We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A challeng...in case tyou see a better palace hotel in india, let me know”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A challeng...in case tyou see a better palace hotel in india, let me know”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at this property for 2 nights and found the experience just out of this world. It transports you to a different era while pampering you like no other hotel can. The food served is for maharajahs and the service quality is the best in any part of the world. I did not feel like leaving the property when I checked out. i will be there several times from now on whether as a baraati or as a guest. Do not miss this property when you plan a trip to Rajasthan:)

Room Tip: All the rooms are ideally located. You get the real feel of this palace with several suites availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sriram_064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for your valuable feedback which will certainly enable us to measure and improve our performance of hospitality services. We appreciate the time and effort taken by you and look forward to receiving you at Umaid Bhawan Palace with the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    70
    15
    3
    10
See reviews for
372
555
43
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I think this one of the best hotel in the world. If I would be a director I would have filmed a movie in this property. Obviously this is not just an hotel, but part of the city heritage. Walking by the amazing halls you can even meet some member of the royal family.Staff service is impressive, friendly and the level is pretty high.

I was a bit disappointed by the room. I expected something more by the so called historical suite and not only some family picture on the walls.
The indoor swimming pool is gorgeous but I expected a better clean environment.
Restaurant services was nothing special at hall, maybe my wrong choice, but just too heavy.

Beside these last cons I totally recommend this hotel. I would go back immediately if I'd have a chance to be back in this amazing city.



.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giacomo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Vincent Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at Umaid Bhawan Palace for 2 nights recently and we have never had a better experience than this! The palace was so beautiful and regal we just could not get enough of it! We have been to many Taj properties around India but this was by far the best, especially in terms of service. The Taj Service in this property is simply unbeatable. The staff took very good care of our every need. The waiters were very attentive, especially Amit and Siddique. Even the bartender Devendra kept surprising us with new concoctions. We stayed in the Heritage Room and we were lucky to get a corner suite which was massive and had amazing views. We would highly highly recommend this place. We will definately come back here some day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKK8889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your feedback. I am pleased to note that the experience at the Palace met your expectations and that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. I have also shared your kind appreciation with Amit, Sadique, Devendra and the team, as it is feedback such as yours that motivates us to achieve higher levels of service.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Vincent Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great place great service great collect ion of vintage cars great restaurant great hospitality.
If I have time will stay again and feel like maharajá.
Best time is in Indian winters as summers are warm in north India

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the Sun City of Jodhpur!

Thank you for your valuable feedback which will certainly enable us to measure and improve our performance of hospitality services. We appreciate the time and effort taken by you and look forward to receiving you at Umaid Bhawan Palace with the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I don't think it gets any more grand.

Doors open before you, chairs move into place as you sit down, plates are cleared as you swallow your last bite, glasses of wine have no bottom. Its a place and you get treated like royalty.

Our room was great, a bedroom, a balcony, a separate sitting area, a desk area and the biggest bathroom all wrapped inside stone castle walls.

There are two dining options, a grand dining room or al fresco outside. There was great consternation when I looked at the menu for too long. The chef arrived directly from the kitchen and offered to cook anything I wanted. I ordered, he cooked, and it was great and once again I felt like royalty.

This is a WOW place. The staff are friendly and bubbly. If you want to live like a maharajah this is it and if you just want to escape the frenzy of India it doesn't get any better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the Sun City of Jodhpur!

Thank you for your valuable feedback which will certainly enable us to measure and improve our performance of hospitality services. We appreciate the time and effort taken by you and look forward to receiving you at Umaid Bhawan Palace with the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Palace is still the private residence of the royal family of Jodhpur and has been associated with one of India's premier hotel chains-ITC Hotels.The ancient furniture, priceless antiques and artefacts are filled in this place. They also have a collection of vintage cars and it was amazing checking those out.

Landscaped gardens and the spacious lawns are well maintained.There is a private museum attached to the Palace exhibiting arms, furniture, antique clocks and priceless China vases that formed a part the private collection of Maharajas of Jodhpur.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Reezelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the Sun City of Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
150 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The little lamps that are lit up and set up in the courtyard every evening, the old creaky elevator that takes you from the spa to the higher floors, the indoor swimming pool - for me these were some of the highlights of a short stay at the palace recently.
There is the right mix of grandeur, romance and even the eerie - to make the stay at the hotel one to remember.
But what makes its even more wonderful is the hospitality of the staff. I won't say "Service" because it felt as if each of them was treating us like a guest in their home.
It's very easy - given the magnificent property- to create a hotel atmosphere that's a bit "stuffy" but the Taj group has ensured that the staff takes such good care of you that the surroundings become secondary to their hospitality- which is amazing.
Every luxury hotel will give you a warm welcome, but farewells are cursory ( the standard " Nice to have you, do come back). However at the Umaid Bhawan the farewell was as warm ( and perhaps even more intimate) than the welcome. Never felt more touched leaving a hotel.
And the amenities- the food was great ( and the one time a dish did not come up to expectations they refused to charge for the entire meal, and sent a couple of dishes to make up for it)
The spa facilities were great- I only availed of the Shave studio - but it was a great experience.
Both the swimming pools are very good- but loved the indoor one- for the atmosphere.
Do remember this is a boutique hotel despite the large grounds etc - and on a longer stay I might have missed more dining options- but it's absolutely the best I have stayed in.
Will be back soon.

Room Tip: Look for the rooms facing the lawns towards Mehrangarh,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viincent R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for your valuable feedback which will certainly enable us to measure and improve our performance of hospitality services. We appreciate the time and effort taken by you and look forward to receiving you at Umaid Bhawan Palace with the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.9 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
0.6 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#18 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.6 mi away
Indana Palace
Indana Palace
#10 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Property: Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Address: Near Circuit House, Jodhpur 342006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the largest royal residences in the world, the golden-yellow sandstone Umaid Bhawan Palace is a monument to Jodhpur’s gallantry and romance. Guests get a taste of what it was like to live like kings. From rooms once occupied by the Maharaja. From regal pastimes like polo or croquet. From magnificent views of the palace gardens and the spectacular Mehrangarh Fort. From unique themed dinners that flaunt all the pomp-and-splendour of the desert kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Jodhpur Umaid Bhawan Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing