We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great roof terrace”
Review of Govind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Govind Hotel
Ranked #15 of 99 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great roof terrace”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights and really enjoyed our time here. Jaggi and his family work hard to run the hotel and restaurant on the roof. We were met at the station and walked to the hotel, nice touch especially after being on an overnight train and leaving the station to a gaggle of drivers and touts, a la Indian style. Our room was large and had what we needed. Wifi was an added small charge - I think we paid 100 rupees per day. We sat and chatted with Jaggi, his family and other guests at the restaurant and was a nice place to spend an evening. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anamariebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thanks for the write up. Yes of course our roof top is a meeting place for many tourists and also an transit place for many guests. Jaggi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    196
    42
    8
    14
See reviews for
88
178
89
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daegu, South Korea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have stay at this hotel 5 or 6 times over the last 20 years. It is across from the train station and easy to find. Very convenient if you're taking the early train to Jaisalmer or Jaipur. The rooms are clean and good value. The food at the rooftop restaurant is very good and you can have a beer with your meal. Jaggi, the owner, works hard to keep the standards up and makes sure that you have a good stay. On my last visit, I mentioned to him the various times I had stayed there like the night a storm brought down the overhang of the rooftop restaurant, or the day India shut down business during the Gujarat riots to cool things off. He was truly appreciative that I've stayed with him when I came to Jodhpur as he does his best to run a good hotel. I don't think you can find a more convenient, better run budget hotel in Jodhpur. Thank you, Jaggi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you Richard, excellent. I feel very will happy when customers repeat their stay with us. I was also very happy when you told me the instances when you had stayed with me. Next visit to my hotel, Richard, first day free. Thanks, jaggi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Govind Hotel has just a touching distance from jodhpur Railway Station.Rooms are good but the standard rooms are little bit smaller.The hotel owner Jaggi Uncle is a sweet person.The BISHNOI Tour organised by him is best.We saw lots of peacocks,eagle,black bucks,deers,nilgai etc around bishnoi village.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouravAudit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks for write up. Yes our standard rooms are small but very clean and nice. Our Bishnoi trips have always been exciting. Thanks, jaggi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was near of railway station and Great location On the road . Feel like that hotel home . ThEy also free wi fi available in the room and reception . Great roof top view from fort and clock tower .also staff was friendly and helpful I will highly recommended that hotel ......... ursha ..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urshkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks for a short and sweet write up, a few words really meant, means a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The hotel is bang opposite to the railway station therefore extremely convenient for those coming in/leaving by train. Even for those flying in, Jodhpur is such a small city, it took me barely 15 minutes to get to the hotel!

Rooms- The room was very clean and had all basic necessities. Nothing to complain about. Also, easily available hot water, which is a super must for me in cold cities! This comes as a rarity in budget hotels most times and therefore brought a huge smile on my face!
Staff- Extremely helpful and warm.
Food- The restaurant is a nice cozy rooftop setup with a view of the fort.
Overall experience- Very good!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinita2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thanks, yes we not only have hot water which might be a rare in budget hotels but we have all the facilities of a star hotel, with a smiling welcome. Thanks for write up, jaggi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I'll start with everything that was good with Govind.
We were picked up from the station to be walked back to the hotel! Although the man who walked us didn't say a word and wasn't the most welcoming, fair enough it was getting late, still a good touch.
The room itself was clean. Sheets were fine, bathroom, not spotless but definitely a level of cleanliness. The room we had was small but them we opted for the cheapest option (more in a moment).
The restaurant up on the roof was brilliant! Probably our favourite thing about Govind. Big tasty thalis at good prices all in view of the epic fort.
Location was good for the train station and a rickshaw from the sites, no problems there!
Also despite our unfriendly pick up the rest of the staff at govind were lovely, very honest and helpful and in some ways I feel a little bad writing this review but I have to be honest.
In terms of price this room was not good value at all compared to elsewhere in Rajasthan. We paid 750R a night for a room that was dark, very small, pretty loud ( not that it bothered us much). There were some lovely spacious rooms here that we saw through open doors. Unforunately on our budget we couldn't upgrade. We paid 250r's less in Jaisalmer even less in places like udaipur and pushkar and stayed in nicer more spacious rooms. We were just expecting a little more considering the price.
I would reccomend Govind but I'd probably say go for one of the nicer rooms and pay a little more. At the price we paid for our room it just wasn't good value.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Oliver, officially we can send our pick man up only outside the railway station. We are not allowed to send anybody to the platform for a pick up. My man only will show you the sign board and you have to follow him, he will not even hello you. He will also keep a distance while he is walking. If we are caught by the railway police talking to any tourists inside the station, we have lot of problems and also have to pay a fine. Thank you for appreciating my staff. Regarding our rates, yes we charge according to the rates prevailing at the station road in Jodhpur. We are a clean hotel with all the facilities which rarely a budget hotel has. Thanks for a honest and a clean write up. Jaggi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Warm, honest and helpful staff. Clean rooms, reliably functioning hot shower (not always so in other hotels!), and WiFi in the lobby and restaurant areas. Great value and highly recommended! Would definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MargaretSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thanks, that's what i need, a small and a clean write up. People going with a happy smile when leaving. Thanks, jaggi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
4.5 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#9 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shanti Bhawan Heritage Hotel
1.2 mi away
Leela Villas Guest House Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
3.8 mi away
Bijolai Palace-A Treehouse Palace Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Govind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Govind Hotel

Property: Govind Hotel
Address: In Front Of Main Gpo, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jodhpur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#9 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#10 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Govind Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Govind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Govind Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing