We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a group tour. The rooms are set in lovely extensive grounds with gardens, a lake and the opportunity of horse riding – not that we did that. Lots of wild life , monkeys, bats and plenty of birds. The room was a good size and clean. The food was good and during our stay we were able to attend a New Years Eve party set outside with a very wide range of food. Chinese, European and Punjab and Rajasthan cuisine – and excellent evening. Staff were attentive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crassus25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    138
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
161
162
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

A sprawling property, located on a man made lake, it used to be a summer palace of the jodhpur maharajas, the hotel is located on a 300 acre property out of which 60 acres are landscaped, and is abundant in its variety of fauna and flora. One can spend hours just idling and taking in the serenity and calm of the place.

The hotel is divided into 2 properties, the palace and the reconverted stables called the garden retreat. The hotel also sports a private golf course.

It has 2 restaurants one of which is located in the palace and the other in the garden wing, which is locally famous for its kebabs and dal Bukhara. we had stayed in the palace property and the hospitality extended was just fantastic. A special mention has to be made of chef Anil Agrawal who spruced up a fantastic local rajasthani dinner upon our request. Some of the dishes he prepared were just magical.

The staff are extremly friendly and very accomodative.

The rooms live up to its category as a palace hotel, with just the right ambiance, the decor is done up very tastefully, The toilets sport a large bathtub. Opt for room no 6 which is the only lake view room.

the 2 nights we spent there transported us back in time and gave us a glimpse of the grandeur of the royals.

the only downside is the mining activity that is being done near the property, and one can sometimes hear the trucks blaring their horns upto late evening. I only hope the blasting being done in the mines does not damage this heritage property.

Room Tip: opt for room no 6 in the palace wing, it is the only room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmal1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

As we entered the property, it was amazing to see the huge trees and the wonderful garden in the middle of Rajasthan. The Palace also blends in beautifully with the surroundings. The sunset over the lake was fantastic, a troop of monkeys joined us to view it.
There were a lot of birds and time can be spent just bird watching. It takes half a day to explore the grounds of the hotel, more if you take your time.
The service was a bit slow but very courteous. All the staff went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful stay.

If you like a serene place to stay then this is the place for you. Places like Mehrangarh fort are not very far away and it is wonderful to go visit these sites and come back to the peace of the Bal Samand.

The food was pretty good. Chef A. Agarwal planned a fantastic menu for us the second evening of our stay and also packed us some exquisite churma for our trip back home the next day.

The only negative I found disturbing was the sound of some detonators going off in quarries nearby.

My experience staying here was fabulous.

Room Tip: The palace suites, especially the one overlooking the lake is the room to opt for, the other options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NirupamaShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stepping back into a bygone era, this is an outstanding heritage hotel. We stayed in the main palace in huge rooms, stunning furnishings and art. The views across the lake and gardens are absolutely beautiful, combined with the peace and tranquility were lovely. Yje gardens were the best we saw in Rajasthan, amazing variety of plants, birds and animlas. The pool a little chilly in December but it was so enticing we couldn't resist. We ate dinner 2 nights in the restaurant and the chef was really helpful cooking dishes to suit 4 different tastes and dietary needs, all of which were delicious. Staff friendly and eager to assist. Really close to all of the main tourist attractions but keep time to explore the hotel and grounds too..

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 1 & 2 in the main palace - outstanding, but would also consider the Glamping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tippyleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

as the name suggests,this property belongs to the royals of jodhpur and now it has been renovated to suite the modern requirements.it is huge in literal sense including 18-20 garden rooms and 10 beautiful,palatial suites up in the lake palace.we saw around 10 tents also put up for the enthusiasts.the plush green gardens are spread over large area and they are the natural habitat of many peacocks n birds which gives u a calming effect.staying here wud take u away from the hustle-bustle of city life and u can enjoy ur privacy.the management provides a open vehicle also to see n take the full round of the property,if u want or u can have a stroll.we stayed in the garden rooms as the other bookings were full but it is my advice to book the suites well in advance so that u can enjoy even more n feel like royals yourselves.the staff is v.good and helping.the restaurant is bright n beautiful and has variety of tasty food to offer.in the chilling,winter evening we enjoyed our dinner besides the bonfire,in their front lawns.they have a live barbecue there.pl. don't miss it.i wud definitely go there again if given a chance n feel the romance in the air.

Room Tip: all garden rooms same and built in the same row,side by side.all nice,cozy n comfy.but to get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dprakash533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

like the title suggests, this property inspite of being a Welcom Heritage propert is great value for money. We stayed here for two night and will definitely visit again.
extremely friendly and helpful staff , great ambience and amazing food at the famous kebab corner

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashulodhaChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Bal Samand Lake Palace is a beautiful heritage property, and used to be the summer residence of the royal family of Jodhpur. The property is characterized by vast expansive lawns, gardens and orchards, which would bring delight to nature enthusiasts. The flora and fauna is extensive - one can spot a number of birds including plenty of peacocks which roam around the gardens nonchalantly.

The lake is situated at the centre of the property and the sunset overlooking the lake is supposed to be beautiful. There are stables, where horses are groomed, and one can take short horse-riding lessons as well. In fact, it can take upto half a day to just explore the property itself.

There are 2 options as far as rooms are concerned. The old stables have been converted into deluxe rooms, which are very nice, spacious and different. There is a seating area outside each stable-room which overlooks the lawns. The better and slightly more expensive option is the suites, which are located in the mini-palace overlooking the lake. While we stayed at the stable-rooms, the suites would have been a regal experience in itself.

The food and service was impeccable, and the staff was always at hand to cater to all your needs, including giving you a tour of the property. The only small blot in our otherwise great experience was the fact that on one of the nights there was a wedding happening and the music was too loud for our liking.

Room Tip: Go for the suites, even though they are slightly expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nirvaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
2.5 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 96 in Jodhpur
989 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 96 in Jodhpur
926 reviews
4.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,229 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#16 of 96 in Jodhpur
571 reviews
4.0 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace

Property: WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Address: Mandore Road | Near BSF STC, Jodhpur 324026, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace is a fleeting distance of 5 kilometers from the city of Jodhpur. It is located on the Mandore Road, overlooking the astounding still and clear Balsamand Lake. It is indeed a true spectacle of a view. The heritage property is built in red sandstone & employs typical ornate Rajput architecture. It is conceived to be the summer residence of the Jodhpur Maharajas in the glorious past. The Bal Samand Lake was artificially created in the 13th century as a water reservoir that supplied drinking water to the city. It now compliments the lush greens and heritage terraced gardens of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bal Samand Lake Palace Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing