We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service charming place”
Review of Ratan Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ratan Vilas
Ranked #2 of 102 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Staff is fantastic. Hotel is charming in a park quiet, out of noisy streets. You need a rickshaw to go downtown but given how noisy and dirty the city is you are better off staying in the hotel at night.
During the day, dont take a driver for 4 hours. Just use the drop off to jasant tada, walk from there to the fort and go down to clock tower (walk is 20 or 25 min).

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank willsolgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed at the start of our trip, and what a great way to start. The hotel is beautiful and has a great pool. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The food is excellent, The papa dams and breads are all made fresh. We had a buffet dinner on the first night which was excellent. The staff we are all extremely helpful and friendly. Really can't fault Our stay at Ratan Vilas.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterms294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel located in the city but the ambiance inside the hotel is great. This is constructed like a small heritage home with a touch of royal feel. The rooms and bed are really big. The veranda, walkway, entrance to hotel gives you a class feel. Overall great experience with every one in the hotel takes care of you like home.
Highly value for money. This is one of the hotel, I had great experience while booking as well.
Regards
Balaji

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RB1364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Being a residence associated with royalty, there's plenty of charm associated with this property. The room was spacious and beautifully presented depicting history and tradition. It's a nice part of town and it's easy to reach other parts of Jodhpur that's a good network of roads. The service provided here was exceptional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morningsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is an awesome place.I stayed here with my wife for one night.Within this small time, they provided excellent hospitality..The food was marvelous..Room was very elegant with spacious washroom. The building is a lovely heritage property with well maintained garden and a crystal clear pool. We enjoyed a nice lunch in the warmth of the sun in the hotel garden.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. Even budget rooms are very good and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank userindrajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Ratan Vilas is 100% deserving of the high rating it has!

All the good things have already been pointed out by previous reviewers, and I have to agree with them. The building is full of charm and character, the pool area is lovely. The lawns and gardens are beautifully maintained, we enjoyed a nice lunch in the warm sunshine. The food is tasty, and in the evenings they offer dinner in the inner courtyard, with two log fires which creates a lovely atmosphere.

The rooms are comfortable, well furnished and spacious, and include a built-in safe and mini-bar. We had a superior room which was really large, and the bath was very spacious.

All the staff were extremely helpful and polite, and helped arrange local transport or sightseeing, as well as providing tips and suggestions. The owners are gracious hosts who truly care about their guests.

Ratan Vilas is highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVSAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a very special place, I stayed with my family with 3 children. Is an ancient house at 3 km from Jodhpur center, away from city noisy. The house is beautiful, colonial style, very elegant. Also the rooms are very nice, with elegant furniture and a large bathroom. There is also a swimming pool and the common areas are very fine.The personnel is very kind and make everything to make your stay perfect. I suggest sure this place also to the family with children as us.

Room Tip: we had a first floor room that has more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
1.7 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 102 in Jodhpur
1,086 reviews
0.7 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#5 of 102 in Jodhpur
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 102 in Jodhpur
1,025 reviews
4.2 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratan Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratan Vilas

Address: Loco Shed Road | Near Bhaskar Circle, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#2 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range: $70 - $1,060 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ratan Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ratan Vilas was built in 1920 as a private residence by Maharaj Ratan Singhji of Raoti, Jodhpur. The villa is being managed as a hotel since 2000 by Ratan Singhji’s great grandson, Brijraj Singh. The guest rooms and the common areas are well appointed and arranged with care. Ratan Vilas as a place to stay offers its guests an eternal old world charm seamlessly blending with the modern comforts and an authentic experience of the legendary Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ratan Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratan Vilas Jodhpur
Ratan Vilas Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing