We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Durag Niwas Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 193 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very good guesthouse.... facilities clean, rooms big and the hospitality is amazing... I arrived in Jodhpur at 22:30 p.m. and they managed very thing for me..... Govind the owner one of the nicest Indians that I got to know in 6 months in India.... So when you plan to go to Jodhpur this guesthouse should be the first address...

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Sepqel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Durag Niwas Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 131 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

You will love staying here and enjoy this beautifully decorated and traveler-friendly guesthouse! It has much to offer that sets it apart from the usual guesthouse... but make sure you book ahead - many rooms are occupied by volunteers of all ages (18 to 70!) coming here from all over the world, helping this family empower the underprivileged women and children (untouchables) to make a better life for themselves and their families. A real opportunity If you are interested to have a look beyond the usual India experience!
You can get involved if you like or just watch from the sideline, visit one of their projects at Sambhali Trust, meet some of the girls who come to learn Hindi, English and craft in the empowerment center run at the guesthouse upstairs or visit their boutique for souvenirs.
Meet fellow travelers and volunteers during scrumptious breakfast, lunch or dinner served around the big table - cooked by Mukta, the lady of the house, offering the most delicious home-cooked food that you could find!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

When i enter here, it was so amazing that people were familia with us and I cant explain about that feeling while travelling in Jodhpur. Furthermore, the dinner was so delicious. Also, the interior of rooms are unique and clean with nice view. Thus, you will have so much fun with them friends. In short, it was an unexpected adventure!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IreneSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

STAY HERE!

We arrived thinking this was just a regular, average hostel, under the impression we'd only be there for one or two days. Boy were we wrong...

Of my whole nine weeks traveling around south east Asia and India, my stay here was the most valuable. Durag Niwas is the home of a charity called Sambhali Trust (google it, so worth it) that empowers women from the lowest caste by educating them and supplying them with a skill set enabling them to be more independent and earn a living, runs a boarding home for girls and does work at an orphanage. They also run the Sambhali Boutique, a shop that sells clothing and crafts produced by the women.

When we arrived, Govind greeted us warmly and offered us a cup of tea. He told us about Sambhali Trust and asked if we were interested in doing a bit of voluntary work while staying at his beautifully decorated, family run guesthouse. We said yes, and I got to put to use my own skills from university by facilitating drama workshops with the women. We also visited the boarding home and the experience was invaluable. Seriously, words cannot describe how wonderful it was to get to know the women and the girls and to know that you had perhaps made a little bit of a difference.
We ended up staying for a week instead of two days as we had planned.

The guesthouse itself is a haven, just outside Jodhpur city centre and felt just like home. All the volunteers were so friendly and amazing showing us around town and Govinds' wife's cooking was exceptional. We had most of our meals there, as the food was so great and the prices low. You will also get to know Chilli the sausage dog, which is such a character and has stolen the heart of many a tourist.

They also arranged for a yoga teacher to come to the guesthouse every morning to give us a personal yoga class. Perfect way to start each day.

I can't say enough about this place and the people who live there and run it.

Govind and family, if you read this I just want to thank you for everything. You have a place in my heart.

Love, Asta

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank astaheidur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

As a volunteer, I am staying at Sambhali Trust's Durag Niwas Guest House right now and I really enjoy my stay.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, all the facilities are working and the food is delicious.
In addition, everyone there is always cooperative and very helpful. If you ask, they will provide anything you want.

However, the best thing about the guest house is its wonderful inner yard and the rooftop terrace which really make you feel comfortable. The view to the palace and the fort are amazing.

The location of the guest house is good, too. With a cheap rickshaw ride of 15 minutes you reach the city center and almost everything else.

I can only recommend the organization and the guest house; it is a great place to stay.

Für alle Deutschen: Diese Unterbringung ist ein super Tipp!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PhilllipK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Durag Niwas is THE place to stay when visiting Jodhpur. The guest house is family run and is also the headquarter of Sambhali Trust. Govind, Mukta and all the staff are great hosts and always willing to help you and make your stay even more pleasant.
The guest house was recently renovated, also the rooms. It is located in a quiet street in a nice residential area, close to the bus stand, train station, supermarket, old town, etc.The home cooked meals are delicious. I enjoyed watching the sunset and the fort from the roof top.

Room Tip: I love the rooms facing the sports complex, especially the suite upstairs.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at this nice gueshouse in July 2013, unfortunately only one night. Helpful and friendly staff, tasty food and wonderfull mango lassi. Interesting small talk with the volonteers staying for longer time than us. Nice rooms and surroundings. And a lovely sausage dog!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.7 mi away
Govind Hotel
Govind Hotel
#17 of 95 in Jodhpur
515 reviews
0.9 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
1.0 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#4 of 95 in Jodhpur
988 reviews
1.3 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 193 in Jodhpur
618 reviews
0.9 mi away
Haveli Inn Pal
Haveli Inn Pal
#10 of 95 in Jodhpur
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durag Niwas Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durag Niwas Guesthouse

Address: Ist Old Park Lane/K. N. College Road, 1 Setrawa House | Main Gate Gaushala Sports Complex, Raikabagh, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: $19 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This household has always been welcoming guests and enjoying giving others hospitality for many years. We remember when we were very young boys our Grandpa hosted many parties of all the important local family including the Army, Police, Politicians and Royalty. We remember walking down the road being welcomed by the sound of laughter and music and we knew Grandpa was having another one of his parties! We have carried on this tradition ever since by welcoming guests and hoping that they experience some of the culture and traditions that happen throughout the year in an old traditional house including Diwali - festival of lights -, Holi - festival of colours - and many other celebrations. A Rajput family run home stay, simple, clean room with many windows for fresh air and natural light. Private bathroom with 24 hour hot shower. Home cooked delicious meals available. Cooking demonstration available on request, complimentary pick up service, drinking water (R.O.) and WiFi complimentary. Very green neighbourhood and centrally located. 24 hours our family is available to assist you; you can use our common refrigerator, washing machine, kitchen, a doctor is available on call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Durag Niwas Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing