We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Umaid Bhawan Jodhpur for 2 nights in October 2012. This is one of the most beautiful hotels we have seen. Every part of the hotel is exceptionally beautiful (you should definitely not miss the daily heritage tour). We were upgraded to the historical suite, the room was beautiful, spacious and decorated with a lot of taste. The service at the reception was a bit cold, albeit professional. We honestly expected a higher standard having stayed at the Jai Mahal just before. However, the service at the restaurant was excellent and the food was very good.
It is of course expensive, but definitely worth it at least for one night if you can afford it. You feel that you are staying in a piece of history, absolutely wonderful!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Yano224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,133 - 1,139 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

This is the best property i have been to in India.
From the entrance of the lobby to the room and the food in the restaurant.
The room is really big and the architecture is stunning
And A very nice swimming pool indoor and out door.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuJu-Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a fabulous time at the Umaid Bhawan Palace. For those who visit the palace instead of staying there, it is a wonderful place to spend an afternoon and evening.

MUSEUM: The palace museum was a great introduction to the palace and the history of the Singh dynasty in Jodhpur. I really enjoyed reading about Jodhpur's famous polo successes and learning about the family who brought the palace into existence - breaking ground in 1929. By comparison to the many ancient treasures of India, this palace is a new treasure and is still the residence of the Jodhpur royal family. Going to the museum, however, does not grant you access to the palace.

DINNER AT THE PALACE: In order to properly visit the palace, you must either be a hotel or dinner guest. When you make a reservation for dinner, you will be informed there is a minimum charge. I don't remember what the minimum charge was as we far exceeded it - (I think it was around $40 p/person), but I found it a bit strange that the palace was so informing me before I even stepped foot on to the property. Though this practice is a little tacky, I suppose it was instituted to prevent their dining room from being filled with looky-loo tourists ordering "just tea."

We arrived early and had to go through security at the exterior gate. Upon confirming our reservations we we free to visit the palace and its grounds. There are sprawling gardens that meticulously tended but the domed lobby was most impressive. We explored the common areas - don't miss the sitting room where there is an amazing wood-inlay portrait of the Maharaja - you must look closely to realize it is not paint but rather, thousands upon thousands of pieces of differently colored wood mosaically creating an enormous portrait. The palace bar was our favorite - we sipped on specialty drinks under the Maharaja's trophies - eating delicate canapes. The palace bartender was an absolute delight.

Dinner was good - we enjoyed it. Though the food did not live up to our expectations, the service was fine and having dinner in such beautiful surroundings was well worth it. (We speculated the slow season may have contributed to the average quality of our dinner.) Don't get me wrong, the food was NOT bad - just average.

Our afternoon and evening at the palace was a lovely experience. It is a rare privilege to spend time in the home of royalty. The royal family is quite gracious to share their majestic palace with visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

One gets used to palaces that are now hotels in India, but nothing prepared me for the Umaid Bhawan. Simply one of the finest hotels I stayed in anywhere in the world. The property is beautiful...the rooms are wonderfully appointed and spacious, the grounds immaculate, the pool is gorgeous, the service is outstanding and the restaurant offers a cuisine that is simply first rate. Stunning is the word that comes to mind when I think of this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andermanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel majestically sits on top of the Chittor hill and commands a good view of the Mehrangarh fort. Being a palace and the residence of the royal family of Jodhpur, its more of a palace than a hotel. The entire staff is very passionate about the history of the palace and they maintain very high standards in how they treat their guests. You feel more like the guest of the Maharaja than that of the hotel. None of one's demands can go unmet at this hotel.

The food is undoubtedly the best one can strive to have in India. Right from the taste to its presentation meticulous care has gone into it. If you want to experience the Jodhpur specialties like mirchi wada, kachori and other famous street food without compromising on taste and hygiene this is the place. Amazing selection of tea and coffee from all around the world.

No evening in complete without munching on minced lamb samosas and guzzling down cups of hot tea at Risala restaurant.

Staff like Hitesh and Amit go the extra mile to make dining a royal experience. This is a palace worth returning to even for gastronomic reasons too.

The palace has well maintained gardens and close to 150 peacocks strutting the grounds. The suites have a beautiful view of the Mehrangarh fort and watching a peacock from our balcony spread his wings and do a little jig every morning is one among many memories at this palace that we will cherish forever,

This is a place where how many ever days you stay, you would still wish that you have stayed a bit longer. Truly a jewel in Jodhpur.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_BPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your feedback. I am pleased to note that the experience at the Palace met your expectations and that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. I have also shared your kind appreciation with Hitesh & Amit and the team, as it is feedback such as yours that motivates us to achieve higher levels of service.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Wow! We were treated like royalty for the day we arrived to when we left. I have never been so happy to stay in a hotel. The staff were excellent and caring. The room was clean and amazing. The manager even made us a DVD of punjab (i mentioned my mother was from here). The food was second to none. I asked the waiter to decide between two starters so he brought me both (only paid for one). The service was just perfect. The gym, indoor pool and spa are great. The hotel sits on a hill top and the looks awesome from distance. This is expensive but worth every penny. I can honestly say that this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in!!

Room Tip: Stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belfastim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your feedback. I am pleased to note that the experience at the Palace met your expectations and that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. I have also shared your kind appreciation with the team, as it is feedback such as yours that motivates us to achieve higher levels of service.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was a very well refurbished hotel with very nice rooms, friendly staff and good food. There are also numerous historical photos along the walls of people and places from Rajistan's history which was fantastic.
The hotel is a little way from the city centre, but this seemed to be the case with all hotels and even while wandering around the city we did not see any closer options. There are always taxis and rickshaws available so this is not a major problem, but just means you cant stroll out the door to restuarants etc as the area all the hotels are in feels more like the suburbs.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevejlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.9 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 102 in Jodhpur
1,086 reviews
2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
5.2 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#18 of 102 in Jodhpur
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 102 in Jodhpur
1,025 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 102 in Jodhpur
1,310 reviews
4 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Address: Near Circuit House, Jodhpur 342006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range: $537 - $1,992 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the largest royal residences in the world, the golden-yellow sandstone Umaid Bhawan Palace is a monument to Jodhpur’s gallantry and romance. Guests get a taste of what it was like to live like kings. From rooms once occupied by the Maharaja. From regal pastimes like polo or croquet. From magnificent views of the palace gardens and the spectacular Mehrangarh Fort. From unique themed dinners that flaunt all the pomp-and-splendour of the desert kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Jodhpur Umaid Bhawan Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing