We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly Great Hotel, hated to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Ranked #1 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A truly Great Hotel, hated to leave!”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

On our tour of Rajasthan we opted to stay here for three nights. Wasn't long enough! never wanted to leave.
Our trip had been planned as a celebration of our joint birthday and for my husband it was one of those significant ones. Staff at the Umaid Bhawan ensured it was truly memorable.

The Palace itself is beautiful with spectacular grounds and gardens and although we have been fortunate enough to stay in a number of beautiful hotels around the world I cant recall any who have matched this hotel for ambience, service and sheer pampering.
Most of the hotels we stayed at in India did some version of a traditional greeting with rose petals, red carpet etc. but here it was followed by some bubbly in the magnificent Dome Room and a photograph for you to keep as a memento.
We were shown to our historic suite which was jaw dropping. Overlooking the beautiful gardens, we had a spacious balcony with comfortable chairs, and a table and chairs for dining if desired. We had a lounge, bedroom with doors onto the balcony, dressing area and very luxurious bathroom with high quality toiletries.
I could go on at length but suffice to say the impeccable service standards never faltered for a minute whilst we were there. Although any palace is bound to be a very formal setting, both staff and management were approachable, friendly and ever helpful which is not always the case in these very grand hotels.
Loved the hampers at the outside pool where again staff could not do enough to ensure guests comfort. Also loved that if you ordered something it always came with some nice touch like, order a drink and it will come with delicious bites to savour.
Food in the restaurants was wonderful, not expensive and again faultless service.
Okay, for India not cheap to stay here but worth it and value for money? Worth every penny.
Cant wait to return and experience some of the other treats we didn't have time for on this visit.
Haven't done Taj hotels before but after this and the Rambagh Palace before we are big fans of the brand. Sincere thanks to all the staff and management.

Room Tip: Go for the best you can and book direct with the hotel. Their policy is to upgrade where possible. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ascotchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Ma'am,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I am so humbled and delighted to hear your fantastic review from your most recent stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback in regards to your stay with us.

I am thrilled to know through your comments that you had a splendid time on the special occasion celebrated at the Palace and didn't feel like leaving. This is the best compliment one can ever receive.

As the General Manager it makes me even more proud to know that we have ladies and gentleman that give their genuine best to our guest and that it makes that important difference when choosing hotels.

We look forward to calling you our guests once again in the future as well!

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    72
    15
    3
    10
See reviews for
396
584
46
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Unique in every sense of the word. Having breakfast or dinner on the terrace overlooking the bougainvillea'd gardens and the blue city is a magical experience. The service is superb. We were swept off our feet. Highly recommended and well worth the price !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippe056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay here at the Palace.

I am glad to read that you and your friends enjoyed many aspects of your stay and my colleagues could enhance your holiday.

It is rewarding and motivating to receive such feedback concerning the hotel staff. I will personally pass on your thanks to all of them for their contribution to your stay.

I hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the Blue city of Jodhpur!

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I almost have no word to describe how I feel about this magnificent (real) palace and hotel...
If you don't have time, I will just resume my opinion in one sentence: "Umaid Bhavan Jodhpur is the best hotel in India and is the place to stay at least once in your life!!"

Umaid Bhavan is the largest private palace in India (and probably in the world). It was built in 1929 and the work was complete in 1940s. Maharaja Gaj Singh II is still living there along with his family. There is also a section of the palace which is transformed to a museum and hotel guests can visit the museum free of charge.

We were grandly welcomed by an anthem with drums, roses petals on the floor ... and sparkling wine! The staff kindly took us to a gorgeous golden sofa in the lobby to take a photo of us ..(that they will print and give us afterwards in our room!). We were then brought to the room ...

It was the Historical Suite...where they put us. The most beautiful room I've ever stayed in my entire life! Everything is so beautiful and luxurious! There's no seperation of the bedroom from the living room, but who cares? Normally you don't come here to receive guests or to have a business meeting, right? So apart from that, there are a walk-in closet, a dressing, a Hugeeeee and magnificent marbel bathroom with shower and bath tub. We also have each sink for us! The view from our room was also splendid!

Upon our arrival, we went to have light lunch by the outdoor pool from where we can see the Jodhpur Fort and the city. There are complimentary mocktails/fruits/water/fresh towels for guests by this pool at any time of the day! It's also the best spot in Jodhpur to admire the sunset.

They have also an indoor swimming pool but the water is too cold for us .... There's also JIVA spa with jacuzzi and steam facilities. The hotel has 2 tennis court, 1 squash court, 1 gym with modern equipments, a billiard and chess room, and a business center under the name of "Heritage room".

There are 3 restaurants at Umaid Bhavan: 1) Risala, serves traditional indian rajsthani cuisine.
2) Trophy bar, a bar decorated with the hunting "trophies" of Maharaja... the cocktails are quite strong ... but they serve very yummy and huge portion of complimentary snacks ... including goat cheese on grape ... or mozarella tomato .. We can also order food from other restaurants and eat anywhere we'd like to. 3) Pillars, serves continental cuisine (which is quite pricey comparing to ...anywhere else) and also the breakfast. At Umaid Bhavan, please do not be surprised that they don't have any buffet breakfast. It is soemthing FAR better and classier than that ordinary breakfast! Yes, we've never seen a royal having to line up at a buffet line ....!! So you'll be served with pastry, coffee, tea, fresh juices, cold cuts (even duck!!), cheese, yogurts, fresh fruits, a hot dish (I chose egg benedict!), and ... sparkling wine!! In short, it was the best breakfast I've ever had!

We were also lucky enough that the hotel staff showed us Maharani and Maharaja suites! Though the furniture might date a bit from 1940-1950s...but they are both very spacious and luxurious!

During our check out, the hotel offered us a souvenir (a necktie/cuff links/handkerchief) in a very nice wooden box and they even gave us a picnic basket for lunch!! We were totally spoiled!! I LOVE THIS HOTEL!!

Room Tip: Historical Suite#202!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marciedip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Ma'am,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to share such a wonderful review with everyone. I am delighted to know through your response that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay and an even more fabulous experience at the breakfast table.

It is our constant endeavor to make the stay of each and every guest special and to make them feel like royalty and we are glad we could achieve the same with you.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your compliments with the whole team and they are equally thrilled to know about the lovely time you have had during the stay.

We would love to welcome you back soon at the majestic Umiad Bhawan Palace!

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We were invited by the Taj group to dine at the palace and what an experience it was. Upon arrival we were swept away through the palace doors and had a mini tour if the property. The Maharaja and Maharani and their children still live in a part of the palace
It's grand entry ways and halls are just breathtaking. The minute you enter you immediately feel like royalty. The staff are all very helpful and very kind. The decor of the palace , kept the same including the royal furniture just adds to the exquisiteness of the palace. The high domes within the palace heavenly.
We were shown through corridors and noticed that the hotel exudes peace and tranquility The guests seem to float around as if in nirvana.
We were shown the best suite if the palace, the Maharani suite which was once occupied by the queen itself. It boasts a very large lounge decorated in east Asia Art Deco with oriental silks Ina very feminine touch. There is a nice formal dining room and kitchen with butler service. The bedroom is gigantic and is as big as some houses. Leading from the bathroom is the spa to which there are two massage tables where a representative of the Jiva spa would be happy to meet your needs. After that there are two rooms, one to the left and one to the right the left is an impressive bathroom with a marble tub, a separate jaccuzzi up a small flight if stairs and just a large interior that could clean any queens heavenly body. The other side is a large walk in closet with gigantic wardrobes this room demanded every detail and truly made us wish we were staying there.
When eventually had dinner in their outdoor restaurant which over looks one of the many lage gardens The dinner was exquisite and the staff was very attentive.
If you can , you must stay at this beautiful palace it is just amazing

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank angelina1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Ma'am,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I am absolutely delighted to read your review shared with the travelers. It is exactly what the Paalce is all about and your kind words are appreciated.

I am pleased to know that you had a fabulous dining experience and felt like royalty the moment you entered the Palace. It is our constant endeavor to make our guests feel this way.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your compliments with the wole team and they are equally thrilled to know about your experience.

We would love to welcome you to stay and experience much more than your last trip at the Umaid Bhawan Palace once again.

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in April 2014 during a friend's wedding. It was simply amazing - everything - the rooms, food, service, decor, views... anything that you might want was only a simple request away. You really feel like royalty staying here.

I particularly liked the pool service - where you are given complimentary drinks, fruit and icecream after your swim while you relax on one of the loungers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strum3nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to share your recent experience with the travelers. I am delighted to know through your review that you had a great time during the wedding and our services completely met with your expectations.

It is all due to the hard work and team effort of the wonderful team of ladies and gentlemen we have here at Umaid Bhawan Palace.

I am certainly going to share your compliments with my team as I know they would be equally pleased to know about it.

Hope you give us another chance to call you our guests in the beautiful Blue city of Jodhpur in the coming future!

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The staff has excellent manners and are very courteous..Their hospitality and royal treatment is far beyond our expectations. The food is excellent and sitting out on Pillars for sunset is beautiful.
Grounds are lovely with the flowering bougainvillea and marble pavilion in the center. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Ma'am/ Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for taking out your valuable time and sharing your recent experience at the Palace with fellow travelers.

I am delighted to know that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us and the services completely met with your expectations. It is feedback such as yours which motivates us to work hard each day.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your compliments with my team and they are equally excited to know about how fabulous your stay was.

We would love to see you back at the Umaid Bhawan Palace in the near future.

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in April and were overwhelmed by the welcome, hospitality, service and grandeur of this hotel. Everyone was so helpful, the building is breathtaking and the whole experience was just wonderful. We have stayed at many beautiful hotels in India but the Umaid Bhawan holds a special place in our hearts.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JKRLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Ma'am/ Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you so much for giving such a wonderful review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to know that you had a pleasant and relaxed stay at the Palace which completely met with your expectations.

It is our constant endeavor to make our guests feel like royalty and we hope we were able to achieve the same with you.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your comments with my team and they are equally thrilled to know about your fabulous experience.

Hope to see you soon for another stay at your favorite Umaid Bhawan Palace!

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.9 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
980 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
0.6 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,221 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#15 of 95 in Jodhpur
555 reviews
4.0 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Property: Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Address: Near Circuit House, Jodhpur 342006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the largest royal residences in the world, the golden-yellow sandstone Umaid Bhawan Palace is a monument to Jodhpur’s gallantry and romance. Guests get a taste of what it was like to live like kings. From rooms once occupied by the Maharaja. From regal pastimes like polo or croquet. From magnificent views of the palace gardens and the spectacular Mehrangarh Fort. From unique themed dinners that flaunt all the pomp-and-splendour of the desert kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Jodhpur Umaid Bhawan Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing