We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nagaur Fort(Nagaur)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Ababeel Hotel(Jodhpur)
View Hotel
Treebo Parkk Boutique(Jodhpur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RAAS(Jodhpur)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pal Haveli(Jodhpur)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveler rating
342
164
31
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
164
31
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden retreathorse stableskebab cornerconverted stablesspread over acresprivate lakefruit batsacre propertygarden roommarwari horseshuge propertypeacocks roaminglush green lawnsold treesswimming poolheritage propertiesgarden restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 550 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Visited the place as my company gifted us vouchers for this place. I probably would not have booked such a pricey place. That aside, what I liked :
* Great gardens, great fauna - peacocks, squirrels, monkeys. We (wife) enjoyed several peaceful walks while the kids had a great time exploring the grounds and chasing peacocks and squirrels.
* Nice not-chlorinated swimming pools ... I saw a few reviews complaining about this but I was personally happy as chlorine is quite damaging to health.
* Service is good.
* The rooms are good. Quirky, but I loved their bathroom ... nearly open air, yet with good privacy.
* I read earlier reviews and stuck to Indian food ... it was good. Though it was expensive.
* I tried the Heritage liquor they had on the menu ... Royal Jagmohan. It was nice.

What can be improved:
* Expensive. As mentioned earlier I probably would not pay to go here again.
* For some reason we did not sleep well despite having tiring days. We struggled to get the air conditioning and fan working together to maintain the right temperature and circulation.
* One funny observation - the waiters don't serve you the food ... they just plonk it on your table. Wonder if this is a Jodhpur thing. In Pune, even a small time eatery knows that it needs to serve.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shreesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel was built from a stable and is quite charming. The grounds are lovely. The rooms are very pleasant and comfortable, and the staff are accomodating. The food is only fair. The showers are in need of repair and some of them spray water everywhere except on the person in the shower.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinosaurdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

.
Stayed here two nights as part of a small group (10 people) tour. It was noted as a “Standard Hotel”, but I thought it was better than some of the “Comfortable Hotel”s in which we stayed. Although the hotel is quite a way from the town centre, it makes up for it with extensive grounds (5 minutes' walk from our room to the swimming pool!) which are well tended and quite lush. Rooms have a small outside sitting area, an enclosed courtyard and tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, and aircon and fan. No wi-fi, but computer available at reception. Restaurant OK – at dinner a good selection of Rajasthani dishes at reasonable prices. Breakfast buffet good – fresh orange juice, and Indian and Western selection including bacon – first time in 4 weeks!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed in the 'lake palace' part of the hotel for a couple of nights recently. The rooms in this part are very nice, haveli type, and convey the grandeur of Rajasthani haveli living, with the comforts of modern day life. The hotel has huge, manicured lawns all around, and one could see peacocks and other birds while taking a stroll in the evening.
The hotel itself is situated away from the city, and therefore is away from the city hustle-bustle.
The restaurant was average, with sub-par levels of service, perhaps due to fewer staff.
There are separate rooms (converted from old time stables) away from the palace, which are more affordable.
For the price that is charged, and for the potential that the property has, they should be doing better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SM_Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The property is located on the outskirts of Jodhpur and has beautiful grounds and lush green lawns. The property itself is a little dated and decaying though some of the rooms and suites still give a flavor of what royal living would have been like.
Dont expect any levels of service that measure up to a star rated or branded hotel. The service is like a guest house and therefore if one comes with the right expectations, one can have a decent stay..but for me, never again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saber13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews