We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, fine and excellent”
Review of Govind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Govind Hotel
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This hotel is a must, when visiting Jodhpur. The rooms are different, but all very interesting. The restaurant on top is situated very beautiful and have good and cheap food, nice and friendly serving. Hotel and restaurant can be recommended for singles, for couples and families.
The manager and staff very helpful, good spirit and humor. You feel welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on top are the best, in the morning with a view to the castle. Be sure and book before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henning E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thanks you for the small but great writeup. We are a small budget hotel with a warm welcome, the best of services which you get in the best of hotels. Thanks, jaggi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 519 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

Govind is very conveniently located a couple of minutes' walk from the railway station. After booking in advance, I was offered the "walking pickup" from the station, a very James Bond affair in which contact is made surreptitiously by means of a flashed name sign, and you silently follow the manager out of the station without talking. The station police have been giving the Govind staff hassle, mistaking them for touts, hence the need for the secret agent style procedure - which I enjoyed immensely!

The hotel was very nice, clean and comfortable, with a wonderful little roof terrace cafe/restaurant, which has a great view of Meherangarh Fort. Well, of half of Meherangarh Fort - unfortunately, the other half is obscured by a huge billboard of Amitabh Bachchan advertising cement.

The staff are friendly and extremely helpful, and gave me lots of good advice for places to sort out a few different errands I had. The Bishnoi village tour, arranged by the hotel, was a highlight of my visit to Jodhpur is recommended. Overall, great value and a very pleasant, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thephenocryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Yes, officially we are not allowed for a pick up from inside the station, from the train, so we request the guests to just see the sign board and walk with our man. It becomes very easy for the guest and us, since a walking pick up of 5 minutes is always a better deal then paying the tuk tuk rs 30 to 40 with all the hassle. We try to give you our best in all possible ways. Thanks for a beautiful write up, jaggi. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights and really enjoyed our time here. Jaggi and his family work hard to run the hotel and restaurant on the roof. We were met at the station and walked to the hotel, nice touch especially after being on an overnight train and leaving the station to a gaggle of drivers and touts, a la Indian style. Our room was large and had what we needed. Wifi was an added small charge - I think we paid 100 rupees per day. We sat and chatted with Jaggi, his family and other guests at the restaurant and was a nice place to spend an evening. Thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anamariebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thanks for the write up. Yes of course our roof top is a meeting place for many tourists and also an transit place for many guests. Jaggi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have stay at this hotel 5 or 6 times over the last 20 years. It is across from the train station and easy to find. Very convenient if you're taking the early train to Jaisalmer or Jaipur. The rooms are clean and good value. The food at the rooftop restaurant is very good and you can have a beer with your meal. Jaggi, the owner, works hard to keep the standards up and makes sure that you have a good stay. On my last visit, I mentioned to him the various times I had stayed there like the night a storm brought down the overhang of the rooftop restaurant, or the day India shut down business during the Gujarat riots to cool things off. He was truly appreciative that I've stayed with him when I came to Jodhpur as he does his best to run a good hotel. I don't think you can find a more convenient, better run budget hotel in Jodhpur. Thank you, Jaggi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you Richard, excellent. I feel very will happy when customers repeat their stay with us. I was also very happy when you told me the instances when you had stayed with me. Next visit to my hotel, Richard, first day free. Thanks, jaggi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Govind Hotel has just a touching distance from jodhpur Railway Station.Rooms are good but the standard rooms are little bit smaller.The hotel owner Jaggi Uncle is a sweet person.The BISHNOI Tour organised by him is best.We saw lots of peacocks,eagle,black bucks,deers,nilgai etc around bishnoi village.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SouravAudit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thanks for write up. Yes our standard rooms are small but very clean and nice. Our Bishnoi trips have always been exciting. Thanks, jaggi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was near of railway station and Great location On the road . Feel like that hotel home . ThEy also free wi fi available in the room and reception . Great roof top view from fort and clock tower .also staff was friendly and helpful I will highly recommended that hotel ......... ursha ..

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank urshkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thanks for a short and sweet write up, a few words really meant, means a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The hotel is bang opposite to the railway station therefore extremely convenient for those coming in/leaving by train. Even for those flying in, Jodhpur is such a small city, it took me barely 15 minutes to get to the hotel!

Rooms- The room was very clean and had all basic necessities. Nothing to complain about. Also, easily available hot water, which is a super must for me in cold cities! This comes as a rarity in budget hotels most times and therefore brought a huge smile on my face!
Staff- Extremely helpful and warm.
Food- The restaurant is a nice cozy rooftop setup with a view of the fort.
Overall experience- Very good!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinita2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thanks, yes we not only have hot water which might be a rare in budget hotels but we have all the facilities of a star hotel, with a smiling welcome. Thanks for write up, jaggi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel AR Excellency
Hotel AR Excellency
#23 of 96 in Jodhpur
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marwar Hotel & Gardens
0.2 mi away
Shanti Bhawan Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mandore Guest House.
Mandore Guest House.
#8 of 96 in Jodhpur
435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leela Villas Guest House Jodhpur
1.6 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#4 of 96 in Jodhpur
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Govind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Govind Hotel

Address: In Front Of Main Gpo, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jodhpur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#9 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#9 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range: $12 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Govind Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Govind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Govind Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing