We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noone does hospitality like Taj does!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Especially like Taj does in Jodhpur! Lavish, plush, magnificent, I could go on but I am going to run out of words soon so will leave it at this- We stayed for two days but this was the most relaxing, pampering hotel stay of them all- not rivalling my favourite Rambagh but coming close. The palace looks gorgeous as you are driven in a beautiful vintage cars, its golden sandstone set against the fiery sun, acres of gardens, we were welcomed in style, traditionally. The interiors look so farmiliar because you have seen them in bollywood movies. The service is perfect, lots of complimentary things including juices, coffee, cookies, and chocolates. The pool is lovely, the spa is relaxing, the food is excellent and so is the dining. How grand the lifestyle of the Royals must have been! taj does a phenomnal job of taking care the palace. Also must visit- THE maharajas younger brothers palace at ajit bhawan for a drink in this old classic style bar called on the rocks. Stay here if you can- you will have a memory to cherish for life.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princessofspice82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,102 - 1,108 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

one of the best places to stay if you are looking for a good and a comfortable stay..one of my best holidays.the service is a class apart and food is excellent..taj again comes up with the expectation of a luxury traveller...the palace is not too big but beauitifully done up and a lot of history attached to it.visited in 2010

Room Tip: do stay in the rooms facing the garden..dont forget to try their spa..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adititrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Umaid Bhawan Palace whilst attending a wedding in Jodhpur. This is not a hotel but rather the home of the Maharaja of Jodhpur and is truly a palace like no other. The Taj Group has done an excellent job at maintaining, renovating and enhancing the beautiful sandstone building whilst keeping faithful to its authentic look and feel. I stayed here 20 years ago with my family and it was no less an experience this time than before. The welcome was delightful and very special, the Historical Suite extremely comfortable, the food and service at top class international standards, and the beautiful pool and spa beyond compare. But my favorite space is the central rotunda with the soft melodic Indian music and gorgeous palace furniture. I would have happily stayed there a month and would recommend it to anyone staying in Jodhpur. And even better, if you can, make sure that you have an invite to a Jodhpuri wedding as I did, then your experience will be totally special!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite facing the back garden for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quentinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur !

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

An amazing hotel with excellent service! A lifetime experience! There was a welcome with rose petals and flowers! We had a fantastic dinner in the "sunset pavilion" overlooking Jodhpur, the view was out of this world as well as the food and service! Breakfast in the "pillars" was magnificent with the fantastic view of the gardens. We were treated like maharajas by the excellent personnel of the hotel! One of the best places I have ever stayed!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allyAthens_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was the second of the Taj Group Palace hotels we stayed in during our tour of Rajesthan, and from the moment we arrived to our departure in an open top vintage car my wife and I were treated like Royalty.
The Umaid Bhawan Palace is a building of impressive archtecture, while dominating the skyline with views across Jodhpur and its ancient fort in the distance. Once inside you will be amazed at the beautiful Art Deco style, especially the beautiful magnificent central atrium which has a dome second only in size to the Taj Mahal. Even the gents toilets are impressive and stylish - something I never thought I would say about a toilet!
We were on a special holiday to celebrate our anniversary and were kindly upgraded to a wonderful large suite, which again continued the Art Deco style in its furniture and fittings, with views from the balcony of the gardens and Jodhpur's fort beyond.
The staff service is impeccable in every respect, and like our stay in the Rambagh Palace in Jaipur we were sad to leave the Umaid Bhawan Palace. It was undoubtedly one of the best five star hotels we have ever stayed in, so thank you to all who made it a memorable stay, and a special thank you for the bouquet of flowers presented to my wife.

Room Tip: If possible choose a high level suite overlooking the gardens with sun set views, and distant views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderlustKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

There is no doubt in your mind that you are arriving at a place of distinction when you climb the silk canopy covered steps of the palace. The warmth and charm of the greeting was very special and the art deco decor is quite quirky. We ate all our meal at the Pillars restaurant because the food was so good. The chef came out to see us and explained how to create some of the dishes which I have put into practice. Our bedroom was unexceptional on a palace rating scale but what was exceptional was the palace shop. It had wonderful garments which were very reasonably priced for the workmanship and fabrics. Needless to say we purchased a considerable amount. The gardens were not accessible during our visit because a massive stage was under construction for the birthday bash of a western celebrity.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickytraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Without a doubt, the Umaid Bhawan Palace in Jodhpur is one of the best places that I have stayed at in my 30 plus years of travel. Dominating the skyline of the famous blue city, this imposing building is one of the world's largest private residences and a stay here makes you feel like royalty. There are different room types (we stayed in a Heritage Suite which was simply delightful in every way, the butler service was out of this world and breakfast on the terrace with the resident peacocks delicately trying their luck at sneaking a piece of toast, amazing! No request was too great for the palace staff who unobtrusively ensured our stay was truly memorable. So, if you are in a position to weave a little more opulence into your itinerary (and can afford the time and the exrta dollars) then I highly recommend you treat yourself to a stay at the Umaid Bhawan Palace.

Room Tip: Palace Rooms are the standard, followed by the Heritage Suites which are more spacious. However give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieNFS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.9 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 98 in Jodhpur
1,063 reviews
2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
0.6 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 98 in Jodhpur
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#19 of 98 in Jodhpur
637 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 98 in Jodhpur
1,284 reviews
3.2 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Address: Near Circuit House, Jodhpur 342006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range: $772 - $4,894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the largest royal residences in the world, the golden-yellow sandstone Umaid Bhawan Palace is a monument to Jodhpur’s gallantry and romance. Guests get a taste of what it was like to live like kings. From rooms once occupied by the Maharaja. From regal pastimes like polo or croquet. From magnificent views of the palace gardens and the spectacular Mehrangarh Fort. From unique themed dinners that flaunt all the pomp-and-splendour of the desert kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Jodhpur Umaid Bhawan Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing