We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Durag Niwas Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 192 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Excellent hostel! The owners are really wonderful and also run a non-profit helping local women; it feels great to support them. We wish we would have known about it in advance so we could have volunteered! This place has an awesome vibe and it’s a great place to meet other travelers. There’s really good food, hot water, fast wifi, clean towels/sheets and the best fan I’ve had in India!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USAPapasFritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    38
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
41
30
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My new favorite hostel in India – I loved it! I want my house decorated just like this place! It’s so Rajasthan-ie and the rooms have so much character, and soft beds, hot water, and high-powered fans!!!! The wifi is super-duper fast too. The staff and owners are incredibly kind, lovely people. They definitely went above and beyond and were so helpful. AND, they’re running a non-profit next-door that works to empower women in the community. ANNNND, they have a WEINER DOG. I know, enough said!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank expat_mbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This an excellent well run guest house. It's clean and the rooms are well equipped. It's set around a courtyard where you can eat, they do excellent food and for a decent price.
It's in a quiet location at the end of a road, it's only a couple of minutes walk back to the main road from where you can pick up a rickshaw.
They also have a very friendly dog!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This place was simply one of the best guest houses we stayed at. Not only the price (only 500Rs per night) has contributed to this conclusion. The guesthouse has a quiet location outside the city center (about 1 hour walk). The staff is so nice that you feel like you're with your Indian family there. There are several cosy courtyards which allow you to relax and read a nice little book. Also make sure to try their vegetarion thali as it is freshly prepared. You can even learn how they make it as you are allowed in the kitchen. This is an ideal place to meet other backpackers and to stay with a low budget.

If you don't like to be outside of the center, this is not the place for you to stay. Other may find the rooms not comfortable enough.

We enjoyed our stay 100% here and would recommend it to all people who want to experience life in an Indian family. Place is ideal for backpackers to catch their breath and stay for a longer period.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this guest house because of a recommendation from some friends. The location in nice, in a quiet surburban street. There is a jogging track next door but you have to pay 100rupees entry.

When we stayed the guest was full on long term volunteers who where working for the NGO. Some staying up to 3 months which meant most of the budget rooms were unavailable. Our room was clean, well decorated and had lots of natural light. We ate breakfast and dinner at the guest house. The evening meal, Veg thali, was tasty.

The owner provided us with a helpful map and suggestions on sights, food and shopping in Jodphur. Really useful!!!

Overall, we enjoyed our experience but we felt with the running of NGO, looking after long term guests/volunteers, short term stay visitors where a bit overlooked. Requests where slow to enact and the staff where just not quite keyed into the needs of a backpack.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

yes is very clean and good guest house.i travel in jodhpur last three month ago. amd i hire this guest house.owner of this gust houe is very honest.but next to anthore guest house is name durag villas is not good.because my last dinner in durag villas. food is not good and he charg lot of money.plz ignore durg villas.
if i go back next time. we deffentaly stay durag niwas gust house.and i recomand to this proprty.
staff is very honest also.and very quit place.and near is very good garden.
i liked. thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laxmi009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My friends and I stayed at Durag Niwas recently, and really enjoyed it. Probably my favorite guesthouse / hostel in all of India. The guesthouse is decorated really nicely, with a gorgeous central courtyard with potted plants, caged birds and balconies overhead. The people who run it are really nice, booked our train tickets for a fair price (60 rupees) and let us hang out, take a shower and use their wifi the day of our departure (8pm). The food is also really good and well-priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna_lisa_24_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.9 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
0.7 mi away
Govind Hotel
Govind Hotel
#18 of 96 in Jodhpur
512 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#8 of 96 in Jodhpur
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,229 reviews
1.3 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#5 of 96 in Jodhpur
981 reviews
1.0 mi away
King's Retreat Jodhpur
King's Retreat Jodhpur
#5 of 192 in Jodhpur
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durag Niwas Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durag Niwas Guesthouse

Property: Durag Niwas Guesthouse
Address: Ist Old Park Lane/K. N. College Road, 1 Setrawa House | Main Gate Gaushala Sports Complex, Raikabagh, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This household has always been welcoming guests and enjoying giving others hospitality for many years. We remember when we were very young boys our Grandpa hosted many parties of all the important local family including the Army, Police, Politicians and Royalty. We remember walking down the road being welcomed by the sound of laughter and music and we knew Grandpa was having another one of his parties! We have carried on this tradition ever since by welcoming guests and hoping that they experience some of the culture and traditions that happen throughout the year in an old traditional house including Diwali - festival of lights -, Holi - festival of colours - and many other celebrations. A Rajput family run home stay, simple, clean room with many windows for fresh air and natural light. Private bathroom with 24 hour hot shower. Home cooked delicious meals available. Cooking demonstration available on request, complimentary pick up service, drinking water (R.O.) and WiFi complimentary. Very green neighbourhood and centrally located. 24 hours our family is available to assist you; you can use our common refrigerator, washing machine, kitchen, a doctor is available on call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Durag Niwas Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing