We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a Maharaja or Maharani!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

From the time you arrive until you leave you know you are in a special place with special people. We were greeted with a Gujarati trumpet fanfare - & since my husband is a trumpet player the staff obliged with allowing him to have his own turn playing the trumpet & then organised for us to find one to buy!

We travel in India often & this is truly the best hotel experience. Our 12 year old princess had a cold & was treated to special drinks, pashminas, steam room & heaters to make her more comfortable.

Thankyou team at the Umaid Bhawan. You made us feel really special!

Room Tip: Pull out all the stops & go for the best you can afford - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellamoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viincent R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Sir/ Ma'am,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the amenities offered throughout the hotel. Hope your little princess is fine and felt as comfortable and warm as you wished during your visit. It is the staff that brings it together, so thank you for acknowledging the hard work and effort they put forth each day. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,
Vincent Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Arriving from Jophpurs's teeming streets the long drive up the hill reveals this gigantic palace. It's 347 rooms were constructed by 3,000 workmen in the 30's and it's gardens required half a million donkey carts of dirt. Your greeting at the entrance is magical and, in keeping with the place, a little over the top. I won't reveal it here, you decide. The public rooms: central hall, pool, billiard room, etc. are all fantastic. The rooms, ours facing the expansive gardens from a large balcony, were quite lovely in an Art Deco style that fits the property. I believe only 67 rooms make up the hotel with one wing still occupied by the Maharaja's family. Food was quite good served on the terrace with charcoal braziers supplying the warmth on a cool night. Nice wine list too.
Is it the best hotel in India ? Probably not. It is a fantastic experience and a wonderful window into the lives of the Indian elite. If Jodhpur is on your tour, you must see this place.

Room Tip: The Maharaja was crazy for polo. Some nice polo themed things in the gift shop. I believe all the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimherrler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viincent R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with the travel community. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the amenities offered throughout the hotel. Here at the Umaid Bhawan Palace we are committed to give our guests a royal welcome and a luxurious stay and I would be happy to share your recent experience with the rest of my team.

With Gratitude for your kind patronage,

Sincerely,
Vincent Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The experience was one of a kind - the grandeur of the property , the efficient staff and the lovely weather was a perfect mix.
The food menu however could have a bit more options - the aam panna welcome drink was simply amazing

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manisha915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viincent R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Ma'am,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest during your recent visit to Jodhpur.

On behalf of the entire team at Umaid Bhawan Palace, we are so pleased that you were able to experience our hotel and enjoy the high service and quality levels upon which we pride ourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future!

Sincerely,
Vincent Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Such a welcome!

Greeted with a band playing, rose petals floating, cold towels, a garland of flowers a refreshing drink and many elegant and traditionally dressed smiling hotel staff.

There are are nothing but compliments for this extraordinary hotel. It is a 'must' to stay here if you visit Jodhpur.

The food is great, the staff are friendly, superbly trained and professional and anticipate every need.

The 'Palace' is beautiful inside and charmingly and tastefully furnished with historic memorabilia and art abounding.

The extensive gardens and walkways are classically and architecturally designed and maintained with beautiful precision.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garthri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viincent R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you very much for wonderful review, it brings all of us great joy to know that you and your friends had a memorable trip at the Palace. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. Looking forward to welcoming you back and hoping to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,
Vincent Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

On arriving in Jodhpur and planning our visit, we decided that we absolutely had to have dinner at the Umaid Bhawan Palace after reading other reviews. The building is stunning with opulent detail at every turn. The menu choices initially intimidated us but our waiter was very helpful in steering us in the right direction. All his recommendations were absolutely delicious and our meal felt like a very special treat indeed. We finished our visit with a nightcap in the Trophy Bar. A magnificent evening. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank CardiffCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viincent R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Sir/ Ma'am,

Greetings From Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with the travellers. It gives me immense pleasure to know that you chose to visit Umaid Bhawan Palace during your trip to Jodhpur and thoroughly enjoyed your dinner at this magnificent hotel. I will certainly share your comments with my team as it is guests like you who motivate us to give our best everytime.

With gratitude for your kind patronage,

Vincent Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in January 2014 while on a tour of Rajastan. The current Maharajah and his family live in a separate section of this palace.
The welcome was unbelievable. Rose petals, drums, trumpets and Indian dancers welcomed us, in addition to the cold towels and drinks.
The restaurants were very good. The rooms are large and beautifully furnished.
All the staff were very attentive and helpful. We were even given a present when leaving.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viincent R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Sir/ Ma'am,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to know that your stay was a good experience and you enjoyed the hotel and room amenities. I would be happy to share your comments with the rest of the team.

With gratitude for your kind patronage,

Vincent Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We have done some luxury travel in the past couple of years. We have been to more than seven four seasons in Asia but we had never experienced something like the Palace. This palace has something of its own. When standing in the central dome, time stops and a melancholic feeling overcomes, as you picture in your mind how life must have been in the palace. The views are splendid, the gardens marvelously kept, the staff is friendly. Be sure to try a dry martini from the Trophy Bar.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Aleja86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viincent R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Sir/ Ma'am,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for your kind words. Here at the Umaid Bhawan Palace, we are committed to making your stay a memorable one and I am glad that you thoroughly enjoyed the opulence of this palace. I will make sure to share your wonderful comments with my staff.

I hope that we will get a chance to welcome you back on your next trip to Jodhpur.

Sincerely,
Vincent Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.9 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 102 in Jodhpur
1,084 reviews
2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
0.6 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 102 in Jodhpur
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#19 of 102 in Jodhpur
656 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 102 in Jodhpur
1,307 reviews
4 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Address: Near Circuit House, Jodhpur 342006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range: $535 - $1,997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the largest royal residences in the world, the golden-yellow sandstone Umaid Bhawan Palace is a monument to Jodhpur’s gallantry and romance. Guests get a taste of what it was like to live like kings. From rooms once occupied by the Maharaja. From regal pastimes like polo or croquet. From magnificent views of the palace gardens and the spectacular Mehrangarh Fort. From unique themed dinners that flaunt all the pomp-and-splendour of the desert kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Jodhpur Umaid Bhawan Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing