We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay and family”
Review of Shahi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shahi Guest House
Ranked #13 of 161 Specialty Lodging in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is highly recommended if you're after the personal touch and something full of character. Nestled right below the towering fort, the rooftop restaurant offers amazing views and food. Bantu and his wife go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at home. We were here for Christmas and they were only to keen to help make it as happy for us even offering to make some special cakes or anything else we would have liked. The Haveli is colourful and charming and the location is great for meandering around the alleys of the Old City or walking to the market. Excellent value!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianneEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 282 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

I booked this hotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews and hoped it lived up to them. It didn't disappoint at all. Clean and comfortable room with excellent view of the fort. Hot showers. Lovely restaurant to have breakfast. They made me the best porridge.
The hotel manager was helpful in suggesting a good restaurant and getting our bearings of the town. I would stay here again, and again.

Room Tip: We were given a room on the 1st floor facing the street. There wasn't a problem with noise. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiniBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I would never consider booking accommodation at Shahi Guest House, as I do not believe the owners can be trusted.

I was looking forward to staying at this hotel, and contacted them a few days before to see if we could extend our booking by 1 night. They did not reply to my email, and so my husband rang them and they told us that they didn't have a room available on the days we had already booked. We had paid a 10% deposit for our room over 1 month prior to the stay via www.hostelbookers.com and had received a confirmation email. They also acknowledged that they had received our booked, and had not contacted us to let us know there was a problem.

They told us they they had found alternative accommodation for us, and so we were left with little choice but to accept this option. Upon arrival at the other guest house it was obvious that it was not suitable (initially offered a small & dirty room just inside the door of the hotel, (told they were full), then after a phone call with the owner moved to a large room which was stil dirty, had 1 dirty towel, dirty sheets, a permanently running toilet, a hole in the bath, and locks on the door from the balcony that we're bent and looked like they'd been forced previously). We spent about 1 hour in the hotel using the internet to book alternative accommodation, and we're forced to pay 1500INR to leave safely.

This hotel looks beautiful, but I would strongly urge you to avoid it, as it would be difficult to know whether or not your reservation would be honoured by the owners, and I would not anyone else to have the same very closely and unpleasant experience as us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank shropshirestalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We chose this place based on the reviews and selected the Shahi Suite I after much deliberation. We came in at night around 11 PM and would have had a lot of trouble finding this place, had it not been for their thoughtful pickup from the railway station. The place is tucked away in one of the many alleyways of Old Jodhpur and is truly a heritage property. The room is beautiful and provides views of the Mehrangarh fort from the window and the many balconies. The hospitality is awesome and Mr and Mrs. Jasmatiya were ever so helpful in helping us figure the city. If you want to experience the old world charm of Jodhpur, this is the place to stay. Loved it!!

Room Tip: Suite 1 is the best room of them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NishaPrakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed 2njghts and didn't really want to leave the hotel much. We loved the roof top restaurant. The food is very good and inexpensive and the guys cooking and serving are very nice and helpful. The view is amazing and the rooms are comfortable.
Great value for money.
Make sure you ask for pickup as it is hard to find otherwise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esvhansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Spent 4 days here. Loved it. A 350 year old Haveli nicely renovated. Our favorite stay of 4 weeks in India. Sitting on the rooftop restaurant in the old Blue City under the Old Fort was beautiful. Very helpful staff available to cook your vego meals. No eggs here though. We had a Heritage suite, very spacious and clean. Owners speak good English and are very helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was my first stop on a three week visit to India and I loved it. This small haveli is nestled under the impressive Jodhpur Fort, in a back alley in the older blue quarter of the city. The owners were friendly and helpful, as we're the staff. I did enjoy the Brahmin vegetarian meals, ably prepared by the young Nepalese Cook, Lal Singh. he and his team looked after me very well. The rooftop restaurant was a perfect place to begin (with sunrise over the city) and end (with the rocky outcrop and fort lit at night) the day. It's rustic and fairly basic, but fun and good value.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Alexander6011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
4.1 mi away
Mandore Guest House.
Mandore Guest House.
#8 of 96 in Jodhpur
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,025 reviews
2.3 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#4 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
0.1 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 192 in Jodhpur
625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Haveli Inn Pal
Haveli Inn Pal
#13 of 96 in Jodhpur
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahi Guest House

Address: City Police Gandhi Street | Opp. Narsingh Temple, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 161 Specialty Lodging in Jodhpur
Price Range: $36 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shahi Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Shahi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Guest House Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing