We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TAKE THE COOKING CLASS TOO! Yum!”
Review of Govind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Govind Hotel
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“TAKE THE COOKING CLASS TOO! Yum!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a great time at govind, it's Colourful, quaint and the staff are lovely. The cooking class was excellent with lavi- will be recommending to our friends! Thank you! She let us choose what we wanted to learn and it was very hands on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneysider01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks for awesome write up. Lavi is my daughter in law. Cooking has always been a hobby for her. She has learnt how to cook from her childhood. This has been her first season of the cooking class and we have made a separate room for the cooking class. She has a good response and will always spread her knowledge of cooking to our customers with a very nominal charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    197
    43
    8
    16
See reviews for
90
180
91
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a group of four -one double room and two beds in the dormitory.
We stayed in room number 6 and found it adequate. Two twin beds pushed together, a small bathroom/shower room with hot water and a fan (which we didn't need as was winter.) The sheets and towels were all clean and toilet paper was provided. There was a TV but we didn't use it, so can't comment on the channel selection or reception quality.
Our only complaint about the room was that there was a bad odor coming from the bathroom (probably up through the drains) into the room. It was unpleasant, but not horrible.
The rooftop cafe was wonderful...with decent food, cold beers and a nice view of the fort in the distance.
The hotel's location is ideal...right in the middle of things, across the street from the main post office and a stone's throw away from the train station. There are multiple bars and restaurants in the area as well as money changers and ATMs.
Our friends who stayed in the dorm room said that it was quite noisy (due to the street below) and that they were charged 100 rp for internet one day.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room that opens out onto the roadway, as it could be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We seemed to have one of the nicest rooms. basic and functional.
nice roof top restaurant where you can bring in your own alcohol. friendly owner.

The passage way to the rooms are a bit smelly and very dully lit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumu2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for the write up. I agree that my passage has dim lights, but this is from many years since one of customers pointed why do you have bright light in the passage. We had a tube light in the passage which we have removed because it is very bright. It was only on the request of the customers that we have fixed dim lights in the passage. Regarding the smell in the passage, we do our best to keep the place clean and tidy away from all the smell. But sometimes we do agree there are certain smells, coming from the rooms of the customers. Just recently we had a customer who use to oil extract for his medicine, when he left the full room was smalling of oil. Thanks a lot for bringing this to our notice. We will try that this does not repeat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here with my three teenage boys and we all have fond memories of our stay at the Govind Hotel.
The first thing to mention is the food. Unusually for us we found ourselves eating in the hotel at every opportunity because the food was so fantastic. The Indian Vegetarian food was out of this world and when any of us fancied something 'western' for a change it was equally good. On our travels in India, we ate in a range of restaurants (including some fancy expensive ones) and the consistently good Hotel Govind food is what we all remember. Everything was beautifully cooked and on the varied and interesting menu, they have a hot (sizzling!) chocolate desert which will go down in family folklore and which my boys regret only discovering at the end of our stay.

If you don't stay at this hotel, then make sure you eat there! The rooftop restaurant is charming although it is a complete mystery how the food can be produced in the seemingly small kitchen. (The MidTown restaurant was also a good place to eat in Jodhpur but the Govind Hotel meals were really special.)

The service in the restaurant was friendly - as good and unfussy as it was in the rest of the hotel. This is very much a family run hotel and the proprietor and the staff have a real passion and pride in the place. No request was too much trouble for them.
The rooms are clean and simple and have plenty of space. The hot water availability was not always perfect but this may be because we were in Jodhpur during a freak cold snap and the hotel was full. (We always had plenty of hot water for showers in the morning, though.)

The hotel were extremely helpful in giving advice on things like train travel and helping to arrange things.

One of the joys of the hotel is that it has the hum and activity of a real Indian hotel. This is not a hotel for someone who wants to stay in a Taj Hotel but only wants to pay a few thousand rupees a night and complains if they have to wait for a few minutes before someone carries their bags up to their rooms.

If you want a charming, friendly, simple and clean hotel conveniently located in the heart of the bustling centre of Jodhpur, then you will like the Hotel Govind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviCabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you Ravi, first of all for the holy water "LindisFarne". It wasgreat. I know we are not, 5 star, but a dream to make a budget 5 star. All hotels have some problem, no hotel will give 100% satisfaction, but we try our best to give more then that. Its my retiring business and i want to give every guest whatever is best for them. It is 20years of my Govind Hotel, but hope to live lively for the next coming years. I, jaggi will always be ready to help any customer coming at my door even if they don't stay with me. Thanks a lot for such a huge and beautiful write up. Govind Hotel is a family run hotel, father and son Sohel will always keep everybody happy. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Cockroaches and lizards: not what you want to find at 11.30pm after a 10 hour train across Rajasthan. The manager who was there could not understand our discomfort at finding a cockroach on top of the TV and a lizard hiding in the curtain and still wanted to charge us the full rate for the night (over Rupees 1000). He phoned the owner who offered us the two nights we had booked for free, however we declined and left (the deluxe, superior room was falling to bits and generally poor, irrespective of the bugs). A rickshaw driver took us to Sarvar Guest House near Manak Chowk which was 10 times better with really friendly and helpful staff in a much better location (and only R700) near the clock tower and I would highly recommend that as an alternative.

Room Tip: Find one without bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldolara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are really very sorry about this. We had actually done our usual pest control which we try to do once in a month to avoid the cockroaches and the lizards. It was very unfortunate that the room which we had kept for you had a cockroach and a lizard. We have 12 rooms and there was no complain about this but it is only a rare coincidence that it had to come in the room we offered you. We are very sorry about this but thanks for making us alert for this and since that day we are very careful with this type of incidence. Sorry once again and this shall not repeat by any chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for one night here. The hotel is quite good considering the room rents. Its very near to raliway station & provide walking pickup as well. The food quality is also very good. They can arrange auto/taxi for local sight seeing as well. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prats26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank You for such a sweet and short write up. We have very decent auto drivers who take care of our customers. Walking pick up is become our hobby, whoever gives us the train no and the train coach no, we offer them a free walking pick up. Our restaurant is great with some real home made food. Thanks, once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I checked in to the hotel on 01.01.13 and will check out tomorrow morning. This hotel is ideally located in the city centre (06 to 07 minutes from the railway station) with everything within reach. Mr Jaggi, the owner is a very active, honest and genuine person. When I called Mr Jaggi for the booking, the first thing he told me was that his hotel is a budget hotel on the 2nd floor with no lift (which is actually not required as the stairs are pretty comfortable). Mr Jaggis's son Sohel is very helpful. Both of them takes extreme good care of all their guests.

01st January was my wife's birthday and Sohel took me on his bike to the nearby confectionery shop to buy the cake. A flower bonquet was also placed in our room for my wife

Mr Jaggi advised us on the sightseeing options and arranged the camel ride along with the lunch, dinner and local folk dance at Osian. Next day Sohel arranged a local auto for us to visit the Mehrangarh fort, Jaswant Thada and Umaid Bhawan Palace. Both the days the arrangements were awesome and we enjoyed thoroughly. Mr Jaggi also advised us about the local shopping options which were really very good (Raj Handicrafts and Shyam Silk).

The food at the hotel restaurant (Fort view restaurant) was excellent particularly the Aloo ka paratha. The hotel Staffs are also very helpful and focussed towards guest satisfaction. I am staying in Golden hut which is a very good room on the 03rd floor.

I have already booked Hotel Govind again for my parents who will be visiting Jodhpur in the first week of February and will strongly recommend Hotel Govind to everybody visiting Jodhpur

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirmalya12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for such an attractive write up. We do our best and you do the rest. I have no words to express my feelings for such an write up. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Marwar Hotel & Gardens
3.2 mi away
Hotel AR Excellency
Hotel AR Excellency
#20 of 96 in Jodhpur
68 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#8 of 96 in Jodhpur
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,229 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bijolai Palace-A Treehouse Palace Hotel
1.6 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#5 of 96 in Jodhpur
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Govind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Govind Hotel

Property: Govind Hotel
Address: In Front Of Main Gpo, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jodhpur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#9 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#9 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Govind Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Govind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Govind Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing