We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was nice”
Review of Hotel Blue House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jodhpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Blue House
Ranked #92 of 193 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

It was a nice place to stay.
Okay, wifi wasn't working, also the room hadn't an tv (as promoted) and I hadn't warm water. But it was a great atmosphere, very friendly und lovely family.
Taste the restaurant a few minutes away from the hotel owner! It's fantastic!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank mloungebln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Blue House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 29 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a few days and we loved our stay here. It is a highly unusual courtard building of several storeys run by multiple generations of a family who live on the lower floors. Escher-like stairs lead up to a humble, unfussy rooftop restaurant (painted blue, of course) that consistently served us lovely lunches with pride. Located in an area mad with commerce as only India can be (previously and uncharitably described as 'dark and poor,' in a previous by someone less kind), we loved walking around the busy, narrow streets and speaking with the local merchants. The family, and in particular Manish, went out of their way to make us feel special - even, of their own instigation, finding me a cake, and some other guests, to celebrate my birthday with. And no Manish, I still don't believe that it is the custom in India, as you demonstrated, to put a dob of the icing from the cake on the nose of the birthday celebrant :-) So the room we were staying in was not luxurious, but make no mistake: these people do care. And I would personally take this kind of personal and local experience over the beige decor and service of a more westernised hotel anyday. And I hope to stay there again if I ever get the chance to return to this great city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I am a single american female traveling alone in Jodhpur. I booked this hotel on expedia without thinking of coming to Trip Advisor to see the reviews on this hotel. BIG MISTAKE. I arrived via an autorickshaw and was surprised to see that the hotel is situated in a very dark and poor area that is loaded with trash everywhere on the street. I was taken to my room up 4 flights of stairs and the guy showed me my room - NO AC (although my booking claimed that it would be offered) and the bathroom was the size of a public bathroom stall where the toilet and the shower are next to each other (literally there is no separation between the toilet and the shower, which is very unhygienic). When I complained, the guy told me that he gladly upgrade me to a room with AC for free (this already set the tone for my visit here, because I knew he was already trying to 'trick' me into agreeing to take the room with no AC, which is unethical what he was doing). Even if you upgrade to their best room, you still get this disgusting shower/toilet situation. The top patio does have a nice view of the fort, but be prepared to climb many stairs to get there. Wifi connectivity is very spotty...so you really are not being offered WIFI because it's hardly available.

Look, to be honest, there is no way that this hotel is more than 1 star. It's a total toilet of a place.

I ended up getting charged for the hotel despite the fact that I cancelled my reservation and didn't stay. These people are total sleaze bags.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellelove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just returned from a few weeks in India and this was definitely the worst place we stayed all trip.

Emailed 3 times (first contact was 2 weeks prior to trip) to confirm the complimentary pickup as advertised on website and extra bed but received no response until 7am on the day we were due to arrive.. so 30mins before we walked into the reception after getting our own transport there!

Reception staff welcomed us and gave a very insincere and well rehearsed speech on how it was a family house and we should treat it as our own.

Arrived before the room was ready, understandable as we got there early, confirmed our requested extra bed and went up to the rooftop restaurant, where we waited 20mins for a bottle of water then extra 10 mins for glasses. Staff then short changed us when we paid the bill by 100rps.

Back to reception to be shown to room, still no extra bed in the room. Asked for it again.

Went out for the afternoon, came back around 3pm, still no bed!!

Before leaving, asked for extra bed!! Came back after dinner around 10pm STILL NO BED!!

Back to reception to ask, shortly after a man arrived with an old battered 2" thin mattress, one thin sheet and a pillow. When we asked for a duvet (like on the double bed in the room) we were told no, it's too hot for that! Even though we'd paid for AC so it wasn't hot!!

Sheets were old and had a big rip in one and didn't even cover the length of the 'mattress'. Towel and bed spread on double bed were covered in stains.

On check out we were short changed again. We were picked up by a driver to move onto our next location, after leaving reception we were half way down the road when we heard someone shouting for us, turned around and it was the owner we'd met on day 1 coming to check his father (who checked us out and settled the bill with us the night before) had charged us for the extra bed. Icing on the cake... didn't ask about our stay or how it all was, just wanted to ensure he'd got his money!!!

Was obviously once a nice hotel.. But is now very neglected.

Needs a bit of TLC and think they need reminding they need to look after their customers a bit better as they've obviously become very complacent.

Room Tip: Extra bed is not worth it!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: la wifi marche quand ca veut ... c'est à dire jamais ...
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mega69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank French-Chriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur
0.4 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 193 in Jodhpur
618 reviews
1.8 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,005 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
1.3 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue House

Address: Hotel Blue House Tripoliya Road, Jodhpur 342002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: $18 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique old haveli welcomes you for great stay in cosy environment. A place where you can find super clean, cosy and atmospheric room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing