We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in good location”
Review of Govind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Govind Hotel
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is really close to railway station so it is easy to find it. In the beginning you may think that it is weird place, while in fact it's quite cosy. Food in the restaurant is tasty. The rooms are quite clean but the towels could be cleaner. Check them before using.

Room Tip: We had a room on the rooftop. Quite good - to be honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkadiusz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for a simple but good write up. Thank you for warning me about the towels. We always give fresh towels to our customers, may be the towels given had some stains which the laundry man could not wash properly. I am sorry but will surely check on this. Thanks, jaggi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 519 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed in the dorm at the Govind hotel in Jodhpur... Its good value for money and has clean bathrooms.. Good idea to ask them to clean and dust the bed you select. Carry your own small lock to lock the locker assigned to you in the drom...The owner and his son Sohel are really freindly and helpful... being a single lady traveler, i felt safe and comfortable.. The roof top restaurant is excellent and the food is really good. Their Rajasthani thali is very good... I would have liked it if the dorm was better lit.. The auto driver Sameer who was arranged by the hotel was very friendly and willing to take you where you want... Better to hire him to show you the fort (he'll wait while you go see it), clock tower, garden and while you do your shopping.. He took me home for tea and to visit his family!
The Bishnoi village trip was an excellent half day visit the hotel arranged.. you can get the per head price knocked down a lilttle if there are more people to share the car. 3-4 people is best..

Room Tip: Value for money and a great restaurant.. Serves beer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildchildinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thanks for the huge and fabulous write up. Thanks for appreciating our awesome food, we always make good food since my son and my daughter in law are involved in the kitchen. Thanks for the write up of the village tour, we show you all the places in the village and offer food towards the end.
About the light in the dorm, i shall definitely lit it more very soon. Thanks, jaggi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

On arrival at Jodhpur railway station, the owner's son Sohel, picked us up. Our deluxe room was spacious and neat. When we entered our room, it had a bad smell and they had all windows open with fans on to clear it out. I think it is probably because the building is old and the location/surroundings are bad. The owner and his son take extra care to make sure you feel at home, provide genuine advice and help you in every aspect. Their roof top restaurant is nice and served good food. We enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaiHindBala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Sir, thanks for the write up. Magnificent write up. We have taken care of the smell, putting Air Wick room fresheners. We have them now in the passage and also the room in which you stayed. Also we take care of the reviews which our customers send to the Tripadvisor and act accordingly. We want to remain a budget with all the star facilities. Thanks for the write up, jaggi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself was beautifully decorated and the rooms were pretty good except we didn't have a window and the drains were a bit smelly - could do with some bleach or something! The roof top terrace was beautiful and the woman that sometimes worked up there was really really lovely but unfortunately the our stay was tainted by the somewhat 'abrupt and rude manager' which is a real shame!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anossaviagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place was a nice place to spend a few nights. Positives: We arrived at 5am and yet they let us into our room to sleep and wash up for the day ahead! Hot water wasn't working but they fixed it within a few hours! Room was huge and very clean. Bathroom also a good size with good hot water. We also had our own balcony over the street which was nice. The rooftop restaurant had a view to the fort with a good menu. Able to organise a tour for us. The boss is really friendly and helpful, even taking the time to learn our names! Negatives: while the boss was friendly, most of the other staff were quite rude. The rooms on the street are noisy. Our tour was meant to be a full-day visiting a rural village and family with some temples and a sunset camel ride. Instead we got a quick view of the temples then 4-hours of camel riding around in circles through the "desert". We were very sore after this!!! This is not really a criticism of the hotel however and we would have no hesitation to recommend this accommodation.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for the write up. I am sorry you didn't like the tour. We usually organize this tour in 2 days. The Bishnoi village tour takes almost 5 hours and then the next day for the camel track in Osiyan. If this tour is done in a single day then it becomes hectic and we have to do it a bit faster then if you would have done it on different days. I m very thankful to you for the write up and also apologies for the behavior of the staff since they understand less English. I am happy you liked the hotel.Thanks, jaggi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel has a very good location, close to the railway station. After only ten minutes walking, you are in the old city centre. They have nice clean rooms with good bathroomfacilities and their rooftoprestaurant serves food of excellent quality. Friendly staff and a very nice and helpful hotelmanager. One point of critique: The hotel organizes trips to the bishnoi villages, but these were a littlebit disappointing. It's also possible that we were just expecting too much.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wimmer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We arrived Jodhpur by train around 11pm and Govind is only 5 to 7 minutes by foot from the station. At first I was not too impress by the smell, set up and the noise (since it is right by the main road). Once we got into our room, it was quiet and the room is pretty clean. The shower is seriously one of the best I have experienced in India, especially at this price point. The pressure is excellent and the water is hot..
The next morning, we had breakfast on its nice rooftop restaurant. The muslin comes with fresh fruits.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sliutsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thanks for the beautiful write up. We have clean toilets with great hot water showers, there has been no complain about the hot shower at all. Secondly our breakfast is always great since we make all food fresh. Thanks for the write up, jaggi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel AR Excellency
Hotel AR Excellency
#23 of 96 in Jodhpur
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marwar Hotel & Gardens
0.2 mi away
Shanti Bhawan Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mandore Guest House.
Mandore Guest House.
#8 of 96 in Jodhpur
435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leela Villas Guest House Jodhpur
1.6 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#4 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Govind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Govind Hotel

Address: In Front Of Main Gpo, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jodhpur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#9 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#9 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range: $12 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Govind Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Govind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Govind Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing