We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Rooftop Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hare Krishna Guest House
Ranked #17 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Jodhpur
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My room at the Hare Krishna was only 400 RP a night, but I reckon that other rooms in this place might be slightly more (travellers would have to verify this themselves). In any case this guest house has the makings of a fancy hotel, and the rooftop area has fantastic view of the fort. The rooftop actually has 3 levels. including a covered area with couches and cushions.

Overall good value for money. It seems though that the majority of people are drawn towards the cheapest places, cause it was very quiet when I was there in mid January.

The staff and owner were also very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank kmansbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Hare Krishna Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 228 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this guesthouse in November 2012. The rooms seemed to be nice, except the rooms on the first floor. These are cheaper as well I suppose (well they should be), but a little on the edge.. The matrasses on the beds are very hard (and Im used to that normally), but these matrasses made my hips feel bruised.

The room was some sort of cave, with no windows, blurry light and wasn't cozy at all. The bathroom (you can hardly call it a bathroom anyway), was very small, there was no warm water & and a very dirty toilet.

Room Tip: Don't take the 2 rooms on the first floor. Unless you want to spend the night cheap, but with no...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank NaomiLako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Location is great! Right below the fort and centrally in front the fort. The fort is just a 10-15 min hike up the hill. Terrace view is great. Rooms are decent and ours had the basic amenities required. Very good if you are on budget and don't really care for too much luxury. Food is fine but the service is slow so plan accordingly :-)

staff is good and take care of customer needs without being pushy or interfering. We arrived very early in the morning and we're given a room to relax/freshen till our room was ready. We arrived much before checkin time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank animeshhazra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, I thought the Hare Krishna Guest House would be an obvious choice for staying in Jodhpur, but it has turned out to be a bit strange. I don't quite understand how it has got such good reviews.

Firstly, the guesthouse has an Ikea style one-way system. To get from certain rooms to reception, you have to either go climb upstairs to the top floor to go all the way back down again or go outside.

Secondly, the rooms aren't great. Ours was very worn, had a decent amount of dirt on the walls and had a pile of hair in the drain in the bathroom. I've got used to cleaning bathrooms in the hotels I stay in India, but I don't think anyone else had cleaned it for a good month or more. The room had 1 light that was quite dim so hid any of the other dirt we may have found

Like everywhere in India it can be quite noisy, but the vents in the room meant you truly hear everything, we found the drums and cymbals at 10pm and 5am particularly well in our room.

The rooms are cheap though and it is in a decent location, so doesn't get a 1 star. The area has fewer motorbikes, cars and rickshaws and it is easy to walk around the old city. The congregating cows outside the hotel does mean you are often fighting a swap of cow manure to get into the guesthouse. views of the fort are good from the rooftop but after the hygiene of the rooms I chose to avoid eating at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JolyonBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I arrived at 5.30 am after a 8 hour bus journey from Jaisalmer - think twice before you do that!!! - and the staff at Hare Krishna could not have been more helpful! I got a really nice room with a HOT shower and was massively pleased when I went for breakfast on the lovely rooftop restaurant. I agree with other reviewers that this is the best point of Hare Krishna. The Guest House is fantastically located for all.
Overall for quality, service and value, Hare Krishna is highly recommended, at least by me!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank 27alexrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We booked into the blue guest house but on arrival told they didn't have our paid booking. So we were pushed to the hare Krishna and told it was just as nice if not nicer. There were no sheets or towells. We were told they were being washed and we couldn't have any. On the second day we asked again and they offered us one towell. My friend got sick after eating lunch in the restaurant. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rachaelbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Liked the property for the price we paid. Only problem was with the staff being out for holidays. Owners were managing reception, bell desk, restaurant and everything else. Location was excellent. View from the rooftop restaurant was also amazing. Would recommend this property provided you check with them about the staff and services they offer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank varunkohli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.1 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,005 reviews
0.7 mi away
Govind Hotel
Govind Hotel
#17 of 95 in Jodhpur
515 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marwar Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 193 in Jodhpur
618 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kesar Heritage Guest House
0.2 mi away
Haveli Inn Pal
Haveli Inn Pal
#10 of 95 in Jodhpur
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hare Krishna Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare Krishna Guest House

Address: Killi Khana, Mehron Ka Chowk | Near the Fort, Jodhpur 342002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Jodhpur
Price Range: $11 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hare Krishna Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hare Krishna Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare Krishna Guest House Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing