We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"An experience to remember"”
Review of Hanwant Mahal

Hanwant Mahal
Ranked #18 of 374 Restaurants in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"An experience to remember"”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is just not a dinner out, it is the complete experience of being transported to the times of the maharajas. Great attention to detail has been paid to recreate the ambiance. The food is very good. The service is excellent. There are lovely terraces which are ideal for a romantic dinner and beautiful view of Umaid Bhavan. Of course the option to eat inside the restaurant is always there. It is just a magical experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Sumeetnayyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divya B, Manager at Hanwant Mahal, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi Sumeet,
Thank you so much for visiting Hanwant Mahal. We're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! We've always tried to ensure that every guest who visits us has a memorable time and to see your review about our restaurant and that we met your expectations is truly heartening. We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    49
    20
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“amazing dinner with a view to match”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

had dinner at the roof terrace, with a gorgeous 360deg view of jodhpur, and with the umaid bhawan hotel in sight. it was a feast!
i thought dinner ended after the appetizers... but no!
a THALI appeared after that...... i was close to bursting!
it was a most filling and extravagant indian feasts i've ever had.

if you want to impress and spoil someone silly during your travels in rajasthan, this must be quite possibly the best place to do it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikolosSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“at the top of the city”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I love the view of the city and Umaid Palace from the rooftop of Hanwant Mahal in the evening, the food was excellent but expencive.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank neal706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajasthan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“For an extraordinary evening”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The view from the terrace in the evening is awesome. One can actually see all of illuminated Jodhpur as well as the beautiful Umed Bhawan Palace from there as you enjoy beverages or rajasthani delicacies. The restaurant also has a breathtaking view of the city through see through glass.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank psych10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
748 reviews
359 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Great dancing as entertainment”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The entertainmnt here is great - Rajahstan folk dancing was marvellous. However, the buffet is on the average or even below average side - not much range, not great quality.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali_Hawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divya B, Owner at Hanwant Mahal, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for visiting our restaurant. We're glad you enjoyed yourself, and in particular the Rajasthan folk dancing. We are constantly trying to provide a well rounded experience, with our food and our entertainment. It is heartening to see our efforts being appreciated. We apologise, if you felt the buffet was average, lacking quality and range. That is unacceptable and all steps will be taken to ensure that doesn't happen again. We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanwant Mahal also viewed

 
Jodhpur, Jodhpur District
Jodhpur, Jodhpur District
 
Jodhpur, Jodhpur District
Jodhpur, Jodhpur District
 

Been to Hanwant Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing