We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent property and great Taj service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent property and great Taj service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

Just returned from my business trip to Jodhpur.. stayed at the Palace and wow.. what an experience!! We reached the palace in the evening after our meetings and were accorded a warm traditional welcome at the reception. We were met by a smart young lady who took us to our rooms and told us that we were upgraded to a suite!! Wow!
The suite inside was great... cosy bed.. well stocked mini bar.. a study.. a huge bathroom with a bathtub right in the middle..Every detail in the room was well taken care off and prepared with for our visit!
We visited the bar which had an excellent selection of drinks.. post which we went to the very famous open air 'Pillars' restuarant!! Great Rajasthani food coupled with great service made a great evening for us! Great place to entertain your guests!
I'm planning to go back along with my family for the palatial experience very soon!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prajodh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamaJodhpur, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your feedback. I am pleased to note that your experience at the hotel met your expectations and that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. I have shared your appreciation with the team as it is feedback such as yours that motivates us to achieve higher levels of service.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    72
    15
    3
    10
See reviews for
365
544
43
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

All the hotel staff dressed in royal attire makes you feel as if you are a royal family member.The hill top view of the city is soothing to the eyes,all houses painted in blue looks like sea along the hill side.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manish_para
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamaJodhpur, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Dear Mr.Para,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your feedback. I am pleased to note that your experience at the hotel met your expectations and that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. I have shared your appreciation with Swaroop and the team as it is feedback such as yours that motivates us to achieve higher levels of service.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

I stayed here over a long weekend, while on holiday in Jodhpur. The palace itself is nothing short of amazing. The architecture, halls, and grounds are all amazing. There is a beautiful outdoor pool, as well as an indoor pool. The exercise room is full of new, well-kept equipment. The room itself was quite large (I had a suite) and very comfortable. The bed was soft. The bathroom was also huge, with a double bathtub and a walk-in shower. I had a few very minor bumps with the service, but nothing to deter me from wanting to stay here again. It's a great place to sleep/relax if you are in Jodhpur!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPLSKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamaJodhpur, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!
Thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your feedback. I am pleased to note that your experience at the hotel met your expectations and that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. I have shared your appreciation with the team as it is feedback such as yours that motivates us to achieve higher levels of service.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Umaid Bhawan is not a hotel, it is a palace. From the moment you enter, you are transported into a different world, where all your needs and desires are met effortlessly and immediately. You are served like a king or a queen in an amazing setting. It was like being transported into a fairy tale for a few days.
The gardens are beautiful and peaceful, the palace mindblowing, our suite was amazing with a wonderful view of the gardens.
We had dinner at the restaurant twice and it was wonderful: delcious food in a beautiful setting with immpecable service. Breakfasts were also amazing, from food to wonderful servers catering to your every need and then some.
The most wonderful and magical palace completed with royal butlers service. If you can afford it and if you appreciate beauty, grandeur and immprecable service, stay there.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TamiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamaJodhpur, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your feedback. I am pleased to note that your experience at the hotel met your expectations and that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. I have shared your appreciation with the team as it is feedback such as yours that motivates us to achieve higher levels of service.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

Obviously I cannot answer this(as no one can). However this hotel is in a class apart. I have been fortunate enough to have stayed in very fine hotels both on business and leisure trips. Umaid Bhawan is a "wow" Hotel. I don't know if it is the best (certainly one of the best) but I am sure there is nothing like it anywhere in the world.
If you visit Jodhpur just DON'T MISS IT. The memory of your stay will remain with you for the rest of your life. Isn't it what traveling is all about?
One improvement: the water temperature in the indoor pool could be warmer...it was chilling cold...but who cares:)))

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agsLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamaJodhpur, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, August 15, 2010
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your feedback. I am pleased to note that your overall experience during your recent stay met your expectations and that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

We have noted your suggestion regarding indoor pool water temperature at the Palace and we are working on the same.It is our constant endeavor to provide the finest of products and service in line with the standards of Taj Group of Hotels and we would like to assure you that all steps have been taken to ensure non-recurrence.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed for 2 days in this hotel and it was worth staying in this hotel of great historical values. The services were awsome that we feel like a Maharajas.
It has a nice underground world class swimming Pool with all the zodiac signs and a spa in which I felt like being there all night with my spouse. The Pillars restaurent had a tremendous view which I can never forget in my life. There is one more restaurent in it the Risala, we had lunch in it with the Trophy Bars.
There a museum in the same building which has some belongings of Maharaja and entique pictures while the construction of the huge building.
The services staff was very quick and responsive, food was good with no bad surprises.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devendra_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamaJodhpur, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

2may2010
located at center of city.good heritage hotel.
quite expensive but must see hotel.
hotel has excellent museam with good collection of article.
old car of king are display at entrance.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kamlesh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.9 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
0.6 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#19 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.6 mi away
Indana Palace
Indana Palace
#10 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Property: Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Address: Near Circuit House, Jodhpur 342006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the largest royal residences in the world, the golden-yellow sandstone Umaid Bhawan Palace is a monument to Jodhpur’s gallantry and romance. Guests get a taste of what it was like to live like kings. From rooms once occupied by the Maharaja. From regal pastimes like polo or croquet. From magnificent views of the palace gardens and the spectacular Mehrangarh Fort. From unique themed dinners that flaunt all the pomp-and-splendour of the desert kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Indian Hotels Company Limited, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Jodhpur Umaid Bhawan Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing