We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun city's gem”
Review of Devi Bhawan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Devi Bhawan
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sun city's gem”
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Devi Bhawan has become my harbor and my home in Jodhpur. Since the winter 2005,
I keep on returning here each fall/winter and, the rest of the year, I'm longing for this place and the wonderful hospitality and kindness of its owners.
Devi Bhawan is indeed a very unique place in Jodhpur.
One arrives here as a stranger and always leaves as a friend !
And the number of these friends has been growing throughout the years for Mrs Singh, the lady of the house, makes a point in welcoming personnaly each guest, caring for each person's well being, comfort and happiness.
In this oasis of calm and beauty, you'll unwind in the lush garden or near the pool after a long tiring day of exploration.
The large rooms have been lovingly and tastefully decorated in traditional colonial style by our hostess and her husband.
There are lots of secluded corners on the terrasses or in the garden's gazebo to rest while sipping a fresh drink or reading a book.
Since this autumn, there is a new separated room with internet high speed facilities and printer. The staff and manager are all very helpful and smiling.
In my opinion, Devi Bhawan is probably one of the best place to stay in Rajasthan.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    293
    67
    22
    7
See reviews for
240
340
68
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Well what can i say excellence all round, beautiful room, comfortable four poster bed, hot water, excellent staff that couldn't do enough for you!!! Lovely food, surrounded by beautiful gardens. I'd recommend this place as the best hotel in Jodphur book early as we met some others who were gutted as couldnt get in!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallTopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Outstanding hotel all round, in terms of value for money probably the best i have ever stayed at. The rooms are fabulous, we stayed in the most expensive but i checked out the cheapest and they were the same only smaller but still great. The staff were fab always willing to do whatever they can. The grounds are secluded and a great retreat from the buzz of Jodhpur. The location is a little way out of town but takes 30 secs max to find a rickshaw and your in town within a few minutes for 40 rupees. Hotel is also close to the Palace. Being out of town can be a god send at times. Jodhpur is great, having been to some 60 odd countries this hotel is right up there.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

We stay at Devi Bhavan for 3 nights. We had an ok stay but there are things that you should be aware of before picking this hotel. Details below:
1. Devi Bhavan is located in one of the best parts of Jodhpur and has excellent ambience with rooms located in the mist of lush gardens.
2. Food: We found the food to be of good quality and the service to be excellent. We really appreciated the fact that the staff took the effort to provide us the dinner menu at 6pm so that we could order the food and have it ready for dinner at 8pm.
3. Visit to Villages: The best part of our visit to Jodhpur was the trip to the near by villages. The hotel can arrange this, but I suggest contacting the tour operators directly. We were extremely fortunate to take the tour by Deepak (http://www.bishnoivillagesafari.com/). He offered an excellent tour of the following: (a) Khejarli (including the real story as opposed to the hype in the tour books) (b) Singhasni (Muslim potter's village) (c) Shepherds village (d) Salawas (weaver's village). The high-light of the tour is the visit to the weaver's village and visit to Roopraj's house. Don't miss this visit to Roopraj's house. He speaks English very well and can explain the life and techniques of weaving very well.
4. Encounter with cockroaches: A few hours after arriving at the hotel my wife found two large cockroaches in the bathroom. We immediately, asked the hotel management to change the room to the room upstairs. They claimed that this is the first time that they had anyone complain about cockroaches. Fortunately, my wife took pictures of the cockroaches. To their credit they changed the room immediately, however, the hotel manager said that all the rooms upstairs were booked for the remaining two night. I sincerely believed him and called my travel agent and started to investigate alternate hotels for the next two night. When I went back to the hotel manager 30mins latter he said that everything was fine and we did not have to move. I regret this lack of sincerity from hotel management. In their defense, I was told that travel agencies often short change the hotels with regard to payment. Perhaps, this could explain their strange behaviour.
5. Rooms: I highly recommend getting the deluxe rooms upstairs it is well worth the extra cost. If you are only offered the rooms downstairs, I suggest finding another hotel. The rooms upstairs are large and in ok but nothing to brag about. They are a bit dirty or old in some places in the room.
6. Busines center: The computer is extremely slow - took 5 mins to upload a 1M file. Most people got tired and used a near by cyber cafe. It is a shame that the hotel did not invest in a decent computer. You should also be aware that we found a cockroach in the business center while working on the computer. In addition, they allow smoking in this room which stinks up the room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2009

I cannot reccommend this hotel highly enough = just fantastic

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

I stayed here for 2 days and i am very satisfied with the hotel overall. Nice and clean rooms, absolutely beautiful garden which is comes as a good respite from the ills of big cities. Hotel is very calm and has a beautiful garden, Very green, Nice food (though a bit expensive), Good Staff, clean swimming pool etc.

However in case you plan to book bus tickets for your journey please do it directly through the travel agency as otherwise commission charge is levied thus you would end up paying extra. Also before you book a ticket please do confirm with the bus operator abt which route will the bus take. We booked our tickets to Udaipur through hotel thus paying extra... and bus was extremely bad. It took 2 hours extra (i.e 7 and half hours) to reach udaipur as driver took a alternate route rather than the main highway in order to avoid toll charges.

Water bottle in the hotel was also expensive... we paid double the price for every water bottle.

But Over all hotel was good, comfortable and calm

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajay_Scorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Stayed here two nights. The rooms were very spacious and nicely furnished. The bathrooms were average. Beds were a bit too firm. Food was not inspiring and not at all cheap - do not order the Thalis. The grounds are incredible and a true oasis in dry Rajasthan. Cars to the airport or railway station are sinfully expensive if ordered through the reception - do not do it!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleur63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.7 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,221 reviews
4.6 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
2.3 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
922 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bijolai Palace-A Treehouse Palace Hotel
5.6 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#8 of 95 in Jodhpur
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devi Bhawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devi Bhawan

Property: Devi Bhawan
Address: Ratanada Circle,Defance laboratory Road, | Ratanada Area, Jodhpur 342006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#6 Best Value Hotel in Jodhpur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devi Bhawan 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devibhawan is family run heritage property with 24 well appointed a/c rooms with all modern amenities in each room,in house restaurant serves fresh home cooked food to guests staying here,also have swimming pool,all major cards accepted and travel desk for all your travel arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Devi Bhawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devi Bhawan Jodhpur
Devi Bhawan Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing