We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our hectic sojourn to city Royale”
Review of Pal Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pal Haveli
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I had availed my jet privilege miles to fly to Jodhpur with my wife on a short 2 day trip amid my very project life. Folks believe us that the best view of Mehrangarh fort is from hotel rooftop .
The magical moments start at 7 pm and continues till 9 pm.Breakfast and dinner was good so no qualms about food. Beer lovers can down a pint or so. Location is right in the heart of city and the nearness to main markets is a bonus.The staff was caring and stay was pleasant. Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor are convenient as steps are old styled and steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skgoffice2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 595 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here for two nights during the Holi Festival. Definitely an air of Best Exotic Marigold. Well furnished property but rather grubby. Food was OK although the breakfast was very much done on the cheap. Sliced packaged bread, cheap jam/marmalade , long life juice, eggs were adequate. The rooftop restaurant however provides a wonderful setting for a drink during the day and dinner in the evening. As others have said the staff are not over friendly. We did manage to get some smiles by the end but they clearly resented tourists and especially having to work during the festival. Wifi was intermittent, worked sometimes in the area near reception.

Room Tip: Be aware that the bathroom windows are quite easily observed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redcrestedduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I'd wanted to stay here the last few times I have been to Jodhpur so this time we thought we would treat ourselves and stay at the Pal Haveli. On the face it look all very nice. For 4000 rupees ($80 Australian) a night you would be expecting a lot. Well you don't get let down. They include a wonderful wake up service by dragging the furniture across the dining room above your bedroom. A lovely subtle way to wake. Then at night they make sure you get as many hours out of your day by helping you stay awake by banging pots and being generally rowdy in the kitchen next to your room. The rooms are not bad but you certainly aren't staying in a room worth 4000 rupees. Maybe 2000 to 2500. The room are clean but the beds are awesome if you like rock hard. You had to work hard to get wet in the shower as it only had a few jets of water coming from it. When dining at breakfast you get about 5 staff standing and staring at you while you eat your toast. A great comfort knowing they are there.
And to boot they lost some of our laundry. All in all I won't be staying here again and I can't say I would ever recommend this hotel. Oh also it has about the worst wifi. You have to sit in the court yard to get a dribble of internet. Fantastic... not

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petewallisphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Located inside the walled city in jodhpur is this beautiful heritage hotel.we dint stay here but frequented it for the good food and more importantly for the lovely ambience. the restaurant is located on the rooftop with the majestic fort in the background. it's nice and breezy on the top and it feels nice to eat in the candle light while the city lights surround you from all sides. although the menu is limited, the food is decent and not highly priced either. do have their mushroom preparations if you are a vegetarian. the only drawback are the steep stairs which are difficult to climb, especially for old people.overall a lovely place for dinner.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank khyati0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

If you want to soak up all the atmosphere, sounds and smells, some pleasant – others less so – in the heart of the city then Pal Haveli is the place to stay. Close to the clocktower, in the chaos of the bazaar is this very traditional Haveli set around a large courtyard.

We spent a total of four nights here, three before and one after a couple of days in Jaisalmer. Our first room was perfectly alright except that is was on the side of the hotel backing onto the road. Added to that there was a fan opening in the en-suite bathroom which allowed the constant traffic noise, hooting and barking of dogs to be rather intrusive. On our return visit we were given a complimentary upgraded room set by a tranquil internal courtyard. We loved this huge room which was decorated with traditional style and furniture and appreciated the peace and quiet.

Indique, the hotel’s open air rooftop restaurant is up a couple of flights of quite steep stone steps; anyone with limited mobility take note! It’s well worth the climb though for at night the city of Jodhpur, -the Umaid Bhawan palace and the illuminated Mehrangarh Fort provide a spectacular backdrop. On the first night we ate there the service was rather indifferent but a subsequent lunch and three further dinners were much better. The food was wholesome and tasty and of adequate quantity. Wine is expensive but we found that Indian wineries are producing some quite drinkable bottles.

A covered part of the same restaurant is used for breakfast, which offered choice and quality.

Free wifi is available but you need to sit close to the reception area to get a signal.

Much of the central part of city is within easy walking distance of the hotel, or there are usually tuk tuks plying for hire just at the bottom of the slope leading to the Haveli.

Room Tip: Rooms by the inside courtyard are much the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank le-pecheur-Villepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We couldn't get a room here but had dinner hear with sundowners on our first night in India and what a great welcome.

Amazing food, though on the pricey side. Staff were great, chatty and friendly but not in your face. I always judge a restaurant by the quality of their tarka dahl and on that count it was top.

Don't bother with the mojito's though. stick to beers and soft drinks.

can't beat the views of the fort. A little chilly at night and would suggest taking an extra layer.

Room Tip: I would definitely stay here if I could get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geetavara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed at Pal Haveli for a couple of nights, the second stop on a month-long trip to India. On the whole, the experience was really great. We were upgraded to the suites overlooking the inner courtyard - two very large and gloriously decorated rooms that were mercifully quiet despite the proximity of the haveli to the market. So good were our rooms that a number of less fortunate guests (I believe some of the rooms are quite small and dark) peeked in. One couple even asked (very nicely) if they could take photographs!

As others have mentioned, the rooftop restaurant has glorious views (well worth the steep climb). The breakfast was generous (though as noted in an earlier review the pancakes were thick and hard). The menu was quite limited for other meals, but the food was fine. The maitre d' was a charming older man, who made us feel very welcome. Some of the wait staff could have tried a bit harder.

In terms of service more generally, check-in and check-out was smooth and easy, and the porters very helpful. Our tour company had actually made the voucher out to the wrong hotel (our booking was indeed with Pal Haveli), and the manager took it in his stride.

Room Tip: Splash out on the suites. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Global_academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.1 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,024 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 96 in Jodhpur
956 reviews
2.1 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#4 of 96 in Jodhpur
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,248 reviews
2.6 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
6.1 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#17 of 96 in Jodhpur
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pal Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pal Haveli

Address: Near Clock Tower, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range: $70 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pal Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pal Haveli Jodhpur
Pal Haveli Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing