We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Desastreous!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur
Ranked #11 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Desastreous!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

When we arrived, the owner made us wait 40 minutes to get to our room...and when i told here that we had booked the "Super Deluxe" she laughed and said they're all super deluxe!
She opened a door, the room was old, paper thin mattress, the electric system is a hasard, old AC with a curtain in front of it, and all the rooms are just plain UGLY, all the photos on their site on booking.com are fake they are pictures from another hotel. The room was filthy, there was dry vomit on the never washed blanket, hair, soap and...in the bathroom, it hadn't been cleaned for a long time and never was our entire stay.
To top everything thing my booking reservation was 8050 roupies, they wanted 21000, because we were two, because of taxes and because, strangely the grand father who makes you signed the register mixed up the dates. it took an hour of negotiation to bring the price down to 11269 :(
No one should pay more than 600 roupies per night for a hotel like this!
On exception the restaurant on the rooftop, excellent view, the owner (not the same as the hotel) is so professional, service is absolutely perfect, extremely nice and the food is prepared fresh and delicious for a very very reasonable price, definitely a AAA....so nice
Oh and if you care a little about human condition ask the owner of the blue house hotel to give you a tour of his "other" restaurant you might have a chance to see the dormitory next to the kitchen of his nepalese employees....it's indecent!!
PS: right when you're about to leave the owner becomes reallyyyyy" nice and tells you that by the end of tomorrow everything in his hotel will be replaced and fixed, he is just obviously lying because he's scared of bad reviews...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cyril888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    119
    52
    21
    22
See reviews for
51
138
50
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The nicely designed rooms at Blue House were clean enough, some with traditional Rajasthani drawings on the walls and lots of blue. Fixtures and lights looked new. Pickup from the station free if you contact them in advance. I was only put off the night I arrived, as the room type I reserved was no longer available and I had to take a room that cost more (it was already 11pm and not a good time to go looking elsewhere) before I could move to the cheaper room for the following night. Just feel that for the price i paid even for the less expensive room, there is better value out there. The saving grace though, and the best part of the hotel was the restaurant upstairs. The Nepalese guys running the place are very pleasant and friendly- food (vegetable momos!) was tasty too!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fushigisushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The staff and the food at the 'Roof Top Restaurant' at the Blue House Hotel stand out from others in Jodphur. The atmosphere is very friendly and the view of the Fort is quite wonderful. The restaurant is quite lovely with all its colourful cloth on the roof and walls, and the atmosphere in the evening with the candle lamps is a really nice touch. It is a welcome rest from the noise of the street but retains the magic and ambience of this wonderful city, which you can view for miles around you from the restaurant. The food was very good, very tastey, with good portions and very good prices, we kept going back for more.... the Veggie Pakora is not to be missed, the best we tasted in Jodphur! We will definitely return next year when we visit again.

Room Tip: HIgher rate rooms in tower-like section are quieter than those in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in this guesthouse for two nights in October. When we arrived from the airport we were a bit wary as it looked like we had just walked into a family living room! This guesthouse is run by a family - they are so lovely and will help you with anything that you need.

Our room was up two flights of stairs and had ac although it was the noisiest air conditioning I've ever heard. The bathroom was basic but always had hot water and for the price of the room was fine. The sheets were spotless and the room was spacious, the only downside was no safe in the room.

They helped us arrange a days sightseeing and then a trip to see some local homes in a village - we loved this trip Mr Singh was our guide and he was an absolute gent. We had a great afternoon and met some lovely Indian people felt really privileged to be invited into their homes.

They also own a restaurant about 5 minutes walk away and the food is amazing, the roof terrace has an amazing view of the fort and the owner is really friendly and sat chatting with us on our last night for about 40 minutes. He even got one of the waiters to walk us back to the blue guest house as it was about 10.30pm.

One of the things we liked best about Jodhpur was that no one bothered us to buy anything, everyone waved at us and was genuinely friendly. We really enjoyed our stay at the Blue House Guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalloD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The guesthouse is the best we have stayed in India, it has all the mod-cons and reliable hot water and wi fi and the rooftop restaurant is beautiful with the best views of the fort and old blue city available and delicious food (we recommend the thali and mo mos), cold beer and friendly & helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The top level rooms have brilliant fort views, air con and beautiful Hindu murals painted on the wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our 4 nights at the Blue House. The staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. The room was a good size and quite extravagant in its furnishings, we were actually quite sad to leave.
The restaurant has a great view of the fort/city, all of the food was made from scratch and very high quality.
The location is great and you can easily walk to the fort and the main market square. The tuk tuk drivers all seemed to know where it was.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmicpigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

It's a great place to try in Jodhpur. They had different types of rooms for different level of guest. I only spent 2 nights in Blue House Guest House with my friend. In my room eveything is clean at least. All people there are very helpful and nice. I should say I would like to visit Jodhpur again and stay in such a blue guest house!!!

Room Tip: You may visit 2 or 3 rooms before you make decision. I did that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojojiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
4.1 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#6 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
1.9 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 188 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haveli Inn Pal
Haveli Inn Pal
#11 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Kothi Heritage
The Kothi Heritage
#2 of 188 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur

Property: The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur
Address: Moti chowk Dabgaron Street | Nai Sarak, Jodhpur 342002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 500 year old beautiful old blue haveli. The Blue House is a Jain-family owned guest house with a rooftop restaurant where you find magnificent views of fort and blue city with delicious food. All efforts have been made to preserve the historical identity and integrity of the Guest House despite its modern environs. A pleasant terrace offers a splendid view of the magnificent Mehrangarh Fort, the royal family's Cenotaphs, Gulab Sagar, the clock tower and the Old City. The Blue House combines old charm with the best of modern amenities. The guest rooms are regal & celebrate the richness of India's culture in a tapestry of classic decor & unmatched comfort. Rooms provide a splendid view of magnificent Mehrangarh Fort and blue city. Remember their is another simillar named property start few months back. Due to no pay any commission to Rickshaw driver some time it will be hard to find us.So make sure you arrive to THE BLUE HOUSE-(R) Jodhpur. BEWARE OF INFERIOR IMITATION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing