We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Customer Service”
Review of Govind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Govind Hotel
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Service”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I don't like to give a terrible rating especially when the owner is a nice guy, however i just don't understand how TripAdvisor manages to give this hotel such a good rating!?
The customer service we witnessed during our stay at the Govind was absolutely shocking, the owner Jaggi was the only person who spoke to us through-out our stay, not even a goodbye from the staff when we left after our 3 night stay.
There is a restaurant on the terrace, which is eatable at best, though better not to look in the kitchen before eating there!! The customer service again in the restaurant is dreadful not even a hello or even a word throughout our entire meal..
The rooms are of reasonable size, but old and dirty. The walls are full of brown stains, the air conditioning wasn't working and the mattress was slim and dirty, the kind of bed you prefer not to lay on. The bed sheets didn't seem very white neither. TV not working on our first night and electricity came on & off on its own accord! Bathroom was in no better condition than the room.
The room was a cheap price, however we found that there are some very good hotels in the vicinity that were offering even cheaper rates.
All in all the rooms are acceptable but, when it counts, the service is the worst we have experienced in India!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 23Baker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Baker, never expected such a review from a good friend like you. Readers of tripadvisor i would like to point out that the room was booked with the title "Cheapest Room". When our guest arrived our standard rooms which we sell for rs 750/ were busy and we offered a deluxe room which has an air con, but since the booking was for a standard room which is without the air condition, we did not start it. Mr Baker you asked my son and my son told you that the air con room would cost rs 950/ which you were never ready to pay since you wanted the cheapest room or the best room for a throw away price. Coming to the brown stains, i am very sorry that you have lied, there were no brown stains, yes but since it had rained heavily 2 days back, the wall was a bit wet which you call brown stains. Coming to the TV part of your story, i am very much astonished that inspite of my son telling that there was construction work going on in the neighborhood and that the cable connection was cut for a day, you have complained. Its a pity that my other customers adjusted without any complain and you complained. Now the beds, you should have told me since you had become so friendly to me that the mattresses were not up to your satisfaction i would have changed them. I am sorry to say that you found so many wrong things and you never mentioned it to me. I think Mr Baker you were expecting a 5 star hotel for a petty amount of rs 600/. Thank God for writing that at least the owner Jaggi is friendly, but what is the friendship worth when you cannot advise us what best we can do to improve. I just want to bring this to your notice dear readers that Govind Hotel is a budget, don't expect too much but we are a family run hotel with all the facilities which you get in the best of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    197
    43
    8
    16
See reviews for
89
179
91
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had a lovely stay at Govind hotel. Great value for money. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant served up great food. Our favourite part was the cooking lesson with Lavi. She taught us three curries, parantha, pakoda and a lassi. She was very thorough and taught us about all the spices and adjusted the meals to suit us. Great stay. Great location as its walking distance to train station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thanks a lot for a short and sweet write up. Lavi, my daughter in law is very agile with the hotel work, always talking to the customers and helping them with their needs. Her passion is cooking from childhood and thanks for appreciating her cooking class. Thanks, jaggi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Extremely sad how TripAdvisor manages to show a 5 rating for this hotel inspite of the very bad experiences of many guests. I did not have a good internet connection on my way and picked this hotel meerly on the rating without going through the reviews.

To be fair, the owners of the hotel were very good and obliging gentlemen. They promptly arranged for 'hangers' when we asked and also cut the tariff by half when we left the room because of the heavily leaking roof and windows. But the infrastructure itself is very poor. Later when we walked out of the hotel after staying awake the whole night to manage the water dripping on the bed from the electrical connection, we found that some very good hotels in the vicinity were offering the same price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pbachu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I am running this hotel since the last 20 years with 100% hard work and honesty. People expect some times too much. You wanted an air condition room and we had all of them booked. This was the only big room free which we offered you after you bargained with us and later due to some heavy rains that night, there was some leakage in this room which has never happened since the last 20 years. We had given you the room for rs 1000/ an off season rate, due to the leakage we gave you rs 500/ back. Looks like you wanted all the money back that's why you have complained about us. Also readers please read this when we offered this customer of ours the room there was no leakage, only after the rain the leakage started. I am very sorry about you quoting zero rating. We give our customers, fresh linen, fresh towels, toilet rolls, soap, we have wi-fi, LCD's in the rooms, as you mentioned we are obliging, i don't know what else you were expecting from a budget hotel liker ours. We have a beautiful roof top restaurant working 24 X 7, sometimes offering tea and coffee in the morning at 5 am also. Let the readers also read our feed back to this customer of ours, who expect a 5 star luxury for a mere rs 500/.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

After a long train journey the short walk to Govind from the station is perfect. Jaggi the owner is really friendly and helpful, always on hand to answer any questions. We took a cooking lesson with his daughter, luvvi, which was superb and highly recommended. A real Indian experience that we can take home with us, that made a change from forts and palaces - and kept us out of the heat for a couple of hours!
We also did the Bishnoi village tour which was v interesting, the jeep ride was good fun and gave us a bit of a taste of village life out in the countryside.
Thanks Govind, Jess & Charlie

Room Tip: Stayed in the room on the roof top - "Golden hut" which was awesome. There are also really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks a lot for appreciating our cooking class, our jeep tour and of course jaggi. Thanks for the awesome write up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in the Govind and would recommend it. Tidy hotel, nice clean rooms. The owner, Jaggi is very helpful and replies promptly to emails which is very useful when travelling. A free walking pick up was offered which was a great help. I would recommend staying here if you are in Jodhpur

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomcope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you, Tom. I hope you had a good journey from here to Udaipur. Thanks for the write up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at govind because of its convenient location right near the train station, and also in the heart of jodhpur. The rooms were clean, no hot water in the shower, so many tv channels, ac cranked and the restaurant was cheap and tasty. Staff were very friendly too. Overall a good stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ijumparound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for the good write up. I am sorry since May, June, July it is very warm and we don't start our hot water systems. Only in winters we offer hot water. Thank you for mentioning about our tasty food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a very fine budget hotel with a nice rooftop restaurant that has an impressive view of the fort. Conveniently located to all major points of interest, the hotel is made better by a helpful staff and great owner, Jaggi, who is extremely friendly and helpful. Recommended and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregandGuylaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the write up and appreciating our helpful and friendly nature, jaggi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Marwar Hotel & Gardens
3.2 mi away
Hotel AR Excellency
Hotel AR Excellency
#22 of 95 in Jodhpur
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bijolai Palace-A Treehouse Palace Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#8 of 95 in Jodhpur
429 reviews
1.6 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Govind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Govind Hotel

Property: Govind Hotel
Address: In Front Of Main Gpo, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jodhpur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#9 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#9 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Govind Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Govind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Govind Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing