We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overhyped and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Jhalamand Garh
Ranked #90 of 187 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Overhyped and overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

After brilliantly efficient taxi pick up at the railway station everything went downhill. Arriving at the hotel nobody was there to welcome us. After a little while we were discovered and ushered into a very understated dining room for a late snack. Afterwards to our less than deluxe room, that's what we booked, a good size but not deluxe in anyone's language. If you like constant dog barking and pigeons loudly resting on your window ledges then this is for you. After a sleepless night and average breakfast, food at extra cost, we decided to leave. Having paid up front for two nights our request for second night refund was refused. We agreed that our very minor food bill would go unpaid, very generous of the management, not !! Manager then tried to get us to pay for transport twice and no internet a killer. Don't go here...and certainly not in the dirty pool

Room Tip: Just don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johngreenaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    2
    1
    9
See reviews for
7
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Jhalamandgarh with my family in January 2014 for 2 nights. The hotel is located outside the main city - a 10-15 minute drive. It was a wonderful experience and we thoroughly liked our stay. The Hotel has been converted from a Haveli. The rooms are well decorated and spacious. We got a family room with extra beds for the kids. The hotel is very well maintained and clean. The food at the hotel was amazing - we had excellent breakfast and dinner. The Puri-Subzi was finger-licking good!

The staff, management and owners are very helpful and made sure our stay was very enjoyable.

Overall - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aditya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights and though manager said there are other guests, we never found any. this helped us in getting better service. manager bablu is very nice person and helped us in every way whenever we asked for something. service is very good. breakfast amazing. you have to tell them previous night what you would like to eat and they will prepare the same. also, juice they served was freshly made. rooms are quite large and old fashioned. cousins of royal family still occupy part of havelli. would recommend staying here. only downside is, it is away from Jodhpur city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dipesh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roorkee, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I visited Jodhpur in December 2013 with my two sons and daughters-in-law and stayed at Jhalmand Garh for two nights. The hotel was booked through booking.com. It is an old haveli which has been converted into a hotel. The rooms are spacious and reasonably well decorated although one can't say much about the décor. Food is good and reasonably priced. The staff is quite courteous and helpful. However, the same cannot be said about the manager and the owner. Our stay was spoiled by their rude behavior. On the second day, while sightseeing in the city, we received a call and the manager informed us that we shall have to make the payment by cash as the hotel's credit card machine was out of order. When we told him that we do carry that kind of cash and the booking website clearly stated that credit cards were accepted, the manager was quite rude and said that he cannot help it. We talked to the owner on phone who again informed us that we shall have to make the payment in cash. We would not minded much except that the tone and language of both the manager and the owner was quite rude. We had to go to an ATM to withdraw money to make the payment in cash.

The best part of the hotel is that it is located outside the city on the Jodhpur bypass. The grounds are spacious but some of the amenities mentioned on the booking website are not available. For example, it is mentioned that the hotel has a fitness center but it is not there. It is also mentioned that the hotel has a swimming pool but if you and your children like swimming, you are in for a big jolt. It is basically a pond of cuboidal shape about 25 feet by 15 feet size and a uniform depth of 10 feet! More like a dangerous bathtub than a pool! So enter it at your own risk but do not send your children near it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sachendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My fiance and I had a lovely, warm and welcoming stay at Jhalamand Garh. The Haveli is situated outside the city limits, and is a peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle of Jodhpur. It is not very touristy and provides a real rajasthani experience from the food, decor and hospitality. Mr. Raghu Singh, the owner is absolutely wonderful, and makes you feel right at home while he regales you with stories of the old rajasthani days and his family heritage. The staff are extremely helpful and polite!

We also went on a bishnoi village visit, and Mr. Raghu organized us a old Indian army jeep, and a guide who took us to several spots to see village artisans and wildlife. We saw quite a few black buck!

I would highly recommend staying here - It is peaceful and romantic, and a perfect Jodhpur stay!

Room Tip: The room on the top floor overlooking the main grounds, is very spacious and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conormehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

The best part of Hotel Jhalamand Garh is - Being about 10 kms away from main city it is very quite and peaceful.. Good staff with great food. Very Spacious rooms . Mr. Raghvendra Pratap Singh, the owner makes the stay even warmer and enjoyable. A perfect Heritage Property to stay at.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jigar06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Jhalamand Garh has been a favourite resort on my journeys in Rajasthan for several years. The location is ideal, in a quiet village and still only some 10 minutes away from bustling Jodhpur. The Palace has a very charming ambience with a fine flavor of history and the owner, Mr Raghvendra Pratap Singh, who lives on the property, kindly shares the family history as owners of the garh through centuries. Rooms are large and well equipped including the tented rooms in the garden.The pleasant garden and the fine new pool together with cosy roof terasses provide ample opportunities for relaxation.

The staff is very serviceminded and ready to accomodate individual wishes including meal services on the roof etc. The restaurant is very good with awide variety of local and other dishes.

In short, it is a pleasure to stay at Jhalamand Garh and it is really "good value for money"

Jes C. Boye-Møller
Denmark

Room Tip: Try the rooms with tent roof in the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jes652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jodhpur
1.5 mi away
Pratap Niwas
Pratap Niwas
#22 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.1 mi away
Polo Heritage Hotel
Polo Heritage Hotel
#29 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.9 mi away
Karni Bhawan
Karni Bhawan
#41 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Mihir Garh
Mihir Garh
#2 of 2 in Rohet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
19.7 mi away
Rohet Garh
Rohet Garh
#1 of 2 in Rohet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.8 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#6 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jhalamand Garh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jhalamand Garh

Property: Hotel Jhalamand Garh
Address: Village and Post Jhalamand, Jodhpur 342005, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jhalamand Garh 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jhalamand Garh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing