We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic and memorable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle View Home Stay
Ranked #6 of 187 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic and memorable stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We had such a fantastic time at castle view. The rooms were the most tastefully decorated that we've had so far in India. The rooftop restaurant has the best views of the fort and offers up some very tasty dishes at great prices. The fort is only about 5 min walk from the Homestay. The staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable including walking us to the post office to make sure we found it as well as taking our two children to the local candy store for a personal guide to which were the best deals and tastiest. Thanks again to everyone there that made our stay such a wonderful experience!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    46
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
90
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Our driver told us he could not reach the homestay in the old town, so we went with a tuktuk which stopped after 10' ride from the central market thru the crowded and narrow streets(100 rps). The tuktuk owner asked us to follow, with our suitcase and bag on his back. A climbing lane on the left, dirty and stinky, and after 100m we reached the guesthouse. Very welcoming. Rooms are not very spacious, but well arranged except lack of hooks or a wardrobe to put some clothes. Breakfast is good and view on the terrace is really nice. A bit cold in winter however and some stealthy unpleasant odors coming from downstairs but not critical. Sympathic place in a shortcut to recommend if the small defaults do not block you

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
152 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Guesthouse booked through Booking.com one day before arrival.
We were picked-up by a tuk-tuk from the hotel on the outskirts of the city, as the guesthouse is not accessible by car due to narrow streets.
We booked for one night and would wait to book further nights.
In total we stayed 4 nights there.
We got a room on the top floor at the level of the roof top restaurant.
We did not bother with it, because it ws too cold to sit till late on the terrace.
We got a fairly large room - the bathroom was narrow and long, but very cold.
The room was also very cold, so we have asked for a supplementary blanket and a heater.
The second day we gave the key to the reception and asked to clean the room and to give us new towels. Nothing was done when we returned in the evening.
The breakfast must be taken in the rooftop restaurant, which is very cold especially in the morning.
The service in the restaurant is sometimes not that easy, because the guys who serve do not speak English very well, but they certainly do their best to help you.
A big downside to the guesthouse is the very dirty alley where you go through in order to reach the guesthouse. You have to navigate through rotting debris, drains overflowing and cow pies and dog turds.

This review is made taking into account the Indian hotel standards.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is by far one of the best places I stayed in in India. The location is good, really close to palace by walk. Don't be tricked because you have to walk in a small alley to get there. It is totally worth it. You get a great view on the palace. The rooms are clean and well decorated. Bathrooms with hot water. Very good food. Nice terrace on the roof. Wi-fi is working well. Staff is amazing. Punit was the best. I need to go back to Jodhpur to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Our first impression was positive. Amit had arranged for pickup from the airport, we entered a nicely decorated haveli and were greeted with a nice chai. We found the restaurant very dirty though. Dishes weren't washed. By looking at your fork or your glass, you could actually guess what previous clients had ordered. Bedsheets weren't very well washed either. We think the only reason this place is still relatively clean is because it is new but clearly maintenance isn't a priority here. We were also very disappointed with Amit's behavior. We had agreed by email that pickup would be 200rs, but just as we were leaving, he said we owed him 400rs for this and added that he had advanced this amount from his old pocket. We would not recommend this place!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank madhatter2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaisalmer, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I was walking in narrow street in Navchokiya area with my Girlfriend and she was feeling so thirsty.So we were looking for a restaurant. We saw the sign board of Castle view home stay and we started to follow sign board in a small alley. we walked 50 meter in the street and we found castle view. when we get inside to the castle view it was completely different than what we have thought. It was a 550 Year old haveli decorated with traditional textiles and beautiful plants. We were warmly welcomed by the owner and staff.
Everyone have big smile on their Faces. And when we went to Rooftop restaurant at Castle view we got amazed with a beautiful View of Mehrangarh Fort. Castle view has killing view of mehrangarh. We were staying somewhere else for two nights and we decided that may be we extend our stay in jodhpur for another couple of nights at castle view home stay.

But unfortunately Room were available only for one night and we did not want to miss it. So we booked the Room at top Floor Facing to the Fort.Wifi was working everywhere in the homestay,Bed were so comfortable with European mattresse. We were so happy to spend a night there.

This place is located in a small alley of Navcholiya area and its juse 50 mtrs walk from the Main Road.Its little bit difficult to get there with Car Taxi, but tuk tuk can reach down to the main road where karan and dilip from castle view help you to carry your luggage anytime . This was one of our favorite place we stayed in India. And we will highly recommend this place to all fallow traveler.

Room Tip: Room on the Rooftop has killing view of mehrangarh fort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAJIV B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

And on top of that, the very best view. Think of having beautiful indian breakfast or just any dish from the menu together with this beautiful view. The food is really good, and the rooms are perfect clean. There is even toiletpaper in this homestay :)Amit, hotelmanager is genuine interested in the guests best interests and is very kind and helpful. The staff is polite and charming. I really enjoied my stay at castle view and i am confident reccomending it to others.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.5 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#7 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Govind Hotel
Govind Hotel
#15 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 187 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kesar Heritage Guest House
0.4 mi away
King's Retreat Jodhpur
King's Retreat Jodhpur
#5 of 187 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View Home Stay

Property: Castle View Home Stay
Address: Gundi Ka Mohalla Fort Road, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle View Home Stay 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 500 year old heritage haveli--and previously the private home of Dev Thakur-- is now the Castle View Home Stay. Castle View Home Stay has 5 spacious suites decorated in traditional Rajasthan textiles, original art and furnishings. The rooms are artistic and traditional style with modern amenities and en-suite bathrooms including showers. Castle View Home Stay offers home-cooked meals to order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castle View Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing