We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, clean hotel - had a great stay”
Review of Ajit Bhawan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ajit Bhawan
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice, clean hotel - had a great stay”
Reviewed January 31, 2010

It's not a 5 star luxury resort but it's a really nice hotel, albeit on the pricey side. Its a big hotel so less of that personal feel that you get in some Indian hotels but very clean, nice pool and a good room. Would definitely recommend it. Actually booked a car & guide for half day for Rs1400 which was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbell167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    288
    95
    21
    13
See reviews for
204
399
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Very nicely appointed hotel with cozy rooms and splendid gardens. Staff is very attentive. Breakfast buffet is so/so. Dinner in the garden with open fire is a very nice experience. The swimming pool is a dare - the water is quite cold. Wifi was a bit slow...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerKronberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Do you wonder why there is no photo gallery? There is not all that much, that's why. The best thing about the hotel is the spacious rooms. The front desk could be a lot friendlier, on the other hand other staff were wonderful. The food should be much better for what they charge. Check out times are out of sync with check in times. We didn't get our rooms till 3pm. But were made to check out by 10 am. The hotel was not bad, but i wouldn't stay here again. Or recommend it, specially as i said, for what they charge

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
143 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

The royal palace of the Jodhpur family is converted into a sprawling and beautiful resort, a short distance from the even more beautiful Umaid Bhavan palace. Steeped in Rajasthani culture, the decor is very ethnic. A row of antique cars greets you as you enter.You are treated like a king right through your stay.
A fine swimming pool and a garden cafe serving delicious multicusine food make it a memorable experience.

  • Liked — Ethnic feel
  • Disliked — Expensive prices
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Docsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed in the luxury tent at Ajit Bhawan and loved it! We're backpackers who LOVE sleeping in our tent, so thought we'd splurge on the 'luxury tent' just to see what it was like. It was worth every penny. There's really nothing rustic about it. The furniture was fantastic, the bed was super comfy, the bad had all the amenities you need. It's a unique way to spend a couple of nights. Dinner in the hotel restaurant is excellent too- much better than typical hotel fare. Order the daal mahkani with naan every chance you get. I think we had it for every single meal while we were there! Overall, the hotel staff isn't exceptional and the grounds aren't spectacular, but it's a very nice, safe hotel and for a couple of nights we loved it. We would stay in the tent again without question. (On another trip we stayed in the executive room, thinking it looked a little fancier, but we should have stayed in the tent again. It's so much more unique.) We booked both rooms through a travel agent at the Metropolitan Hotel in Delhi and got a great deal (6000 rupees per night, including bfast).

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank avidadventurer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed two nights at the hotel, arranged by Delhi Magic our tour company, during our recent trip to India. The hotel is a heritage hotel. The rooms were each uniquely furnished and the hotel had amazing gardens, unique desert village design features and a beautiful pool. The breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
304 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Unlike in other Rajasthan heritage hotels, while there still is a real live working palace, you can't see it. It is concealed by the subsequent development of the resort. This is a great place. There is a labyrinth of beautifully kept gardens, with the rooms and suites nestling amongst trees and bushes and an imaginative use of old bits of statue and other artefacts. The pool is lovely with a waterfall you can swim behind into a little grotto. The bar above the pool is really cool with large antique pieces suspended from the ceiling. The outdoor dining area is magical with fountains and live musicians performing on a lawn at a practical distance (you can hear the music AND your conversation!). Service excellent. Great menu (international). Our only downside was the room. Just not as nice as the others. Beware room 47!!! But we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
1.4 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Indana Palace
Indana Palace
#10 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ranbanka Palace
Ranbanka Palace
#13 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajit Bhawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajit Bhawan

Property: Ajit Bhawan
Address: Circuit House Rd, Jodhpur 342006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#5 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#6 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ajit Bhawan 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ajit Bhawan Palace is the residence, for the family of the younger brother of the Late Maharaja of Jodhpur, Umed Singh Sahib. Built in 1923 for Maharaj Ajit Singh, it exudes the true essence of an oasis with magical powers capable of making the worries of the world simply melt away. The Palace Resort, has the foundation of a legacy that is part of the history behind the city of Jodhpur, it is about achieving a balance between history while enriching your experience through comfort & unique original style. Must have a Joy Ride on Vintage Car when you are in Jodhpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Ajit Bhawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajit Bhawan Hotel Jodhpur
Ajit Bhawan Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing