We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atrocious service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shivam Paying Guest House
Ranked #34 of 187 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Atrocious service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

After informing the hotel we would be arriving in the early morning, we were left to beat down the door to get in, and then wait nearly an hour until someone woke up to let us into a room (that didn't end up being the correct room). Management treated us with disdain. We had to chase them and nag them to check in, to ask if breakfast on the rooftop was available, and the eventually check out and escape!
We think this place is a classic case of a hotel that has been rated well by lonely planet, and now doesn't at all care about its service because it gets enough clientele anyway! The rooms were ok, the bathrooms were leaking and had no hot water in both rooms we stayed. Not worth the bother when there are plenty of other options at similar prices nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallymceniry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajendra Singh I, Manager at Shivam Paying Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your Feedback and time.I apologise for the slow service in your case. Some times because of too much workload boys become bit lazy people stay in the restaurant by 1in the morning so boys have to wait till then ands hen they go to sleep. In high season it is very busy everywhere so sometimes guest have to suffer a little but it is very seldom. So far the matter of the room we didn't charge the previous night so no one would aspect the room very early on your arrival you should thank to us that we provide a room on your arrival at free of cost.and then around 10.30 am you got your room. For the hot water you needed to waste 1-2 bucket of water then it gets hot because our hot water boiler is set on the roof top so it takes a while to get the hot water.

It is difficult to say that all other places around will not have any problem any body can understand.we provide rooms on a budget price like 300- 400 rs how it is possible to provide instant hot water electric geyser ,we would be happy if you pay twice the money for the electric hot water .Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    57
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
6
44
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hi

We have visited Jodhpur on 24th Dec 2012.
We are on a big trip (AGRA-UDAIPUR-JODHPUR-JAIPUR) from 21st Dec to 26th Dec 2012.
Being our first trip to Rajsthan, we really didnt know where to go, stay and which places to see.
We got to know everything using internet
We booked this place just before we started for the trip...Great Thanks to Tripadvisor

+ve points about Shivam

1. Well maintained Big Rooms
2. Hot Water Supply is Good
3. Very near to Mehrangarh Fort, U can C many imp places at Jodhpur from Shivam's roof top
4. Friendly Staff, Particularly Naveen - We booked through him, we told we would be reachin Jodhpur at 6am and this guy is ready for us from 5am !!! Thanks Naveen for your warm service
5. Can negotiate on tariff, based upon the time of your stay
6. Good food, Coffee here is very famous

-Ve Points of Shivam

1. Restaurant Food/Beverage prices slightly High than Normal
2. No Lift, would be difficult for older people to climb those big steps to reach Restaurant which is on 4th & 5th floors

So hope above points would suffice..
Nice place to stay for couple of days.. We didn't booked the sight seeing from the guy (Naveen) who runs the place, but i think he too can book for people who are staying there.

Overall Very Good for budgeted stay...

Room Tip: If you are travelling with luggage better to book rooms on ground & 1st floor, Steps too narrow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoolRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in Shivam for one night. It was a very cheap room, but with bathroom attached and blankets provided. It's very close to the Clock Tower, but far enough not to hear the whole noise from the center. Free wi-fi and a cheap roof-top restaurant with a great view at the Fort and the Market.

Totally recomended for budget travellers!

Room Tip: Don't forget to bargain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The location is perfect, 2 minute walking to the clock tower; staff is absent most of the day- im not sure if they'd have noticed if we left without paying. Rooms are clean but not very cosy. We stayed just one night so it was ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28martusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

The guest house is located within a stone's throw of the Clocktower, which makes it very convenient as far as location goes. The Guesthouse has very steep steps to get to the rooms, so be prepared for a tough climb every day! The room we had should have been air-cooled but sadly the unit didn't work leaving us with just a ceiling fan. Considering the temperature was well into the forties, it meant a hot and sticky night.

The Guesthouse has a rooftop restaurant with a limited menu, although does have stunning views across to the fort, and the Umaid Bhawan.

Considering the price we paid it was value for money and ideal for budget travellers.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheHappyChappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

The room was okay but the toilet smelled so bad! We were told that the room was 500 rupees, we found out that it was Cheaper.. We barely saw any of the staff.. There is no one in the reception to help you with tours etc... We order food and waited for 1 hour to get it. In the end we couldn't get one of our orders because the microwave was broken. They only had cold water but nothing else of cold beverage.. I really don't understand why it's recommend by lonely planet. I only have one thing to say: don't go there!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M2G0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochannick, Owner at Shivam Paying Guest House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear sir

I am sorry that you had some inconvenience during your stay at Shivam. You might have had information about the climatic conditions in Rajasthan. For three months april, may & june we have no tourist because of 40+ temperature or very low tourist season. Almost all the guest houses have limited service and very low rate for the rooms. After seven months of high season most of the staff tired and looking for some break. But very few people travelling in Rajasthan to save money and get advantage of low season so one can not aspect all the services offered what one gets in high season. We still serve good but in your case my family was on a trip to north india (once in a year) for 14 days to get rid of the heat of Rajasthan. It is hard for me to justify your view towards Shivam we (my family ) has made a heaven for the guest who stays with us and we put great efforts to make this place reliable and trust worthy for tourists where people feel like home and not get ripped off like in so many places. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Arrived late in Jodhpur and were happy to find a room that was clean and a good size for 400Rs.
We realised next day it was a good choice, the view from the rooftop on the fort is brilliant because it is high enough to avoid other buildings, the food was good and the owner very very friendly person.
I recommend, very good budget option!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Jodhpur Heritage Haveli
Jodhpur Heritage Haveli
#12 of 187 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hill View Guest House
Hill View Guest House
#21 of 187 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 187 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Achal Niwas Guest House
Achal Niwas Guest House
#37 of 154 in Jodhpur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
#18 of 187 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Shine Guest House
Sun Shine Guest House
#32 of 187 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivam Paying Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivam Paying Guest House

Property: Shivam Paying Guest House
Address: Makrana Mohalla, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Shivam Paying Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very centrally located near the clock tower in the old city. We have 9 traditionally decorated en-suite rooms with plenty of light and air. Our rooftop restaurant offers dazzling view of the fort and the blue city. On our menu we have Indian, continental, Italian and Chinese food and real espresso coffee. We do not promise big things but you can aspect a friendly, helpful and knowledgeable host at Shivam. Shivam paying guest house is recommended by leading guide books such as Lonely planet India,le guide du routard,le petit fute,trotter etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Shivam Paying Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shivam Paying Guest House Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing