavna are warm, generous and attentive hosts and extend the warmest of welcomes. Nothing is too much trouble for them to ensure that their guests have a memorable stay.
Indrashan is situated in a quiet neighbourhood of Jodhpur only a few minutes by tuk tuk from the hustle and bustle of the old bazaars. Bhavna can summon up a tuk tuk for guests within minutes. The house is surrounded by a lush flower filled garden, the bedrooms are spotless, comfortable asnd tastefully furnished, the food is delicious (Bhavna wins the gong for the best meal eaten in India, and the staff are always smiling and helpful. The roof terrace is the perfect place for unwinding after a busy day's sightseeing and in the evening guests meet in the courtyard to enjoy a sundowner, a delicious dinner and to swap stories of their travels. Many a friendship has been cemented in the courtyard under a starlit sky.
A true gem - please don't miss it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is the fourth time I have stayed at Indrashan and the charm of this homestay far surpasses any 5 star hotel. The hosts, Bhavna and Chandra, care greatly for their guests with their warm and generous hospitality. The Indian cuisine here is delicious and I have had great pleasure in following a cookery course given by Bhavna. I would highly recommend this to anyone as it is a lot of fun and the dishes are not difficult to prepare. The members of staff have an excellent team spirit and always happy to oblige especially when asked to prepare Bhavna's delicious "masala chai" at sometimes very inconvenient moments! Although Indrashan is situated out of town, this is not a problem as tuk-tuks can easily be organised and, if necessary, directions can be given to the driver. Another highlight at Indrashan is dining in the courtyard where the guests meet and socialise exchanging stories and the adventures they have had during their time in India. Guests exchange email addresses and new friendships are made. Indrashan is a truly magical place and I have always cherished my stay there. It is a great privilege and very special to stay in an Indian home and I very much appreciate this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room downstairs, if stairs are a problem.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews