We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly & memorable experience”
Review of Ratan Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ratan Vilas
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A friendly & memorable experience”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The friendliness & cooperation begins even on phone when you call for booking the room. The reservation desk was very friendly giving all genuine responses with utmost patience & respect. The complimentary airport pick-up was also highlighted & the arrangement was very prompt. The check-in was quick and they treat you like King of Jodhpur. The hotel is very peaceful away from the city hustle bustle yet close to the airport (10 min drive). The rooms are comfortable, clean and well maintained.
Complimentary breakfast is a mix of western & Indian preparation, catering to both Indian & Foreign tourists. Preparation of food during lunch & dinner too is prepared in a very healthy manner and tasty too. There is free wi-fi facility & also a terminal with internet & print facility. Everything said & done, the highlight of this hotel is the staff who are polite, cooperative, caring and quick.
The check-out too was quick & without any hassles. All an all an experience which is memorable & would want to stay at the same place if you happen to visit the same place again.
Distances : 4 Kms from Airport, 3.5 Kms from Clock Tower (Old Market), 8 Kms from Mehrangarh Fort

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjun_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good Wishes!
Thank you so much such a comprehensive and a glowing review - Deeply appreciated.
We will be delighted to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas.
With kindest regards
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    296
    35
    5
    0
See reviews for
268
608
57
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Lovely, restful place without a bus in sight. It's quite a ways from the main attractions but most guests were on private tours and had cars. A short auto-rickshaw drive would get it done too. The rooms were very spacious, clean and well furnished. We ate there most nights and mostly the food was good, just one or two dishes were actually a bit boring!! Staff were friendly and efficient. Wifi is only in the courtyard, which is a bit inconvenient. Not enough to knock it down though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TukoPomojaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good Wishes
Thank you for staying with us and for the compliments.
We are all very happy to know that you had a satisfactory stay at Ratan Vilas.
If at all possible, may I request you to please write to me and let me know the reason you found some of the dishes boring?
I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by non availability of WIFI in the bed room.
I am exploring the possibility of WI FI in all the guest rooms, so hopefully you will have it in your room when you visit us again - We will be delighted to welcome you!
With Kindest regards
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at "Ratan Vilas" (Jodhpur) during our trip to Rajasthan and Gujarat in October 2012. "Ratan Vilas" - is a great family hotel of very high class! The hotel is located in the heart of Jodhpur, but there is absolutely no noise of the city, as The building is located in a large garden. Hotel - an old Rajasthani mansion belonging to the family Singh. The hotel is small, but very cozy. Interior and exterior of the hotel is designed in an old Rajasthani style. All very nice. Lots of photos and artifacts create a unique atmosphere of antiquity. There are little quiet courtyards, great pool, beautiful lawns and gardens. The hotel has a restaurant with fine cuisine and excellent service.
Our room was very large, clean and comfortable. Beautiful interior rooms, great furniture, air conditioning, television. Very large and clean bathroom.
The hotel staff is well trained and very helpful.
I especially want to thank the owner of the hotel Mr. Brijraj Singh. Mr. Brijraj Singh gave us invaluable help in organizing our trip to Rajasthan and Gujarat. He helped organize the transport across the route of our trip - a good car at an affordable price. And also gave us a lot of useful tips. I sincerely wish Mr. Brijraj Singh and his family good health, happiness and prosperity!
I strongly recommend to my friends and to all travelers choose a hotel "Ratan Vilas" to live and stay in Jodhpur.
"Ratan Vilas" definitely the best hotel of our travels to many cities in India!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serg_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good Wishes!
I don’t have enough words to thank you for your kindness.
All I can say is that we consider ourselves privileged to have guests like you.
It will mean a lot to all of us here at Ratan Vilas to welcome you again.
With warm regards
Brijraj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I just checked out after a three night stay at Ratan Vilas and cannot say enough good things about this hotel. The property was beautiful, the staff very courteous and polite and always helpful, my stay was absolutely relaxing. After staying in budget hotels in India, I decided to splurge on this one as the reviews were positive and the prices were not crazy. I was glad I made the choice that I did. The room was spotless and I could actually relax in my room since it was very cozy, clean and had cute decor.

The only two things I can think of that the hotel could improve is to have faster wi-fi and to have firmer beds.

I highly recommend this hotel and would stay again myself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aa243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings and Good Wishes!
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at Ratan Vilas.
It is nice to know that you had a relaxing stay, found the staff courteous and helpful and the prices reasonable.
I have taken a note of your observations.
The WI FI is usually fast but at times may slow down, not very often though. We take quick action if the fault is within our control, but if the fault is with the service provider’s systems then they may or may not respond urgently. I hope it was not too much of an inconvenience and I have taken necessary steps to ensure constant and fast connectivity.
I wish you would have told us about your preference for firmer mattress as only recently we have changed to softer mattresses. We have firm mattresses in store, which we could have placed in your room easily.
I would like to thank you again for such a positive review and for recommending us to fellow travellers.
We will be delighted to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas.
With Kindest regards
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was another great place to stay, family owned hotel and very friendly. Room were of a high standard and the facilities very good and very comfortable.

Staff were very helpful and the service was and a high standard. We enjoyed the stay and found out a lot about the history of the Villa.

Meals were served outside and the standard of the food was very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriswhiteside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good Wishes!
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at Ratan Vilas.
We are all very happy to know that you had a satisfactory stay and will be delighted to welcome you again.
With Kindest regards
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Relax by the pool after a day sightseeing. The hotel has bucket loads of charm and a relaxing atmosphere, stepped back away from the road it is very quiet. The front desk staff literally jumped to attention whenever you approached and the owner can be seen most days taking breakfast with the guests or a pre dinner drink. My only regret is we only had one night to enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samdixey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good Wishes!
Thank you so much for giving us such a glowing review.
We will be delighted to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas, perhaps for a longer stay this time!
With kindest regards
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel was booked for us as part of a tour. As stated by others, the rooms were lovely and comfortable. The breakfast was good, as was the service. While it was not the favorite place we stayed during our 16 days in India (Sardargarh fort!), it was, all in all, it is a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good Wishes!
Thank you for staying with us and for the compliments.
We are all very happy to know that you had a satisfactory stay and will be delighted to welcome you again.
With Kindest regards
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.7 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
991 reviews
4.2 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
1.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
931 reviews
0.7 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#5 of 95 in Jodhpur
983 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratan Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratan Vilas

Property: Ratan Vilas
Address: Loco Shed Road | Near Bhaskar Circle, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#2 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ratan Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ratan Vilas was built in 1920 as a private residence by Maharaj Ratan Singhji of Raoti, Jodhpur. The villa is being managed as a hotel since 2000 by Ratan Singhji’s great grandson, Brijraj Singh. The guest rooms and the common areas are well appointed and arranged with care. Ratan Vilas as a place to stay offers its guests an eternal old world charm seamlessly blending with the modern comforts and an authentic experience of the legendary Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ratan Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratan Vilas Jodhpur
Ratan Vilas Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing