We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“350 year old vintage hotel, Excellent food”
Review of Shahi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shahi Guest House
Ranked #13 of 154 Specialty Lodging in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“350 year old vintage hotel, Excellent food”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We went here just a few days before NYE. The hotel rooms all have that unique vintage feel to them. The location is a little tricky to understand, but you get a hang of it after a few trips back and forth.

Key things about this place
1. Pure home cooked vegetarian food served at the roof top restaurant here.
2. Excellent view of old Jodhpur city and the mehrangarh fort.
3.Value for money.
4.Always negotiate prices beforehand with the rickshawallahs.

Room Tip: If you have elderly members or kids, please inform them so that they can provide you a room on the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjanaiyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    101
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
140
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kessel-Lo, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had a very large room just beneath the rooftop restaurant. Balcony on 2 sides and a panoramic view over the city and the fort. Bed is very confortable and hot water is on all the time.
Good rooftop restaurant. Do try their vegetable byriani. Very friendly service!
Jos an Kriss (Belgium)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriss289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I loved this place. My corner room, one level beneath the rooftop, offered panoramic views of the blue city below and the fort above, and lots of glimpses into windows, onto rooftops, and into the warren of narrow streets below. The large room was beautifully decorated with fabrics and artwork, and had a nice sitting area. There was plenty of hot water and the added bonus of a large bathtub. (Bring your own stopper if you are looking forward to a good soak - I didn't have one and was disappointed.) The wifi is reliable and has a strong signal. It's very close to the clock tower. From the hotel's front door take 2 right turns and left turn and just follow the signs to get back home, if you get lost, though wandering through the streets of old town is part of Jodhpur's charm. I will definitely stay here again and, in fact, have already booked another stay in April.

Room Tip: Go high -- for the view and to get a respite from the noise of the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Beautiful haveli with stained glass and steep staircases to the rooms on the higher levels. It was clean, spacious and beautifully decorated with a good bathroom and hot water. The owners were very friendly and helpful - they sent a driver to meet us and drive us to the guest house which was a huge bonus as the haveli was located in the warren of the old city. Easy walk to to markets and the clock tower area. The rooftop restaurant had an amazing view of the surrounding blue buildings and the fort at the top of the cliff. You couldn't get a better view and it was wonderful to sit up there in the evening and watch the moon, the stars and the lights on the fort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This guest house in an old Haveli is a wonderful place to stay in Jodphur once you find it. Your tuk tuk driver will take to to his mates place first and tell you that it doesnt exist. We stayed in a Shahi suite which was huge with windows both sides with a clean bathroom. We went there in January and be warned it gets really cold at night and we had to ask for extra blankets which the owners were happy to provide. The best thing about it is the roof terrace with a wonderful view of the fort and a welcome calm space away from the madness of Jodphur. The only thing and totally not their fault is the ranting and raving coming from the local mosque which went on, would you believe, till five o clock in the morning. We only stayed two nights ( easy to book from home on their website ) but were glad to get out of the place. Take the train for your onward journey ( 2nd class, aircon two tire lower berth ) six hour to Jaipur, rather than wasting a day traveling back to Delhi. Well worth a short visit to see the wonderful old fort.

Room Tip: try to get the Shahi king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fox_Goose_Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShahiHeritage, Owner at Shahi Guest House, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam
Thanks for your time to write review for us.I am apologize for here you could not sleep well but this is not our fault. At that time there was a festival of Muslim (BARAHWAFAT) that's why in the mosque they celebrate full of night and it happens once a year and we cant stop that.The sound was coming from the clock tower area because near our guest house there is not any mosque but i am happy to hear that the rest things you like here.
From
Shahi Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Excellent Brahmin vegetarian rooftop restaurant plus incredible views of old city and fort. The owner family of this ancient haveli and staff were courteous and helpful, accommodating our needs and questions. Stone stairs to upper level rooms are narrow and spiral

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dintaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

booked through hostelbookers and were looking forward it! unfortunately our room was given away as we arrived at 7pm, instead of before 5. Shahi staff "took care of us" by sending us to a terrible hotel. very disappointing experience for weary travelers

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderwoman922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
4.1 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#8 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.4 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
2.3 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#6 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.1 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 188 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahi Guest House

Property: Shahi Guest House
Address: City Police Gandhi Street | Opp. Narsingh Temple, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 154 Specialty Lodging in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shahi Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shahi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Guest House Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing