We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Grand!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

After multiple attempts we finally got a reservation for tea at Umaid Bhawan. The staff is naturally pleasant and courteous. Tea was quite simple actually, I would have expected a more lavish spread. Good stuff, though.

Exploring the property was amazing. The indoor heated pool is very nicely done, gardens are gorgeous and the interiors are grand! There were musicians sitting under a marble structure in the middle of a huge lawn, towards late afternoon. That created a fabulous feel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garima90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    70
    15
    3
    10
See reviews for
372
555
43
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Topanga, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Deluxe. Extremely nice without being ostentatious. We walked in looking a little like the backpackers that we had been for the past 3 months and no one made us feel anything less than completely welcomed. When they found out we were there to celebrate our 10th anniversary they upgraded us to a suite, gave me a huge bouquet of flowers and us both a very delicious chocolate cake on our way out.

The spa was fantastic. We got a much need body scrub which was very relaxing and made up for a month of bucket showers. All the services at the spa looked amazing and for the setting, the prices were more than reasonable. The underground pool is one of the nicest I have ever seen.

We had dinner on the roof, which had an exceptional view of Jodhpur and the fort. It was chilly, but we were there during the coldest time in Rajasthan in 40 years, so they can't really be blamed for that. The wine list was very good, my husband ate a salad (verboten in India) with smoked salmon (which I also thought was really asking for trouble) and nothing terrible came of it.

We have stayed at hotels of this quality before, but none rival this place. An absolute must in Jodhpur is you want to splurge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schweee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your feedback. I am pleased to note that the experience at the Palace met your expectations and that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. I have also shared your kind appreciation with the team, as it is feedback such as yours that motivates us to achieve higher levels of service.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Ashish Kumar Rai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Umaid Bhawan is an excellent, breathtaking and marvellous hotel. The grounds and the gardens are beautiful and the staff is courteous and friendly. They will not leave u disappointed. The rooms are magnificent and the food is simply delicious. It is a palace in its self and its history and magnificence will leave you in awe. I feel the best time to its jodhpur and stay in umaid Bhawan is in the winters. The weather will be lovely and will enhance the enjoyment!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aakriti_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Though, I am a localied, I planned a day at Umaid Bhawan being my 1st anniversary. Needless to say, everything there was absolutely awesome. The dinner @ Pillars restaurant is 1 to be recommended to all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbhiKumbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur !

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had stayed here as part of our Rajasthan tour 12/19 for one night. It is a Great Palace with beautiful grounds, a Great room and nothing more than that. The people are awful. You will not find a friendly face except at the royal welcome and that is it . We had requested for an extra bed for our kids. After a long wait the front desk calls me up and says there will be an extra charge . She could have informed me about that the minute I had called for service. And besides do they really think that guests who are paying about $700 per night would mind the charge. It is about service and not the price. I wish the people here would grow up and start greeting their guests with a friendly smile and not just stand and stare at you at the doors as if they are some royal descendents and we are at their service. To top off this whole experience, the lady who checked us in the prev day was standing with her stern face at the check out as well. She did not even bother to ask us about the stay or wish us a pleasant journey which was so off. I would not recommend this hotel unless for a one night stay if you want to really stay in a palace. I do not even know if the management would take a note of this but this experience was very sour for me.
I must say that the people in the restauranta were nice though. The saving Grace!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank siris170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent two nights at The Taj Umaid Bhwan Palance, having just come through a 5 hr drive from Jaipur. Driving through the entrance gates and seeing the hotel for the first time simply takes your breath away.
This has to be one of the most visually stunning hotels we have ever stayed at from the hotel itself, through to the decor, gardens and spa. Nothing disappoints here. The bedroom was beautiful, food great and as with all Taj hotels, service impeccable. The live local music at breakfast is a lovely touch and such a fantastic start to the day sitting outside, overlooking the beautiful gardens.
The spa is beautiful and treatment rooms themselves are enough to make the most stressed-out traveller relax, never mind the massages.
One evening we ate dinner at the Sunset Pavilion, located outside on the "top" of the hotel. There was a lovely warm breeze, the food was, as usual, delicious and the views over the lit up garden and beyond across Jdhpur was unforgettable.
Ultimately it is the staff that make the difference and we were treated like royalty here. Nothing was too much trouble to the extent that they knew, somehow, that we had a long drive ahead when leaving, and waiting for us at reception were two lunch boxes containing enough food and drink to keep us going for several days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10ldMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We had to do this: staying a night in a real Maharaja palace - its is impressive and opulent. Make sure you do not get lost in these hallways. The rooms are very modern and look like in an international luxury hotel. We also enjoyed a delicious al fresco dinner at the Pillars, the onsite restaurant. Top quality, but then you also pay for it.

Room Tip: If the hotel is not fully booked, your deluxe room will be upgraded to a royal suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur !

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.9 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
0.6 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#18 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.6 mi away
Indana Palace
Indana Palace
#10 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Property: Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Address: Near Circuit House, Jodhpur 342006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the largest royal residences in the world, the golden-yellow sandstone Umaid Bhawan Palace is a monument to Jodhpur’s gallantry and romance. Guests get a taste of what it was like to live like kings. From rooms once occupied by the Maharaja. From regal pastimes like polo or croquet. From magnificent views of the palace gardens and the spectacular Mehrangarh Fort. From unique themed dinners that flaunt all the pomp-and-splendour of the desert kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Jodhpur Umaid Bhawan Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing