We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and refreshing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Lovely and refreshing stay”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My second stay at this lovely hotel. It is located pretty close to the airport and that is a plus point. It is a well maintained property and one gets a nice reception. Our check in experience was really nice and we were allotted our rooms quickly. The hotel has nice lobbies and the rooms were very well furnished and comfortable. Adequate lighting and all modern amenities like LED TV with sufficient channels, Tea maker, Newspaper, magazines, fruits and cookies were available. The bathroom too had all that was required

I was rather happy with the housekeeping as they responded to all my requests promptly. I did not have the opportunity to order room service except a cup of tea. We had lunch at the Latitude restaurant. Good service and good food. In the evening we had dinner by the pool side and had a good time with a puppet show, magic show and a local dance performance. Chinese cuisine was real good and tasty. We felt that the quantity was definitely less. Buffet at breakfast was good with a wide variety.

The hotel has a swimming pool and a gymnasium and spa. Both are well maintained and well equipped. I did enjoy two sessions at the gymnasium and the spa. Overall an excellent stay except that my room did not cool sufficiently. As I always say that a good hotel is recognised by the quality of service and sincerity of the staff and on this count the hotel scores extremely well. I would recommend a stay here to one and all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravimark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal, and also for the wonderful feedback. It was great to have you visit again.

We are delighted to have your approvals with our hotel’s facilities, services and proximity to the airport as well as the city, and it is our earnest endeavour to provide personalized and warm services to our discerning guests, which I was glad to learn has been your experience over your stays.

Food is an important and intrinsic part of any hotel experience, and we were delighted that you liked the food served in our restaurants. We will definitely consider the invaluable inputs provided with regard to food portion, and also regret that we did not realize and attend to the discomfort you felt with the air conditioning in you room during your stay.

We look forward to future opportunities to be of service, and to delivering our best hospitality and service always.


With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    349
    104
    20
    10
See reviews for
379
333
39
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel made to look like a Palace: very good common areas and top decor, extremely wide corridors everywhere (a huge waste of space...). Standard garden rooms are large, but the furniture is a bit shabby and rundown. Dirty windows! I had a room on the street side, quite noisy.
The main restaurant was nice, with impeccable service: food was as in all Vivanta by Taj, good but not extraordinary. Evening entertainment by the pool was a pleasant affair.
The 2 hotel shops had very nice objects (especially the jewellery) but were on the over-expensive side.

Room Tip: There are garden rooms on the street side (very noisy) or on the opposite side. Best are the pool lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal.

We are privileged to enjoy the goodwill of our guests, and have always benefited from their advice and suggestions. We will definitely consider all the invaluable inputs provided, particularly regarding room furniture and cleanliness, and it is a constant effort on our part to improve our services and facilities, and to anticipate and exceed the expectations of our discerning guests.

We are delighted to learn that you liked the food that we served in our restaurants and the evening entertainments, and our chefs and the F&B team are greatly encouraged to further improve upon our offerings to provide memorable culinary experiences for our guests.

We look forward to be of service again, and please do let me know of any assistance that I may be of.


With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Leave your worries behind once once you enter the gates. Excellent property although its not a old palace converted into a hotel since the name is a misnomer (Hari Mahal). The staff are attentive and makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, November 29, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us at Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal, during your visit to Jodhpur.

Our property has been built upon a palatial theme, it’s not an actual palace, and the name Hari Mahal is given upon property’s owner late Maharaja Hari Singh ji. We are glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and it is our sincere effort to provide our guest with feeling of ‘being at home’. Thank you also for your kind appreciation of our colleagues.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back.

With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a old yet well maintained property in the heart of the city. The property has a large pool and multiple food options. Its close to the airport and shopping areas as well. The staff was very helpful as you would expect in any good Taj property. Buffet spread for both dinner and breakfast was good.

We stayed during the Holi weekend and it was pleasing to note that hotel had arranged for traditional events on both the days. Check out the hotel shop for some very good souvenirs.

Room Tip: View is fine from most locations so no need to pay premium for pool/ garden facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivekdahiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, November 29, 2014
Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us during your visit to Jodhpur.

We are delighted to learn that you were pleased with the hotel’s facilities and services and had an enjoyable stay. We are also glad to receive your appreciation for our effort to make Holi festival colorful, for our guests also. It is our sincerest endeavor to extend the best of services and facilities to our guests, to make their stay memorable with us.

Thank you for your visit and feedback, and we look forward to the future opportunities to welcome you back along with you family.

With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This was my worst experience in a hotel . Very poor management . I had to leave the restaurant without ordering food . Chinese restaurant was vancant with just one table occupied out of 15-20 tables and two or three tables were reserved .. I asked them I wanted to a table with occupancy 4-5 ..they said please take a table of occupancy 2 or 3 !! There are chances that more guests can come !! I think a better service is given at a dhaba

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Arisht S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Mr Arisht,

I was sorry to learn of your disappointing experience at our Chinese restaurant on your recent visit to Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal, Jodhpur.

We are extremely regretful that you left the Hotel without having your meal and I apologize for the misunderstanding on account of which this occurred. It is unfortunate that we did not realize your disappointment at that point in time to suitably address the matter to your satisfaction.

We do hope you will provide us with another opportunity to be of service and I would like to reassure you of our commitment to our guests. Please do let me know of any assistance that I may be of personally in this matter and we look forward to hearing from you.


With best wishes and regards,

Vijay
Vijay Shrikent
General Manager
T 91 291 243 9700 F 91 291 261 4452
D 91 291 510 2002 M 91 99833 37300
vijay.shrikent@tajhotels.com

Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal,
5 Residency Road, Jodhpur 342001. Rajasthan. India
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

The Taj is a lovely property from every angle. The lobby, the public spaces, the grounds, the room are all reeking of old world charm. The facility has modern amenities which add to the comfort of the stay. The service is considerate and courtiers, and the check in/out is effortless.
The food is very good, and breakfast is rich and tasty.
But alas the swimming pool is not heated and in January it's freezing cold.
You wonder how a beautiful and rich facility as the Taj, have overlooked a simple detail like that.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, November 29, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal during your visit to Jodhpur.

We are glad to learn that you liked our hotel, its facilities and services, and the food we served in our restaurants. I regret if any inconvience caused to you on account of swimming pool water temperature. We are privileged to enjoy the goodwill of our guests, and have always benefited from their advice and suggestions, and we will certainly consider the invaluable inputs provided, for comfort and convenience of our guests.

Please do let us know of any assistance that we may be of in future.

With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

stay was very comfortable rooms are very spacious well done furniture very nicely match the royal touch bed are very comfortable very clean a Royal feeling during stay its
in the heart of Jodhpur city well located

Room Tip: take rooms overlooking poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfsundesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your visit and feedback.

It was a pleasure to have you with us at the Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal, Jodhpur. Our property has been built upon a palatial theme and we are glad that our intentions resonated so well with you.

As a team, it is our earnest endeavour to provide a comfortable and enjoyable stay experience to all our guests and we are happy to learn of your approvals with it.

We look forward to have you back with us, please do let us know of any assistance that we may be of.


With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
2.0 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
2.1 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
991 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#16 of 95 in Jodhpur
571 reviews
4.6 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
0.8 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
Address: 5 Taj Hari Mahal Residency Road, Jodhpur 342001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#3 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#3 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jodhpur is a popular tourist destination with palaces, forts and temples, set against the landscape of the Thar Desert. Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, offers Rajasthan's legendary hospitality along with comfortable opulence. Located just 5 kilometres from the Jodhpur airport, the resort is also close to the city's vibrant bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Taj Hari Mahal Jodhpur
Taj Hari Mahal Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing