We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Ratan Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ratan Vilas
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Mission, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was a fantastic tranquil spot to stay. The food in the restaurant, hotel was excellent, the hotel room bed very comfortable with extra heater supplied as well as a kettle and tea in the room. Service was top notch

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    295
    35
    5
    0
See reviews for
263
604
57
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was really nice, clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again. The staff provided exceptional service. The hotel is back off a busy street and when you walk in to the grounds you feel the quiet. It is like an oasis in the busy city.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Delisabeth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed with my husband in 2007 and was pleased to return to what I remembered as a simple but characterful hotel based around a gracious period home, managed by a husband and wife team with a small staff.
But since I was there the "standard" rooms have been renovated and are now less "vernacular" but certainly more comfortable - spacious, nicely decorated and well equipped, with good clean bathrooms, good towels and bed linen and good storage even in the standard rooms. The staff is larger, but it was great to see the family is still very much in evidence directing things around this terrific place.
My friend who accompanied me on this trip said that the owners of this hotel are either getting good advice or themselves genuinely listen and understand what travellers expect and want. Feedback about breakfast noise from the courtyard (around which are guest rooms) has been addressed by moving breakfast to a tent on the front lawn - a characterful and excellent alternative. The breakfast jam is the chunky homemade variety, again in response to feedback about the sachets of coloured sugary paste that many hotels serve with toast. For dinner there is a reasonably priced buffet as well as a la carte offerings.
The sweeping drive that used to skirt the edge of the house had gone, to make way for more garden area and parking space. The gardens and lounging areas are a key attraction of this hotel, and a refuge from the frenzy of the traffic and bazaar in this desert city. There is also now a lovely swimming pool (adjacent to the shell of a new luxury wing under construction, currently covered tastefully by green screening).
The service was very good and the whole atmosphere of the place was relaxing.
While I was a bit sad to see the simpler vernacular character RV-2007 has gone, I was nevertheless very pleased to stay in RV-2014. If you want to make this a stopover, or a base for trips around the area for a few days, it would be hard to find a better value option around Jodphur.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have just spent a week here on our honeymoon trip through India and are overjoyed with our stay.

Our room was lovely; a good size and well furnished, as is the entire hotel. There are lovely gardens for sitting and reading in the sun, and the pool area is regularly cleaned.

Service is attentive and the food is not the best in Jodhpur but is very good, certainly better than the offerings you generally find in hotels.

Location is away from the centre of Jodhpur, a bonus in my book as the city is pure mayhem, but a tuc-tuc into town is only 60Rs.

There is Wi-Fi but it's flaky and only works near to reception. IMO this is a negative because the days of using guide books are gone and travellers like to communicate online to find out things to see and do in their locale, or find out details of good guides and also people and places to avoid. Also we like to book our own travel online these days, so I personally find good wifi coverage important, but my wife says I am quibbling!

Overall however, one of my favourite hotels in India.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squicker531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I have never bothered to write a review on Tripadvisor (or anywhere) before but this lovely hotel and staff deserve recommendation. Lovely ambiance, great food, fantastic service a calm oasis and sanctuary in the hubbub of Jodhpur.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praia, Cape Verde
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Huge room, decent food (though toned down too much, spice-wise, for the western palate), awesome service all for a very modest price. One of the nicest hotels we've stayed at since moving to India nearly two years ago. Very quiet setting. Exceedingly clean. Antiques throughout. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgeridaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We really can't fault this hotel. From the free transfer from the airport to the warm welcome to the beautiful gardens and the relaxing pool area to the lovely rooms and the delicious food in the restaurant. And did I mention free WiFi? All at an unbelievably reasonable cost. We would definitely stay here again on our return to Jodhpur.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CardiffCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.7 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
981 reviews
1.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
4.2 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#5 of 95 in Jodhpur
979 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
922 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratan Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratan Vilas

Property: Ratan Vilas
Address: Loco Shed Road | Near Bhaskar Circle, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#2 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ratan Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ratan Vilas was built in 1920 as a private residence by Maharaj Ratan Singhji of Raoti, Jodhpur. The villa is being managed as a hotel since 2000 by Ratan Singhji’s great grandson, Brijraj Singh. The guest rooms and the common areas are well appointed and arranged with care. Ratan Vilas as a place to stay offers its guests an eternal old world charm seamlessly blending with the modern comforts and an authentic experience of the legendary Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ratan Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratan Vilas Jodhpur
Ratan Vilas Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing