We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“India trip”
Review of Pal Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pal Haveli
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“India trip”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our room in Pal Haveli off an inner courtyard on the ground floor was fantastic.
The room was enormous with many original features.
The bed was a little hard and could have done with a `topper`, but everything else was excellent.
The restaurant on the roof was great with wonderful views of the fort. The stairs up there are very steep so hang on to the bannister on the way down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    246
    80
    22
    24
See reviews for
101
291
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
213 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Unfortunately, we didn't have an opportunity to stay at the Pal Haveli on this visit to Jodhpur. A friend did, however, reserve a table for us to take dinner here one evening - and what a memorable evening it was!

The rooftop restaurant provided one of the most special nightime views imaginable - with the city's four most important sights, Mehrangarh Fort, Jaswant Thada, Umaid Bhawan Palace and the Clock Tower, all illuminated. The food and service could not be faulted, yet the bill for three people - all of whom ate and drank their fill - was a modest 2500 Rupees (GBP 31/USD 46). including the tip.

Here's to the next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeepSmilingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is very close to the clock tower market, and provides an escape from the really enjoyable, but exhausting, hustle and bustle of the market. The entrance courtyard is quiet, calm and airy and the whole hotel has a serene atmosphere. It is a fantastic building, and has small museum rooms which are very interesting. Our twin-bedded room was clean, very spacious, and quiet, as it overlooked the courtyard. The rooftop restaurant has the most marvellous views of Jodphur and the City Palace - quite pricey for India, but food was good.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in a Heritage room - it used to be where the current owner's grandfather lived - on it's own above the reception area. The room was wonderful - large and nicely furnished in a traditional way. But it was noisy, being right on the corner of the building, and what with the dogs, horns and hoots from the trains in the night we needed earplugs, which we had brought with us. And though the room had windows facing 2 directions they were all 'frosted' so we had to open them to see what was going on outside, which was a little odd. The old bar was shut. We made a restaurant reservation at reception when we arrived but this didn't get through to the restaurant - but they fitted us in anyway despite the tour groups. Food was good - made non-spicy if that's what you want. Views from the roof-top are great. Breakfast was OK: good choice, but juice from a carton and the pancakes were thick and stodgy (which some people might have welcomed). Location is close to the market area and to other hotels for eating options. Use of the PC in the lobby area was a great help, but the post service (mentioned in the room as offered by the hotel) didn't exist - but it's only a 5 minute walk to the sub-post office. Staff were fine. The courtyard area is wonderfully peaceful, and the lounge area (on the first floor of the inner courtyard) looked more like a family room than a guests' sitting area. Would stay there again if we were back in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoringOldGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

When you have interesting and characterful buildings like this, it's a shame when the experience is a letdown. First impressions were good. You enter an open courtyard and Reception is in one corner. Check-in wasn't exactly service with a smile but not enough to make us feel uncomfortable.

At our room we found we'd been allocated a double rather than a twin. We returned to Reception to sort it out and were taken aback by the response, it couldn't have been more unhelpful. They insisted our Delhi travel agent had booked a double and if we wanted a twin we would have to pay as the only ones available were more expensive. This was no major upgrade to some presidential suite, they were talking about £20. It was early evening and we were staying for one night only so they would not have been out of pocket, nonetheless they were not interested in an easy fix. Fortunately, another new arrival overheard and offered to swap rooms as he'd just been mis-allocated a twin over his preferred double. Problem solved but no thanks to the hotel.

The room itself overlooked an inner courtyard and was pleasant enough but the bathroom was primitive. The hot water came from a small cylinder in the room so after the first shower we had to wait 30 minutes for it to heat up again.

By this time it was getting late so we reluctantly decided to eat at the hotel restaurant on the roof. It was busy and we said we were willing to wait at the bar. it was clearly chaotic and after a while we began to wonder whether we'd been overlooked. When we reminded them we were still waiting, they quickly assembled and laid a table crammed in between two other parties! Thankfully the rest of the evening went smoothly, the restaurant staff were friendly and we enjoyed our meal.

We did not encounter any other double/twin issues on the entire trip. Gven it is trying to convey itself as an upmarket hotel, the way the staff dealt with the problem suggests it has a long way to go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed two nights here and unfortunately were put in a street facing room which was really a bit basic. It was horrendously noisy and we got no sleep. Luckily the hotel changed us to a lower room with no windows, which although a bit noisy was nowhere near as bad. The rooftop restaurant is lovely with fabulous views of the Fort. Thought the breakfasts were fine, and the location was very good by the clock Tower. There was no complimentary water ( how much does that cost to do for a tick in the box??). The reception staff were very helpful and even despite the dreadful nights sleep on the first night, we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: no street rooms! try to get the inner courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scot-smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in the grandmother's bedroom which was spacious, charming and clean. An area to the entrance of rooms from this level, is from a most engaging, authentically furnished open sitting area. Peaceful and most atmospheric, which is the heritage tone of Pal Haveli. It was a shame the wonderful 18th Century bar was not open during our two night stay, as the hotel appeared busy enough to warrant such. A reason could not be given. For a family run business, at no stage was an introduction offered to meet any members, or as to how one could engage or witness the day-day-activity of the household, as highlighted in their profile. All staff in the breakfast and rooftop restaurant try, and both breakfast and dinner was delicious, but there lacks a happy cohesion from reception/management.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.1 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 100 in Jodhpur
973 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 100 in Jodhpur
1,218 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 100 in Jodhpur
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ranbanka Palace
Ranbanka Palace
#13 of 100 in Jodhpur
815 reviews
2.1 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#6 of 100 in Jodhpur
975 reviews
2.6 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pal Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pal Haveli

Property: Pal Haveli
Address: Near Clock Tower, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pal Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pal Haveli Jodhpur
Pal Haveli Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing