We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real home from home”
Review of Indrashan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indrashan
Ranked #8 of 190 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“a real home from home”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Indrashan is a wonderfully warm, hospitable calm oasis - a perfect place to stay whilst travelling in Rajasthan. Chandrashekhar & Bhavna Singh are kind and generous hosts - nothing is too much trouble for them. Wonderful food is provided by Bhavna and her staff and should you want to learn how to make it yourself that can be arranged. Chandrashekhar is a knowledable guide and a font of all knowledge for local details. The rooms are comfortable, as is the whole property. There are plenty of opportunitieis to get to know your fellow guests or equally places where you can sit quietly by yourslef. Sunset on the roof listening to the birds roosting in the bougainvillea is the most amazing experience We first stayed here in 1999 and have been back a further 4 times since then - a visit to India can not be contemplated without a visit to Indrashan.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkB93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    17
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
53
36
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very friendly and comfortable stay in this modern haveli. My room was very quiet, being located on the top floor. My only regret is that the haveli was a little bit further away from the old town than I would have liked.

Room Tip: Upper floor if you look for quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GigiWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were in Jodhpur for two days and stayed at Indrashan. Mr. and Mrs. Singh were very nice and accomodating. Though I have always stayed in haveli turned to hotels, this was probably my first stay in a house in Jodhpur. Our room was small yet better than the other ones on the terrace. The food was good but more made to the taste of the foreigners. Even though the servants would say no if you asked for something (I asked for tea!) but a request to the lady directly would help.
Overall the stay was okay. The room was clean and they made the bed when were out. So, all that was fine. However, I would like to mention that the house is definitely not child friendly. It has too many crystals and glass items around and that too dusty. So, I would recommend this place to mostly couples and backpackers, though they might find this a bit more expensive than hotels in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netra80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our hosts were charming, the breakfast was good (especially eaten in the Courtyard) but our ground floor rooms (we had 2) were very poor and not like the pictures posted by other travellers. Our room was cramped and full of nick nacks that all dusty. Our bathroom was dingy and old. In the three night stay our rooms were not cleaned. We shouldn't have to ask! It put us off homestays.

Room Tip: Not on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlicanteMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandraraoti, Owner at Indrashan, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on our Indrashan Homestay which we very much appreciate and these will help us to improve ourselves as well as our functioning.
The Ground Floor Rooms are the original ones built in 1962 and therefore they were built as per the fashion/design of those days. They did not have attached bath/toilet and so we made them all with attached both/toilet plus all the basic modern facilities like hot/cold running water, Western style WCs, Showers etc. We tried and changed/added as much as was possible and tried to make these rooms as comfortable as possible.
We are surprised your rooms were not cleaned ?? This never happens as we do a daily clean-up of all the rooms and how yours got left out is beyond our imagination. However, we believe it supposedly did happen and our apologies for that.
Regarding the dust, we have a Room Boy whose only job is to dust and clean all articles, doors, windows and others. Perhaps he was off those days and the dust accumulated. Very are sorry for that too.
We do hope you did enjoyed your stay with us inspite of these shortcomings ? But we once again apologise for these which has made us more careful to look after future guests. Thank you also for enlightening us about our shortcomings and be assured of remidial actions.
Thank you and warm wishes from

BHAVNA & CHANDRASHEKHAR SINGH,
Indrashan,
Jodhpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

It was great to be here. The hosts - Chandrashekhar Singh and Bhawna Singh are extremely courteous and one feels as if at home. The surrounding area is calm and quite. Though is located a bit away from the city one can find autorockshaws at a walking distance. The hosts can also arrange for an autorickshaw if needed. Breakfast is fine and one can have lunch and dinner as well. The room was very clean and spacious. They have car parking facility as well which is a positive part. Overall, a great place to stay at Jodhpur!

Room Tip: If traveling with child, room upstairs (alongside the main building) is good as it is spacious with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allgreatideas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Pros:

Warm family and great interaction with guests over shared dinner & breakfasts

Exceptionally clean room and bathroom

Delicious food

Cons:

In a quiet but suburban part of town so you'll need rickshaws to get around.

Relatively pricey, which reflects the posh neighbourhood. Backpackers might want to find somewhere cheaper once they've factored in travel and dinner costs here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateNickO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Indrashan was exactly the type of experience that we were hoping for during our stay in India. I can't say enough positive.

Indrashan and the Singhs were a complete delight. Food was stupendous. Hospitality was warm and genuine. Our room was very comfortable. The fellow guests were interesting and interactive. I would highly recommend future guests to stay at Indrashan. Jodhpur is definitely worth a visit. 2-3 nights would be a good amount of time.

Room Tip: We had the room over the garage area. The room was spacious and private. The bed was very firm as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.3 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Inn Season
Hotel Inn Season
#34 of 95 in Jodhpur
138 reviews
2.0 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#5 of 95 in Jodhpur
979 reviews
2.0 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 190 in Jodhpur
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indrashan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indrashan

Property: Indrashan
Address: 593 High Court Colony | nr Senapati House, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Indrashan 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bhavna and Chandra run a genuine homestay in a quiet neighborhood, close to all the sites and the Old City. We have 10 single, twin and double rooms. All rooms have air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms. Internet and laundry services are available. Dinner with the family is always recommended to sample home-cooked cuisine.The family are happy to arrange sight-seeing trips and assist with bookings of transport and further accommodation. Arrival and departure transfers are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Indrashan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indrashan Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing