We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur
Ranked #8 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Jodhpur
Kolkata, India
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Upsides -
(1) This is actually a very old Haveli turned into a Hotel. The owner claims its 500 years old.
The inside of this Guest House is a perfect labyrinth. Interested people should consider and explore the maze-like structure the hotel offers. Its fun !
(2) Some of the rooms are really nice and are quite lavish. We suggest the Royal King Suite and the Temple Suite - both of which are magnificent. The Fort view room is also okay. We had reserved all thee three rooms.
(3) View from the restaurant is truly ravishing - the magnificent Mehrangarh Fort overlooks you.


Downsides -
(1) Location. Amidst a very narrow and untidy lane. You can't reach the hotel with a car - the owner was of course helpful in sending an auto to pick us up.
(2) Old people beware. Because there are many stairs you would have to climb. Add to it the complexity of the labyrinth.
(3) Biggest downside - the restaurant. Food service is very very slow. So be aware that you need to order sufficiently in advance. The 2-3 folks who manage the restaurant didn't seem very straight to run it efficiently. We discovered that the kitchen is inadequate for large orders - if you order for 3 people - they cook the dish for the 1st person - then for the 2nd person - then for the 3rd person. That's the logic. In between there are many mosquitoes giving you company in the rooftop restaurant. So, you'd be better off sometimes ordering the food in your rooms.
(4) Rooms - are shabby other than the 2 rooms mentioned earlier. Avoid the Maharaja or the Maharani suite.

Overall, good stay. But I'd be happy to explore any other hotel if I were to visit Jodhpur again.

Room Tip: Avoid - Maharaja Suite or Maharani Suite Consider - Temple Suite or the Royal King Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjay_GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    124
    54
    21
    23
See reviews for
54
142
53
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is not exactly a hotel, rather it is more of a homestay in the old residential area of Jodhpur. Close to 500 years old, this is almost an ancient haveli. The guest house owners will make you feel absolutely at home! Most of the rooms have a view to the imposing fort on the hill top. The roof top restaurant has the most splendid view. The building itself is a maze, and you will enjoy the first hour trying to locate passage ways to you room! Most rooms are large, clean and nice provided you have a look at the pictures beforehand. Note that not all rooms have a fort view. Some rooms are downright claustrophobic and cramped. The owner was kind enough to offer us a room upgrade to the best suite, which was no less than a Maharaja suite! He is a nice chap and will be happy to help out in case of any problems. He has done a splendid job of maintaining the ancient property. Bathrooms are decently clean. Note that this is a residential house, so please do not expect all amenities. Location wise I will rate is as average, as the narrow lane can only be reached by an auto and by foot. The decor is nice and has the antique touch to it, resplendent with the blue light at night. Food quality at the roof top restaurant is ok, nothing to rave about, but the view of the fort is excellent from the roof top. Room service is average. Beware, if you cannot climb stairs as the trip to the restaurant can leave you exhausted. (Accepts cash only)

Room Tip: Check out the exact images of the rooms (each room has a name e.g. Fort View, Maharaja, Maharani etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sayantan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in November 2012.

We arrived around 5:30am and were warmly welcomed and asked if we would like to relax on the rooftop until our room was ready. We got to see the sun rising over the city and the beautiful blue houses and the fort emerge out of the dark. The view of the fort was spectacular from the rooftop restaurant.

Our room was ready by 9am so after breakfast we welcomed the retreat. Nice, quiet room with good amenities. We had to leave very early the next morning and the staff were happy to arrange an early checkout.

Would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The blue house is really great for holiday , you can enjoy the beautiful view of the fort from the top of the hotel... Food is also great , they can even cook Chinese taste , so it is really like home , you feel warm .comfortable and safe ...If we will ever visit this city again, the blue house will definitely come on top of our booking list .....

Room Tip: ...A good bath room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsabellaWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Blue House Guest House is a great place to stay. When we entered the doors of the guest house we were greeted with warm smiles and a big hello. They staff were always able to answer any questions we had and recommended 2 great tours. They are well connected to their community and are extremely informative.

The rooms, in my opinion, were beautiful. They had character and we were fortunate to have a room with a great view of the fort. They were cozy and had enough space to lay out your travelling items and clothes.

The best part of staying here is the feeling you get when you are there. My husband and I felt at home because the staff made you feel that way. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you want to feel at home and a good valué for your money this is your place to stay.a very nice family.clean rooms with beautifull tradicional rajastani decoration..the family makes your stay easier as they will be happy to provide you any services that you may need for very good prices.hassle free.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karlos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We came to India to experience India. From the moment we walked in and were greeted by the owner, we were treated more like family than guests. Our room was very clean. The roof top restaurant with it panoramic view of the city and the especially Mehrangarh Fort was the best. The staff was very helpful with all our questions about the city, where to go for certain items and general knowledge of culture. Especially loved having chai with them! This hotel is right in the heart of the city. This the best way as a traveler to experience Jodhpur. Will definitely chose Blue House Guest House again if we return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toddnorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.4 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,221 reviews
0.4 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
980 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#15 of 95 in Jodhpur
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Marwar Hotel & Gardens
1.8 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
0.4 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 190 in Jodhpur
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur

Property: The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur
Address: Moti chowk Dabgaron Street | Nai Sarak, Jodhpur 342002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 500 year old beautiful old blue haveli. The Blue House is a Jain-family owned guest house with a rooftop restaurant where you find magnificent views of fort and blue city with delicious food. All efforts have been made to preserve the historical identity and integrity of the Guest House despite its modern environs. A pleasant terrace offers a splendid view of the magnificent Mehrangarh Fort, the royal family's Cenotaphs, Gulab Sagar, the clock tower and the Old City. The Blue House combines old charm with the best of modern amenities. The guest rooms are regal & celebrate the richness of India's culture in a tapestry of classic decor & unmatched comfort. Rooms provide a splendid view of magnificent Mehrangarh Fort and blue city. Remember their is another simillar named property start few months back. Due to no pay any commission to Rickshaw driver some time it will be hard to find us.So make sure you arrive to THE BLUE HOUSE-(R) Jodhpur. BEWARE OF INFERIOR IMITATION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing